We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Mo'da

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Mo'da
182 rue el Moussine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 nights in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Me and my boyfriend have travelled a lot during these last 30 years and never, ever stayed in such a lovely place. To wake up in snowy Stockholm, take the direct flight to Marrakech and 5 hours later walk around in the medina in this magic city - that was truly wonderful. I was recommended Dar Mo'da from a friend and after a lively mailcorrespondence with Elena, the manager, we decided to book the Black Suite - the one with an own terrace. Now February is a bit chilly for using this particular terrace but I can imagine what a relief it must be to sit there when the african heat is ON. We had a nice 20 degrees during daytime and spent these sunny hours instead on the roof terrace, in welcoming sofas, resting with good books, sipping mint tea and homebaked cookies...Dar Mo'da is such a beautiful house, tastefully furnished of course with a superb mix of Morrocan antiques and an obvious italian sense of really good taste. One of my best friend works as a stylist and she booked Dar Mo'da straight away when I showed her the pictures and the website. The warm, friendly atomsphere from Elena and the entire staff - from the ladies serving breakfast (mmmmm) to Charlie, the Italian speaking parrot - made our stay the most memorable, We thougt we were in love before Marrakech but after rosepetals by the poolside, the comfortable bed and climbing up to the roof terrace early one morning to watch the sun rise over snowy Atlasmountains - we are over the top in love! :-) Next time - ( I will be back in September together with 6 swedish ladies who wants to learn my Tibetian Faceliftmassage ) I will order a mosaique table from the nice man in the shop just opposite of Dar Mo'da, order a velvet jacket from a tailor recommended by Elena - (shoppingexpert extraordinaire) and make sure that my 50th birthday on Christmas Day 2011 will take place near a gorgeous carpet from the souks in Marrakech...Can't wait to return...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
111
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed almost one week at this beautiful riad right in the middle of Marrakech Medina. We would like to recommend dar mo'da to every one looking for a wonderful place to relax, to enjoy time for eachother or close friends, excellent service by the whole staff and especially the manager Elena you took her time to give us the best advice for the stay in Marrakech. She is a perfect personal shopper and generous shares her business contacts for guests who want to find and buy real Morrocan handcraft. The riad is like coming into a quiet world far away from the stressing life. Very discret, we like! We will soon come back. Marrakech is different and exciting in all ways.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

This riad is absolutely beautiful and luxurious in so many ways, but perhaps what I appreciated most was the lovely rooftop lounging area with stunning panoramic views. The riad's manager, Elena, is very accommodating and knowledgeable. Across the way from the riad is a great shop run by Aziz who sells interesting articles of clothes. And next door is a great restaurant, Cafe Arabe, which has first rate moroccan cusine.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We spent 4 days in Marrakech and really wanted to stay for a longer time. The staff is excellent, serviceminded and very helpfull! They did it all - made resrevations in nice restaurants, showed us the best shopping places and arranged cabs if neccessary. The homemade food is delicious. Having breakfast on the terrace, next to the swimmingpool is the perfect way to start your day . The house and interiour is fabulous. I would come back to Dar Mo'Da again and can really recommend this place to you!!!. Guido

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sscottdvm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I spent four wonderful days at Dar Mo'DA while visiting Mararakech. Elena, the manager, and her staff made my stay a memorable one. The riad is a quiet restfull place to escape from the heat and noise of Marrakech.

The rooms are all different and beautifully decorated. I spent two days in the smaller terrace room and two in the red room. There are two other rooms with their own private terraces. The roof terrace, where an excellent breakfast is served, has a plunge pool to cool off and comfortable lounge chairs to relax on.

Although they serve lunch and dinner, I limited my meals to breakfast and an occasional afternoon tea. Elena gave excellent advice on eating, shopping and some day trips from Marakkech.

The location is excellent, near all the souks, and a five minute walk to the square for evening eating and activities.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We spent a week in Marrakech and would have moved into Dar Mo'Da if they had let us. The staff is excellent. They did it all - helping us get cabs to leading a small cooking demonstration to showing us where to shop in the medina. The food is delicious - especially the homemade cookies and tagine. Having breakfast on the terrace is the perfect way to start your day in the souk. The decor is elegant and understated. I would come back to Dar Mo'Da again and again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trieste
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

it's been a real pleasure to stay in dar moda . Friendly people, excellent food, relaxing place, good massage. I'm looking forwad to doing again!! The italian manager elena, is very nice tio provide you all the good information and suggestions to go arounf marrakech. She is also a perfect personal shopper.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Mo'da? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Mo'da

Address: 182 rue el Moussine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Mo’da with its four exclusive suites is a blend of the magic of the orient and the comforts of the west, making you feel right at home in the fascinating heart of Marrakech. Located just a few minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna Square in the historical quarter of Mouassine, in the heart of the Medina, Dar Mo’da is a traditional morrocan riad which has been restored with a delicate combination of local and italian decors. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Mo'da, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Mo'da to your Saves list