We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, well-designed family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adama Resort

Save Saved
You added Adama Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Adama Resort
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Route d'Amizmiz, KM 7,5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flash Sales, - 60%
Ranked #455 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great, well-designed family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We are a three child family, stayed for a week , 1-8 April 2013. The main thing is, we had a deeply relaxing week, slept lots, and loved it.

Plus points:
- This is a beautifully (lwu) designed place, only a couple of years old, with a style that is both very modern and retains a strong Moroccan traditional spirit. Photos don't really capture this. Our two-bedroom Riad with kitchen was based around a courtyard, with lots of light. There's a very pleasing irregular feel to the whole compound (eg the pool isn't rectangular but slightly off-kilter). A really pleasant place to be.
- The gardens are very well maintained, full of flowers, and almost every doorway and window is festooned with climbers and creepers. The birdsong was lovely.
- The swimming pool is great - lined with limestone and heated on 1 April but not on 3rd, my three-year old found it a little chilly when unheated but 8-10 year olds and parents were happy in it. Our 3-year old splashed a lot in the (unheated) baby pool which is just next to the main pool but with a wall so a young toddler can't wander straight into the big pool. There's also a quieter non-swimming pool which didn't get used much except by the odd couple having a quiet read.
- The restaurant is another beautifully designed building, with brickwork vaulting and a modern central space which only holds 10-12 tables. The hotel is a great size - even when full there are not a large number of people so no tour groups while we were there, and a nice mix of families, couples, olds, from a wide range of countries.
- The staff worked hard to be helpful. They all appeared to really enjoy working there. We asked for a corkscrew in the room, the guy must have sprinted.
- We used the bus into town three times. Sometimes overpacked but a really useful service.

Not so good:
- The food tasted good but when there for a week it would be nice to have a little more variation - just a daily special would provide this. And breakfast, while nice, could have been more varied - eg the markets in town were piled with strawberries but the fruit salad was always the same apple/banana combo; and the croissants could have been fresh baked especially at a French-run hotel. We'd have liked more ice creams / poolside treats.
- Some little niggles which didn't bother us much once used to them - bath hard to unplug; bedside lights faulty (quickly fixed by staff); one door lock wouldn't turn and others a bit stiff.
- The kids activities are bit 'token' - 'kids club' doesn't mean organised activities - but our 10 year old enjoyed the small football area; there was ping pong and babyfoot. The hotel's not focussed on children but there were plenty there and ours certainly loved it.
- We had massages in the spa and my wife was offered a male masseur (no thanks!) and they were a little offhand with her.
- It poured with rain for one day and the window frames couldn't cope!
- Distance from town wasn't an issue for us. Planes fly over from the airport but there are so few this didn't bother us; most were light aircraft.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    70
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
77
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went here for 5 days myself and my boyfriend. The villas are beautiful very clean and spacious ours had a lovely courtyard in the middle. The location is out of town which is good and bad. The pros are it is quite the pool is lovely and the setting is fantastic and it really is nice to be out of the way from the hustle and bustle. The con is the bus to get there can be restrictive due to there be only a few timings. A taxi is about 150 dirhams to town or back and same to airport. Overall we found the staff to be very friendly especially if you try and speak a bit of French or Arabic. There is one exception to this and that is the man on Reception who is incredibly rude and really lets the hotel down. The burger is just about okay as is the lamb but other than that we really couldn't recommend eating here. The beer is perfect and cool though!

The other let down for the hotel is the food it really is terrible. Even the pizza is pretty much inedible. If they sorted out their cooking it would be perfect. One night they served me uncooked food and still charged me.

Room Tip: The Riad is a two building apartment with a courtyard they are very nice and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really, truely a nice setting with immaculate gardens and a nice pool area. Even the basic villa is huge, clean and interior is modern Moroccan style. The staff is friendly (sometimes too friendly with the blonde kids...) and the experience was great overall!

There are a couple downsides too, as stated in the previous reviews. The location is not perfect. It is really not that far from the city or airport but the hotel shuttle schedule is not very convenient and thus we ended up paying for a taxi back or paying for the hotel bus to take us at a convenient time. The restaurant is pretty good with reasonable prices but the menu is too short.

I would agree that the resort is child friendly, but it is not really built to entertain kids. There is no playground area to keep them occupied while lounging at the pool or at the terrace of the restaurant. The pool is also right on the restaurant terrace which is nice if you don't have small kids that constantly want to run to the pool when you are eating.

We knew January would mean chilly nights and that the buildings might not be that well suited for that. The upstairs bed & bath were really warm throughout the night but downstairs it started to get pretty cool already at sunset and would warm up only after sunrise.

