We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meals in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Un Dejeuner a Marrakech

Un Dejeuner a Marrakech
2,4 Place Douar Graoua | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 37 83 87
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Diner, Delicatessen, Dessert, French, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located in the heart of the Medina, a short walk from the famous Djemaa El Fna Square, Un dejeuner a Marrakech is open everyday, all day for lunch and dinner. Service non stop till 10pm. Modern Moroccan and Continental cuisine, lights snacks, desserts, tea/coffee and fresh juices. Panoramic terrace.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great meals in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved the roof deck setting and it was easy to drop in for a reliably good - if not expensive - meal and snack. They do a really good job creating delicious meals. Highly recommended as an alternative to the sub-par meals at restaurants bordering the main square! Loved the mozzarella and tomato starter and the provencale sandwich - just wish my family had not eaten half of my order!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    490
    341
    74
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We decided to eat here because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't dissappointed. The staff were very friedly and we were seated on the terrasse, which was very nice in the late afternoon. The food however was excellent. We had the warm goats cheese salad and moroccan samosas to start, which were delicious. We shared both as the salad was huge and could've fed someone as a main. Then we had the beef tangine, which was amazing. The beef was extremely tender and the veg and sauce complimented it perfectly. Cannot fault the food or the service and would definitely eat here again. My only warning would be that although it says cocktails in the description, they are only fruit cocktails as this is a traditional restaurant that doesn't serve alcohol. But hey, I'd rather have first class food with a sprite than mediocre food with a glass of wine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So good we went twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Really good food, not at all traditional but very tasty none the less. Try the carrot soup (hot or cold) its made with almond milk and has a hint of star anise, just amazing. The only down side is heat we went on a particularly hot day for dinner and it was just too hot to eat on the roof, with the walk up hot stairs and no breeze on the roof we had to decamp to the ground floor with its fans.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espinho, Portugal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely week in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just a quick walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa through the souks, this was the best restaurant we found in Marrakech.
We tried all the chef specials and they are all a great choice.
The terrace on the roof-top gives you a extraordinary view over the city. Wonderful sunset from the terrace.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Rooftop respite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Short direct walk from Djeema El Fna, its rooftop terrace makes a welcomely breezy, well-shaded respite from the medina. We got 'mocktails'- a virgin mojito and an elixir (kiwi, orange, pineapple)- both delicious, and a beef tangine and a thai curry chicken, not traditional, but wonderfully prepared and presented. (The waiter brought a small tapas of different tapinades on toasted pita before the entree, gratis- nice touch.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Un Dejeuner a Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Un Dejeuner a Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Un Dejeuner a Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.