We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Selen

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Selen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dar Selen
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Derb El Hammam | Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #442 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Everyone was very helpful and made my stay very enjoyable would stay again without doubt the rooms were so big and clean the breakfast was very good excellent value .the owner was very helpful and nothing was to much trouble the staff were always there on hand and very polite

Room Tip: Rooms were very big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    22
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
37
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed at Riad dar Selen for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The staff are very helpful and kind and made us all feel at home. If I get the opportunity to go to Marrakech again, I definitely know where I will be staying.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed at the Riad dar Salen 9 night as a solo traveller.
The riad itself is situated in a quiet area near the to The Bab Ailen gate : about 15 minutes to the Place Djema el fna and the souks .

As i was a women alone , The Owner Veronique provided me all the tips and advices she could about how to enjoy my stay in Marrakech , helping me out with a weekly daily program .
She came along with me to the souks in order to show me where to go and how to find my way in the maze of the medina, spend another afternoon with me in a traditionnal hammam and booked some trip for me to the ourika valley with a cab she used to worked with .( really nice day !)

As i was on a special diet , they did the best to respect what i needed for and i really enjoyed Jamila's food ! The breakfast was huge and tasty

Rooms are clean and well kept decorated in a sober and traditionnal Maroccan way ,bedding was great! roof top with the jacuzzi is an enjoyable place to have a sunbath or just relax .

to summarize : for whom who are looking for a beautiful place to stay in Marrakech , i do highly recommend this riad ., staff is friendly, place is quiet and relaxing , food gorgeous , prices honest and very good value for money .

Thanks again to the whole team and see you again in a few weeks ! Inch'allah !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at Riad Dar Selen for 4 nights over New Years Eve and had a fantastic time. We travelled to morroco wit my partner and my parents. When we arrived our lovely host Veronique provided ask with all the tools, tips and essentials for navigating our way around the Medina and Marrakesh. She went out of her way to organise and book several & advise several restaurants. One thing to note the beds were amazingly comfortable and even my parents had great "sleep ins". We felt very comfortable throughout the stay and the area is a 15 min walk away from the main square; after the initial impact of this city we felt more then safe and comfortable in walking to and from the main square day & night. All staff were sociable accommodating and had a good sense of humour.
Helpful, friendly and good taste.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We had quite a large group that stayed in two riads [the other one was just round the corner], Riad Dar Selen was able to make dinner for the entire group and that was really gorgeous - they also organised for local musicans to come and play for us whilst we had dinner - this was alot of fun, lots of singing and dancing, very entertaining! This place is full of character, its all really beautifully decorated, each room has its own little touch - its simply stunning. The staff couldn't do enough to help us, they even met us at the car park which is just at the entrance to the medina, and they helped with all the bags, I would highly recommend you staying here its simply delightful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

For whom is considering to travel to Marrakesh, Marroc. Looking for a lovely place to stay? I recommend the beautiful and well located traditional decorated Riad Dar Selen as the place to be! Veronique & Abdellatif are sweet people, running the Riad. They will give you a feeling like 'coming home' in an unique atmosphe...re. Veronique knows every streetcorner and interesting location in Marrakesh and is a very valuable source of information. She'll make sure you'll go home with warm memories about this amazing city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marseille
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

A lovely place, with lovely people!
We needed some good and quite holidays with my friend, and we had them! Well if you are in the same mood, that's the place to go. A bit off the tracks from the busy crowed, you will be considered as a special guest, from the whole team! A special arrival, where Véronique will start to take care of you, and during the whole stay, by giving all the usefull tricks and tips to get around the city (the must do, day trips, security, advices and so on) all the details you need to feel home and comfy! A special thanks to Abdellatif & Jamila for the super breakfast on the terrace!

The room was very cosy, elegant and modern, cleaned every day (daily changed towels), safety box etc....

The terrace was just lovely, with a incredible landscape over the mountains and the palm grove.... in spite of the temperature, we managed to have a nap on the deckchair, next to the hot tub.

Hope to come back sometimes!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Selen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Selen

Address: 8 Derb El Hammam | Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Selen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design and comfortable riad in the medina, atlas and palmtrees view with 5 rooms and a jacuzzi: zen attitude. All services available: just ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Dar Selen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Selen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.