All in all, I think they really offer what they promise.Would I go back? Yes, if there was a great deal again, but I would probably pay a 50€ premium / night to stay within walking distance of the Medina in a similar or better property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I decided to take our children to the Adama Hotel for an Xmas break as we have all been there twice before in 2011. Our checking was smooth and we had requested the room we had stayed in before. One of the positives about the Adama is that it is perfect for children. As it is very child friendly. My partner and I had a small amount of business to do in Marrakech and as we were familiar with the staff it was no problem for them to keep an eye on our children for a couple of hours. My partner and I had noticed that the food has improved and they are offering more of a Moroccan experience, as when we tried the hotel previously they were not sure who they were targeting and tried to cater for every euro taste. With a new manager installed Adrian, they are really trying to please. The bus time table into Marrakech was good, but if the time was not convenient, taxis are easy. The rooms are spacious, but the lounge area at this time of year can be 'chilly' so get extra blankets if you're watching tv! The spa is great, but again at this time of year it can be 'chilly' if the room is not heated before you have a massage.Also be prepared for the swimming pool as it is not heated. Let's be honest The Adama is not a 5 star hotel , but in terms of value for money it is great. I repeat it's great for young children, but if we were a couple, we would not choose to stay here, as we prefer something less commercial. If you go, at least make an attempt at basic French, as that is the second language and you will have no issues. Yes some if the staff speak English, but out of politeness I think it is good to make an effort. We will go back with the children , as they love it, but also we liked being outside the centre of Marrakech, as it was quieter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked an October half-term break at this hotel through Hotelopia on a B&B basis.
Were thoroughly ripped off on arrival at Marrakech airport where we were charged 400 dirhams to get to the hotel, which we knew was too much but we were stuck - better to arrange in advance with the hotel (who did our return airport trip for just 150 dirhams).
On arrival we were really impressed with the size of our suite, which was room no. 26 and one of the one-bedroomed Riads. We had a completely private patio/garden with table & chairs, a large vaulted living/dining room with flat-screen TV (no English channels though!) and 2 sofa beds, a kitchen with microwave, hob, fridge, dishwasher & toaster (no kettle), a separate wc off the hallway then a large bedroom with ensuite bathroom, which our daughter slept in and we had the sofa beds. All very clean.
Breakfast was continental style buffet, not a great deal of choice, and we quickly went through the evening meal menu. The steak was particularly good, though.
A free shuttle bus runs right into the centre, takes about 20 minutes, and we used this 3 times. We also got a taxi early on in our stay to the big Carrefour supermarket to stock up on essentials and groceries for making our own lunches.
Staff all very friendly and our room was cleaned, tidied and fresh towels every day. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

One of the reasons my boyfriend chose this place was because they offered actual apartments rather than just a hotel room. The pictures looked great and the place didn't disappoint!! Our apartment was split bedroom & bathroom, a courtyard in the middle and then a living room & kitchen. Extremely spacious!! The kitchen was very functional and although small was more than what we needed during our week's stay.

The bedroom & bathroom were furnished beautifully and the decor was very traditional. I absolutely adored that we were in a little complex but also very separate from the other apartments.

The main disadvantage is getting there from the airport; there is absolutely no way without a taxi. You could always get the bus into the centre and then wait there for the hotel shuttle service but at the time, we had no idea about the timetable so just decided to take a hotel. We negotiated to around 80 dirhams but basically you can't go down any less.

Another disadvantage is that if you really want to self-cater as we did, there is a Carrefour but it is a way away so you have to get a taxi - shuttle services are a wait and it may seem expensive in dirhams but we bought enough food to last us the whole week. That kind of mixed up our meals and we made good use of the kitchen.

The shuttle service is not too bad - they're pretty regular but it does mean you have to stick to a timetable and plan certain things but definitely not bad for us as we enjoyed spending 3-4 hours in town and then get back to relaxing at the pool. We normally then went back into town for dinner.

We never tried the food at the hotel; preferring to eat skewers and sheep brains because, well, "when in Rome". The pool was brilliant and the whole ambience of the place was beautiful. We also tried their Hammam service which wasn't really worth it but still, an experience. :)

Overall, when we went, it was fairly new so hopefully it'll have improved some since then. We both enjoyed it and it was a thoroughly brilliant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Adama Resort lived up to all good reviews - very friendly staff, peaceful but not far from Marrakesh famous centre (Djeema El Fna, Nouvelle Ville etc), clean and comfortable apartments and timely free shuttle bus service into Marrakesh. I would recommend this for couples of groups looking for somewhere relaxing with a nice pool, but close enough to the centre for easy trips during the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adama Resort

Also Known As:
Adama By Residhotel Hotel
Adama By Residhotel Hotel Marrakech
Address: Route d'Amizmiz, KM 7,5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #455 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adama Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence Adama is located 10 minutes by shuttle from Jemaa-El-Fna and has a panoramic view of the Atlas mountains. It offers a heated lagoon swimming pool, spa facilities and free Wi-Fi internet access.The traditional Moroccan houses are set in a quiet garden and are fully equipped with flat-screen satellite TV, washing machine, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Escapio and Otel so you can book your Adama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adama Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.