We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Marrakesh and whole Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cherkaoui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Cherkaoui
Save
You added Riad Cherkaoui to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   derb Sidi Ahmed Soussi | Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #811 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
“Heart of Marrakesh and whole Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

As true Europeans and travelers without experience in Africa, we were shocked about the chaos in the streets around the hotel - it was true cultural chock. But when we entered the hotel riad, it was unbelivable peace and harmony, with warm, friendly staff and romantic atmosphere. We felt that we were part of Morocco in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Beautiful old Riad in the medina and a short stroll to the Place. Decor is very Moroccan and not pretentious.
Wonderful room and facilities, especially for the price. Excellent staff and service. A selection of scrumptuos home cooked breads and beverages each breakfast. Would definitley stay here again and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Off the beaten track; but worth the walk to the place El Fna....good service and breakfasts; friendly and helpful....you;ll need help in finding it but worth the hassle...near a grand mosque!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I was nervous to visit Marrakesh alone - ( young, North American female), but they took good care of me at the riad. The staff was *beyond* helpful, the hotel was beautiful, and the other guests were very pleasant as well. I was impressed and would gladly stay there again.

However- there was no internet (the staff happily took me to a local internet cafe however), and the breakfasts were so-so (coffee, orange juice, and creps every morning. Could have been worse but ...) What the hotel lacked in technology and breakfast, it made up for with charm and friendliness though :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

My sister and I stayed 4 nights at this riad and enjoyed it very myuch. Refreshing little pool. Good breakfast and excellent service from our hosts Halima and Hafid. Have eaten at the riad twice. Be sure to ask the price before you order your meal. A 20 minute walk to the Place Jeema but very close to the souks. We strongly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

The Riad Cherkaoui was my girlfriend and I's safe haven during our 5 day stay in Marrakech. It is an especially beautiful, calm and quaint little Riad that is clean, comfortable and offers a nice breakfast to get you going each morning.
For us, it was a much needed place of respite from the maddening, bustling bazaar of ancient Marrakech! Without it, our trip would not have been so fabulous.
Marrakech is an incredible experience, a labyrinth of souks, shouting Arabs and non-stop haggling. But as engaging, absorbing and surprisingly romantic as it is... a pampered westerner like myself was left furiously frustrated and exhausted at the end of each day getting lost in the myriad of markets.
Having the Riad Cherkaoui and its friendly staff to retire to each evening (and some afternoons!) gave me a place to relax, calm down and prepare for my next venture out into the chaos!

If you are looking for a relaxing, well pampered holiday then I would recommend staying outside of the walled, ancient city as it is quite a stressful environment, however, if you are looking for an exciting mini-break and want to dive right in and sample true Marrakesh, then it is imperative that you stay in a traditional Riad within the walled city. I could not fault this Riad for this purpose and would highly recommend it!!

Finally, a note on finding the Riad - organise pick up from the Airport with the Riad before you depart and wait until your driver arrives at the airport (ryanair has a tendency to be earlier than scheduled). Once there, take detailed mental notes of each turn on your way in and out from the Riad. After a couple of times it gets much easier!! Also, do not be afraid to take someone up if they offer to show you the way if you are lost, just make sure you set out in advance that you are only going to give them 20 - 50 Dirhams as they will demand around 200 if you do not. We asked for directions 3 or 4 times and it can be quite daunting when you being led down an alley by a couple of youths but they all turned out to be very friendly and helpful (once paid!!).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
envbecky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We contacted the hotel to arrange a transfer from the airport which was a very good idea as there is no sign outside the riad telling you that you have arrived at the right place. One inside we were welcomed and shown to our room, which was really lovely.

We also pre booked the evening meal for our first night there, and it was an absolute feast! The food was amazing!

It is really helpful if you can speak a reasonable amount of french as its the only europesn lanuage spoken fluently by the staff.

We had a fantastic 5 days there, breakfast was good and changed slightly each day and was bread, either a different type of bread or pancake, with jams, honey and butter. There was also coffee, tea and freshly squeezed orange juice.

We had a brilliant time, and we would like to say another big thank you to our hosts, and we hope you enjoyed the cadburys chocolate we bought you at the atart of our stay (we forgot to ask if you liked it)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#150 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#37 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cherkaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cherkaoui

Address: derb Sidi Ahmed Soussi | Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #811 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Cherkaoui 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cherkaoui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.