We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely setting on the roof terrace but the food is questionable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Un Dejeuner a Marrakech

Un Dejeuner a Marrakech
2,4 Place Douar Graoua-Kennaria | 2,4 Place Douar Graoua-Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-78387
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 616 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Dessert, Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of the Medina, a short walk from the famous Djemaa El Fna Square, Un dejeuner a Marrakech is open everyday, all day for lunch and dinner. Service non stop till 10pm. Modern Moroccan and Continental cuisine, lights snacks, desserts, tea/coffee and fresh juices. Panoramic terrace.
surrey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A lovely setting on the roof terrace but the food is questionable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Go here for a (non alcoholic) cocktail or drink, but would advise against eating here unless you like deep-fried food. I would question the chef's capabilities from our experience. (Tummy problems). But the salads were good. Not inexpensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    427
    99
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Boring cafe-like food and service to match”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Decided to visit after reading the nice reviews on TA. How anyone can vote this place in top ten in Marrakesh is beyond me.
What you pay for here is a semi chick euroversion of marocco. Could really be a cafe anywhere, if not for the ok rooftop.
Our waiter was slow, yes it was ramadan, but also very disinterested. We did not get any knife, forks and napkins. After waiting i ended up getting it myself. The food was uninspiring and didnt really do it for us. Will not go again and can not recommend other to go here. There are so many other, better choices in Marrakesh, I suggest trying those

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It has a pretty roof terrace, sure. But the food is no great shakes - especially if you're a vegetarian. I went for lunch and for dinner. For lunch I had a 'provencale roasted vegetable and goats cheese sandwich' which was actually made from toasted white sliced bread - so dry and brittle that the veg and goats cheese didn't compensate. For dinner, there were two choices: a salad or 'Moroccan samosas and salad'. I chose the latter, and this turned out to be four spindly, over-fried spring rolls and four pieces of lettuce with some brown dressing squirted on. The fresh juice cocktail was nice enough, but all in all I can't see what everyone else is raving about. Admittedly, meat eaters have a wider range of tagines and other things, but it's pretty poor not to offer a vegetable tagine - and I did ask.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food for a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Food was beautiful, service was a little slow but there was a big party of adults and children so could understand why. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Traditional morrocan tagine it wasn't, but we sampled the two Morrocan mains the beef and the chicken both were amazing flavour wise. Portion size suited us perfectly and wasn't surprised by the bill either. Very good would recommend for something a little different.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rooftop gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We came across this when searching restaurants on Tripadvisor and popped in for a quick break from the hustle and bustle of the souks. The rooftop setting was absolutely stunning and the atmosphere perfect for relaxing in between shopping. We only had drinks there and probably would not eat there as the menu was quite western and didn't have the authentic Moroccan dishes we were exploring while in Marrakech. However, as food was not our purpose we absolutely loved this little gem and would definitely recommend dropping in for a bit of a break and a drink!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Un Dejeuner a Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Un Dejeuner a Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Un Dejeuner a Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.