We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Privilege Moroccan Restaurant

Lotus Privilege Moroccan Restaurant
Quartier Dar El Bacha | 9, Derb Sidi Ben Hamdouche, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 661-997919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 590 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: In elegant decor, Restaurant Lotus Privilege offers fine Moroccan cuisine in a warm and inviting atmosphere.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Nice Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Location.
The restaurant is located down a labyrinth of alleys that are typical for the Medina area. If you reserve in advance a guide will meet you on the main street and bring you to the restaurant. As we were staying nearby in the Riad Dar Charkai the guide came to our hotel to collect us.

Atmosphere.
When you finally arrive after navigating the maze of alleys you enter the Restaurant which is located in a traditional Rida. The space opens out to a beautiful courtyard with orange trees and a swimming pool in the middle. There some comfortable chairs and tables where you receive a welcome drink. You can relax and enjoy the beautiful traditional Riad surroundings and looking at the stars. After drinks you move to the dinner table which is inside the Riad, Beautifully decorated in traditional Arab style Two musicians were playing traditional Moroccan music to complete the atmosphere.

Menu Selection
We had chosen a 5 course Moroccan Menu in advance which was excellent. Our party had one Vegetarian and this was well catered for.

Food Quality:
Overall quality of the food was excellent. The Tagine in particular was excellent . We failed to finish the five courses

Entertainment:
On the evening we were there there was also a belly dancer who danced from table to table for about 20 Minutes to the live music. It added a great atmosphere to the evening.

Service.
Very good service which was always timely and pleasant

Conclusion.
Very nice evening with quality food, very nice atmosphere and good value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMinel, Digital Marketing Manager at Lotus Privilege Moroccan Restaurant, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello,

Firstly, thank you for this great recommendation. We would like to inform you that the Riad Lotus Privilege, has undergone major transformations in the beginning of the year, who gave birth to moroccan restaurant Lotus Privilege, the new Moroccan table in the city, offering local cuisine, refined and revisited in a warm, friendly atmosphere and always varied. New team, new menu, new decoration ...
We would love to welcome you during your next stay in Marrakech to help you discover the culinary experience of Moroccan Restaurant Lotus Privilege.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    20
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Catastrophic fail & unpleasant manager - spend your money elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

On strong recommendation and based on the reviews we read on Tripadvisor it was with great anticipation we looked forward to our dinner at Lotus Privilege with our friends on the last night of our stay in Marrakech.

However the night was a disaster and ended up with a confrontation with the restaurant manager the next morning.

Specifically:

1. We were told we would be picked up at 7:30 and escorted to the restaurant. By 8:00 and only because our Dar called them again were we picked up. We were actually seated at our table at 08:30.

2. Although we were the first diners at the restaurant the other diners were shown to their table, provided with drinks are were served their food ahead of us.

3. We were led to believe we would have our own tented private dining area which did not materialise.

4. We were in a large vaulted interior room to the side of the Riad. Which was very cold 4-5 degrees celcius. No effort had been made to warm the room beforehand. And the staff rolled in a patio heater which they only managed to ignite after about 2 hours. Of course whilst they were fiddling with the patio heater they were not paying attention to the diners. And our party were freezing cold - we had to keep our coats on throughout.

5. The food was patchy. The date and quail tagine was good and conspicuous since the other dishes were average to poor. The canapes were on stale bread, the vegetable couscous re-used the vegetables from the earlier salad course. We had eaten consistently better cooked meals at every other venue in Marrkech that we dined at. The quality was in no way commensurate with the prices that we were being charged.

We debated whether to just leave and find somewhere else. However by that time it was nearly 9PM and we didn't want to face trawling around to try and find somewhere else. We tried to make the best of the evening as much as we could. At the end of the evening we raised our issues with the staff and asked them to consider adjusting the bill to reflect our poor experience. The manager was unavailable and their response was 'this is your lucky night' you can just go. We felt we could not just go without paying anything so we paid 1000 Dirham out of 2710 Dirham as a token to cover their costs.

The next morning at our Dar we came downstairs from breakfast to find the Manager of the restaurant (who had been absent the night before) waiting in the courtyard. We anticipated that he might be offering an apology however to the contrary he was demanding payment of the balance. We were disturbed that he had come to our Dar and dismayed that there was no sign of contrition or apology.

