We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for those who are social” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge to your Saves list
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Riad Zitoune Jdid | Derb Zenka Dika, No. 40, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place for those who are social”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Marrakech Rouge is a sensory overload as soon as you walk in the door. The eclectic mess of Morocco-related items and citizens of the world make it instantly feel like a good choice of hostel. My brother and I are backpacking through Morocco and Western Europe this summer and we immediately fell in love with this place--mainly because of the people.

If you like to meet new people, make new friends, swap Facebooks constantly (this isn't required), then Marrakech Rouge is definitely right for you. I cannot emphasize enough how friendly everyone is here, making the hostel your favorite place to be while in Morocco.

Also be warned that everyone is very liberal with the 'quiet time' after 9:30. We were often up on the terrace into the wee hours of the morning, talking loudly about every thinkable topic and drinking/smoking/having fun with our new friends.

In short, Marrakech Rouge caters to anyone of any age who likes to have fun meeting new crowds of people.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    61
    25
    18
    15
See reviews for
7
63
79
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights waiting for a workshop to start. It was easy to find, people were very helpfull when trying to find it, even though I had seen the video twice I was a bit overwelmed by all the activity around. When arriving I was welcomed and Ali and his wife was so helpfull and welcoming. I never felt alone or lost. We were 4 in a small room on the roof - of cource it is not spacy, but i did not expect it to be. I had a great sleep and it was quiet enough even there was a small party going on.
Ther were a lot of common room for us to use and the breakfast area is huge and comfortable. Breakfast was great and you can get eggs, all the coffe you want nd bread. Right outside in the market you have freshmade juice for ½€. It is said they make it with water, but I drank so much of it and never got sick.
I shifted to my hotel where the workshop was held and I missed Rouge so much. Everything was better here anf the price were 1/3.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends for a long weekend. It's very authentic in it's decor and as soon as you arrive you can't help but feel relaxed in this Riad. There are lockers in the rooms (Bring a lock though!) but other than that there aren't any door keys or locks. It's something you just go with. The terrace upstairs is beautiful and chilled. The breakfast is included and of a good quantity (pancakes, cakes, pastries, toast and eggs and tea and coffee etc). Upon arrival we thought the organisation in the hostel wasn't great but after getting to know them they were great and very helpful. The location is quite hard to find when you arrive but you soon get used to it and it's about a 15 minute walk to the main square. The only issue we had was the bathrooms, there were a very limited number of bathrooms for the amount of people and the showers were very often freezing cold!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you stay in Marrakech, I highly recommand to stay at Marrakech Rouge. The authentic riad is perfectly placed within the medina. The owner of the hostel, Ali, is permanently making sure that all your wishes will be fulfilled (giving directions, recommending restaurants, helping with renting a car for a fair price). The food is great and the chill-out areas are plenty and really cozy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Marrakech rouge is an excellent accommodation if you are looking to stay within the medina. The medina is a busy place but when you walk in the door of MR you instantly feel relaxed. The mint tea in the courtyard is fantastic and the rooftop terrace provides a chance to get fresh air and a bit of sun if you want.

Ali, the manager, made time in his very busy schedule to ensure that we had a great stay in MR. We had to make a bus connection out of Marrakech and Ali made it simple and arranged for our transport.

If you are looking to stay in the medina I highly recommend Marrakech Rouge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ok - it's hard to find! Print a map before you go or use your GPS!! Once there the staff couldn't be more helpful, there are a couple of 'Hostel Rouge' when you book so our group of ten had accidentally split the group up, we got in at midnight but they still had a move around so that we could all stay together :-) The rooms have bunk beds in them and can get a bit warm and they are a little on the small side, but lets be honest - how much time are you going to spend in them? There is a large chill out room with computer on the ground floor, and outdoor terrace at the top - where they are in the process of building a swimming pool.
The breakfast was freshly made every time someone else got up and it was lovely. You can buy beer, wine and sheisha (is that how you spell that?!) or tea and cake is free! Amazing.
It is just a small walk from the main square and the souk and they can arrange many different tours from a single day to 3 days and more I think.
Clean, Friendly, Cheap, Great Location - What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building are noisy as you don't get a key for the front door so kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff at this hostel really stands out, they are all extremely friendly and helpful. Zouhair serves an excellent breakfast and was more than happy to help out with anything. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, along with the bathrooms and common areas, including the excellent terrace. The atmosphere was incredible, everyone was very friendly and it was just a good time all around. Highly recommended! If I come back to Marrakech I would not consider any other place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid | Derb Zenka Dika, No. 40, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARRAKECH ROUGE – LEADING THE CAMPAIGN AGAINST GREY…2 minutes from Place D’Jeema el Fna, Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge would like to assault the senses of those arriving from grey skies with a family run backpackers hostel so colourful it will make your eyes tingle; so kind and friendly it will refresh your spirit in a place where the coffee is so spicy, sweet (and free) that your taste-buds will buzz with excitement (and the caffeine!), and the possibilities will feel endless…Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge welcomes you to come and stay with us; leave your comfort zone and your facebook account at home, be happy and inspired, learn about Morocco from our incredible staff, meet others, and the enjoy the wonderful atmosphere; all the components that make a hostel a HOSTEL and not a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.