We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great European food in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Un Dejeuner a Marrakech

Un Dejeuner a Marrakech
2-4 Angle rue Kennaria et Douar Graoua | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-78387
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 700 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of the Medina, a short walk from the famous Djemaa El Fna Square, Un dejeuner a Marrakech is open everyday, all day for lunch and dinner. Service non stop till 10pm. Modern Moroccan and Continental cuisine, lights snacks, desserts, tea/coffee and fresh juices. Panoramic terrace.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great European food in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After growing tired of similar Moroccan food after a week, we decided to eat at Un Dejeuner. Although this is located in the souks its quite easy to find, and 10 minute walk from the square. The rooftop terrace is well decorated and has plenty of cover from the sun.

They don't serve alcohol here, but was recommended one of the fresh made juices. This paired with some olives and bread to nibble on before starters in on the rooftop is a great way to escape the choas of the square for a few hours.

The beef carpaccio was one if the finer I've ever eaten, and to carry on with the beef theme, seared filet on a rich mushroom and sauce was enough to ensure us not moving for a few hours. My partner had the other chefs special, a thai chicken dish, which was well seasoned and cooked also.

For two for dinner, starters and mains this only came to 330 Moroccan Dirham (£24).

Leave the tourist traps at the square out, eat here instead

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fourcolourblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent value and atmospher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The welcome, the service, the food quality, the roof top atmospher, were so good we went twice this holiday, both at lunch time and the evening, it cannot be faulted. The only problem might be if someone has a problem with stairs, the stair case is steep and narrow.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant when you are tired of Morrocan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recommended by the staff at our riad, this french themed restaurant was a perfect choice for a light meal. Contrary to other reviews, the goat cheese and smoked duck salad was superb. The roof top was very well furnished. Prices are reasonable. We actually ate their twice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blocklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

When on holiday I'm not one to go back to the same restaurant over and over again however this restaurant is an exception. Having read the reviews my partner and I decided to have lunch at Un Dejeuner a Marrakech after visiting the Souks. The meals we ordered were packed with fragrant spices and the lemon meringue tart was amazing. We returned a few times whilst in Marrakech and strongly recommend it for the food (in particular the Thai chicken which didn't taste Thai to me but was lovely) and beautiful views from the terrace.

In terms of service, we didn't receive exceptional service from any restaurant whilst on holiday so would rate this particular eatery a 3 out of 5

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, usa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Total disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just after 4 in the afternoon I felt a bit peckish and turned into Un Dejeuner a Marrakech to have a light meal. The last guests on the ground floor just left and a pleasant lady of a certain age presented the rather tatty looking English menu. I had chosen the goat's cheese salad which was just the right light refreshment I was looking for to quench my appetite.

The ordered orange juice, freshly squeezed arrived promptly, but was rather luke warm; so I asked if some ice cubes could be added. I glanced at the complicated procedure of adding the ice cubes to the full glass and surprise, surprise the kitchen maid plunged them in with her fingers deep into the glass. A male waiter observed it all but had no qualms about offering to me this mishandled orange juice. Upon my protest the orange juice was changed to a fresh one and I explained that I would add the ice cubes myself with a spoon into my glass.

In the meantime the salad arrived, a rather small affair and on first sight not bad looking. But on second sight I discovered on the tired worst quality lettuce leaves which I would not dare to offer to my rabbits 4 moist minuscule profiteroles of choux pastry in which there was a small amount of white creamy -certainly not melted as advertised- tasteless cheese which did not bear any resemblance to goats cheese. Oh yes, hidden under the welting salad leaves there were 4 minute slivers of smoked duck breast.

Complaining about the absence of goat cheese I was given one of these expert justifications by my waiter, that I might have expected the hard melted tasty goat's cheese served on crunchy toast but they prefer to use the creamy version which tastes so mild you could have mistaken it for La vache qui rit processed cheese.

I had counted at least 6 waiting staff and behind the counter staff, however no "responsable"/mamager could be found to speak to.

If they cannot get an orange juice and a goat cheese salad right - what can they?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarrakchiaBritgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Un Dejeuner a Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Un Dejeuner a Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing