We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Mo'da - what a place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Mo'da

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Mo'da
182 rue el Moussine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dar Mo'da - what a place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our long week-end in Marrakech in November, and especially our choice of residence.

At Dar Mo’da we were warmly welcomed by the hostess, Elena, shown to our room – the Black suite - and later on served a traditional Moroccan dinner in the elegant dining room.

The Black suite, with its own private terrace and very stylish interior – canopy bed, fireplace and black marble bathroom (strewn with rose petals), was perfect for us. And breakfast on the roof terrace was a treat – Dar Mo’da has the highest roof terrace in the souk, so the 360 view is spectacular.

With good guidance from Elena we were also able to experience the old city and see the most important sights, as well as get very good advice on shopping for Moroccan specialties.

But after a day of browsing in the very colourful, crowded, narrow and noisy streets it was just bliss to be back at our riad – quiet, cool, elegant, soft colours – relaxing at the roof top pool.

We are recommending Elena’s Dar Mo’da to all our friends as the place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Direttore at Dar Mo'da, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to have reached our goal: make you feel home. the whole staff is waiting for you and your friends to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
111
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were two couples travelling to Marrakech for the first time. We used Trip Advisor to find this excellent riad. Elena, the hostess, did whatever she could to make us feel like at home. She had renovated the riad herself on behalf of a friend, and everything inside had style and elegance, but still with local tradition well taken care off. She arranged for a local dinner the first night, which we highly enjoyed after a long day of travelling from Norway. The food was excellent. The two next days we enjoyed the outdoor breakfast on the "roof", as well as all the important advice given by Elena. Her local knowledge added significant value to the choices we made for where to go. The location was perfect and we could easily enjoy the local markets and other historical sites most being within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an exceptional place to stay. This was our first time in Marrakech and we arrived late in the evening, but we were immediately made to feel welcome by Elena who stayed to greet us. The riad is wonderfully decorated and elegant, with several opulent sitting areas surrounding a pool, galleried first floor suites, a roof terrace with plunge pool and sun beds, a tented dining room where we ate breakfast and a delicious dinner, and a rooftop sitting area which offers the best views in Marrakech - wonderful, especially at night. We liked the staff and found them very friendly and discreet, always helpful.
The riad is well situated, right next door to the well known Café Arabe - a very useful landmark on our first day; near the souks and la Place Jemaa el Fna. When we felt we had had enough hustle and bustle of the Medina the riad proved to be a much appreciated oasis of calm. Elena gave us excellent advice on things to do and places to eat. We intend to go back.

Room Tip: All the suites are beautiful. Two have terraces and two do not. The rooftop room is more functional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon this past summer and give it HIGH recommendations!

The property has been newly renovated and is absolutely gorgeous. A modern feel of traditional Moroccan Style. We loved it.

The rooftop deck has panoramic views of the city, is so beautiful and private. We went up there morning, afternoon and evening everyday for breakfast, a swim in the pool and happy hour drinks.

The location is awesome. Right in the Medina for an authentic experience and close to everything else.

The best part about our stay here though was the service!!! It was some of the best we have ever received. With only four suites in the Riad, the service is extremely personal. They would walk us to our dinner reservations so we wouldn't get lost in the medina, made all our travel and day trip arrangements, tailored our meals to our dietary concerns and even went out to get me medicine one day when I was really sick.

Elena and the rest of the staff at Dar Mo'da will make you feel special and comfortable. Stay here and you will always remember Morocco with the fondest of memories.

- Erin

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'white room' and recommend it as the bedroom is more private and it has its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have been in the hotel business for over twelve years and have never experienced such wonderful hands on treatment in all my travels. Elena whom the staff affectionately refer to as "madame" is extremely welcoming in such a sincere and warm manner. All it took was the initial email response from her to convince me that this was the right place for me to stay while in Marrakesh. She epitomizes hospitality and promotes that rare concept of 'home away from home'. Her concern for your well being and every aspect of your experiences in Morocco is stellar. She so graciously made every accommodation for me in restaurants, day trips and airport transfers. The latter included having someone waiting for me at the airport when my initial flight was cancelled and a new flight scheduled without my being able to inform her. I arrived at 2:30am and there was a driver miraculously waiting for me. She is fluent in Italian, Spanish, French, English as well as Arabic.
Her staff were extremely warm and accommodating to my every need and request. After my first request for hot milk with my coffee in the morning, it wasn't necessary for me to ever mention it again. The room was kept perfectly and the dinner they made for me and served on the rooftop terrace was fantastic! Hussein is like a gentle uncle that will gladly escort you wherever you need to go in the Medina. And definitely....definitely try their hot mint tea...the best in Morocco!
The riad itself is a beautiful oasis from the dusty chaotic streets of the Medina and is just a few minutes walk to the big square. It has incredibly appointed suites, two pools and a terrace with wonderful panoramic views.
I felt like I was leaving family behind when it was time to leave.

Say hello to Charlie, the parrot mascot, for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 5 nights here mid September. This was definitely one of the nicest places to stay in my travel experience. Why? Well you're going to have to stay to find out!
Location: Perfect, near the centre of the Medina, close to the entrance of the souks and the nightlife of the Jemaa el Fna, but perfectly peaceful and an ideal retreat when your tourist batteries run low.
Rooms, ours was the excellent, it had its own private enclosed sunny terrace and was comfortably furnished.
The staff led by Elena were very friendly and helpful.
The piece de resistance was the roof terrace, which was huge, had 360 degree views of the Medina, lots of seating, loungers, a shady dining area and a small but very necessary plunge pool.
This is not a large impersonal hotel but a very personal, comfortable home which is yours to fully enjoy.
We plan to escape there again soon!

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites with a terrace for that extra degree of indulgence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for a weekend at the Dar Mo'da and thoroughly enjoyed the place. The place is beautifully decorated. Elena was a great host.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore generale at Dar Mo'da, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you Darien,
hope to see you again soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Mo'da? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Mo'da

Address: 182 rue el Moussine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Mo’da with its four exclusive suites is a blend of the magic of the orient and the comforts of the west, making you feel right at home in the fascinating heart of Marrakech. Located just a few minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna Square in the historical quarter of Mouassine, in the heart of the Medina, Dar Mo’da is a traditional morrocan riad which has been restored with a delicate combination of local and italian decors. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Mo'da, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Mo'da to your Saves list