We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food on a tourist spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Belkabir

Dar Belkabir
12, souk des roseaux | jamaa el fna, Marrakech, Morocco
+ 212 524 375 608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 586 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food on a tourist spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

During our 8 day trip we visited Dar Belkabir twice.

The tajines were great and the portions were good as well. (both beef and chicken)
As said before, the pigeon is not that great and IMHO should be taken from the menu.
I would highly recommend the plum chicken tajine!

Decor is nice and cosy.
Waiters are very kind.

Bottom line: good food for little money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent tangines and couscous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The briouats, tangines and the couscous was excellent. But the harira soup was disappointing. We went at lunchtime after walking through the souks. We particularly loved the couscous - it just melted in the mouth.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Authentic Moroccan Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Enhiues dinner here with friends.
Moroccan salads very good. Most of the main courses were good- one diner ha the pigeon and was not impressed, tiny bird with literally 2 mouthfuls of meat! Beef with tomato asn caramelised notions very good. No alcohol. Comfy, basic furnishings, well used, which is good. Not plush but authentic. A bit cold on the night we were there! A god, authentic dining experience, worth going to, and just off the Square

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Fellow riad guests recommended this restuarant to us. Although located on the main square it was still hard to find but well worth the effort. We ate heartily for €7 each...would recommend the beef & veg tagine & beef with prunes tagine both v tasty. Also veg couscous was the best we'd had during our visit. Staff were v discreet altho no english spoken but that caused no problem. Wish we'd found it earlier after several disappointing meals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Mint Tea!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited here on several occasions for some mint tea and pastries prior to heading back to the Riad. Tea in my opinion is the best I've had in Marrakech. Decor is welcoming and relaxing. The couches are very comfy and staff are polite and friendly. Not had hot food as yet but for a tea stop I'd definitely recommend!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Belkabir also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Belkabir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Belkabir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.