We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to experience Amazigh culture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecomusee Berbere

Ecomusee Berbere
Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-85721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 91 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A great way to experience Amazigh culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a great time with Khalid. Book your trip through the photography museum in Marrakech. They'll set you up with someone who will help you get grand taxi to meet Khalid in Ourika. From there, you've got options.There are waterfalls, gardens, and of course the museum.

Khalid really steals the show. He speaks a ton of languages and is a great, funny guy. You eat lunch at his house (a really nice place) with his family, and you get to see them work - his dad and brother are both ceramic artists.

This was one of our favorite activities during our 6 weeks in Morocco!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A wonderful insight into Berber culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A fantastic experience. Khalid provides a brilliant insight into a way of life and a community that has a great deal of wisdom and natural richness. A day of surprise (who knew that the Berber language was in part German in origin), great food (plums and apricots straight from the tree ), good humour and hospitality. Thank you, Khalid for the welcome to your village, the smiles of your family anf friends, and one of the best days of my life.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Genuine Berber Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The tour provided by Khalid at the Berber museum was the highlight of our stay in Marrakech. Go to the photography museum and sign up for the Ourika Valley tour. For 240 DH per person (about $30), the museum will arrange for a shared "grand taxi" to the Ourika Valley, where you will be met by Khalid, who will take you through his home village, visiting a pottery shop, meeting children, vieiwing the museum and eating lunch at his family home. Khalid will customize the tour for each group, visiting neighboring villages, the orchards and farms in the valley, a walk to the river, and even a stop for a camel ride. The guide is very engaging and will let you know what it is like to live as a Berber. Thought riding in the shared taxi is a bit daunting, it is part of the experience, and the photography museum makes the arrangements simple, negotiating for the ride with the driver. Plan on a whole day, from about 9 to 5 for the whole trip. It's worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best part of the Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Beautiful scenery of snow capped mountains, tree covered foothills, stunning Berber villages, salt mines, the Berber market (so much better than the Souks in Marrakesh and just as big) the walk through the hills, the lunch with Khalid (Museum Curator) and his wonderful family, the Berber Museum was fascinating, the crazy taxi rides and the friendly Berber people. Stay in Ourika Valley and travel into Marrakesh and you will have a much better holiday. It's only 30 or so kilometres from Marrakesh but you will find the people so different. they smile and don't harass you every step you take.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A nice, interesting lession in Berber customs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went on a day-trip from Marrakesh to Kasbah Bab Ourika, and a visit to this museum was on the agenda. To be honest, we did not think much about it, but we were very much taken by the enthousiasm of the museum guide, and learned a lot about Berber life and customs. When I couldn't keep on standing and listening, the guide put me outside on a little stool. I enjoyed myself watching life in the hamlet around the museum, and greeting the locals going to and from the communal bath. They live in, what we would call, pure poverty, with just ditches instead of paths, with a Frisian cow on a rope attached to a tree but absolutely nothing to graze around her but pure dust and sand, lots of chickens not finding anything to eat either but still, seemingly, enjoying themselves and roosters behaving as super macho's. But life, here, is lived to the fullest, and there is dignity in all those I saw passing by. We were pleased to have visited this museum.
It is situated outside Marrakesh, in the Ourika Valley. Entrance fees are small, children free.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecomusee Berbere also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ecomusee Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecomusee Berbere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ecomusee Berbere to your Saves list