This was upsetting to our group and it was only down to the intervention of the staff at the Dar who escorted him off the premises that the situation was defused.

Our party took strong exception to being pursued by the manager the next morning and that along with our poor experience the evening before has led to this review. If I could give Zero I would.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDalila, Digital Marketing Manager at Lotus Privilege Moroccan Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are truly sorry for your bad experience at La Table DU Privilege. We inform you that it has been transformed since February 2014, to gourmet restaurant. All the staff has changed! We currently have a new director and a new chef specializing in Moroccan gourmet cuisine. To this end, we invite you during your next visit to Marrakech, come and visit us, we will do our best to make you forget this bad experience.

Good to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“APPALLING - Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We booked in advance for dinner with our friends on Monday 13th Feb, we'd had a couple of days in Marrakech and wanted a last night treat.

We were supposed to be collected from our Riad at 7.30pm but they didn't turn up. Our wonderful Riad (Dar Charkia) called the Lotus and eventually someone came to fetch us about 35 minutes late.

After a short 5 min walk we arrived and were immediately shown around a couple of downstairs bedrooms! We were a little confused as we had gone to have dinner! We were also expecting to eat in a tented area but were shown to some chairs just off the courtyard where we ordered some drinks. We were the first people there but soon after 2 more couples arrived and were immediately taken inside to the dining area. Our drinks took about 20 minutes to arrive. My husband's Bloody Mary was pale pink and they had no Worcestershire sauce.

When we were seated, we realised just how cold it was so we all kept our coats on for the entire evening. The two waiters had brought a patio type heater inside but it had run out of gas. They got it going later but it didn't give out any heat.

Our courses arrived - a plate of small circular pieces of bread (3 each) with lumpfish on them, a plate of cold carrot, aubergine and a stick of cheese coated in batter, a quail in a tangine, another tangine with a piece of meat & veg with couscous followed by a very small dessert which consisted of 2 biscuits sandwiched with cream and some chopped fruit. It was awful, very dull and unimaginative.

The service was dreadful and as there were only 8 guests in the whole restuarant they couldn't say they were busy.

As our experience was so bad we asked to speak to the manager but were told he wasn't in. We explained that we weren't happy. The waiter said then that as the manager wasn't in, it was our lucky night and to go without paying (should have been 500 dirhams each plus the drinks which totalled 2710 dirhams). We had a chat amongst ourselves and decided to leave 1000 dirhams to cover their costs, this we thought was fair as the food and sevice were very substandard. We paid and left.

The next morning and three out of the four of us woke to a bad stomach upset. We were then amazed when the manager turned up at our Riad to demand the rest of the bill! I'm not sure that his staff had told him the whole story about our visit.

I must admit that feeling so ill, I almost lost it with him - told him it was the worst meal ever and we were ill and there was no way we were going to pay any more. The staff at the Riad escorted him into the kitchen for a chat after which he left slamming the door!
They later told us that he had rung them late at night after we had left the restaurant to track us down. Rather sinister.

Avoid.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This place came highly recommended but it was a complete disaster.
The guide to escort us, turned up 30 minutes late, after we had chased up with a call; we went for dinner and were booked into a "private tent" but this did not materialise with no explanation.
While the aperitifs were being "prepared" two other couple were shown into the room and were served.
The food was good in parts (I enjoyed the roast quail and the dessert) but very average in others - tagine, cous cous and did not really offer anything new in terms of exposure to a different side of Moroccan cuisine.
The dining room was freezing - we all kept our coats on during dinner, 2 hours into the dinner the staff got the patio heater working.
We quite naturally objected to the bill and the staff invited us to walk out for free - "its your lucky day" We paid a little less than half which was felt to be fair for a complete disappointment.
The next day the manager (who was absent in the evening) turned up at our Riad for a confrontation but our Riad owner persuaded him to leave.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This place is a lot of fun. The restaurant is located in a super glamorous riad in the Medina, a fantastic setting for a special dinner. You will need to reserve a table and the riad will send someone to pick you and escort you through the narrow alleys all the way to the door. We were five friends there just before Christmas. The food was very good, Moroccan with a twist, and we were treated with a surprise belly dance show. It is definitely an experience we would recommend!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Privilege Moroccan Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Lotus Privilege Moroccan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Privilege Moroccan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.