We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad Medea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Medea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Medea to your Saves list
Riad Medea
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   No18 Derb Sidi Ahmed Soussi, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #665 of 1,115 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad Medea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Riad Medea Marrakech is an amazing oasis the busiest of cities
When arriving you could never guess what magic is behind the door :)
It opens into a delightful indoor courtyard complete with a pool !
All around are lovely handpicked objects that create a sense of style without being too much
The Medea has 5 rooms including a sumptuous suite
All the rooms have bathrooms that are just beautiful
This whole place oozes style and class which is effortless and just perfect
Breakfast is served on a lovely roof terrace and is a tasty mix of breads jams and yoghurts washed down with coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice
The service is impeccable and always available but never in the way
The Medea is so much more than a hotel could ever be
Forget the soulless rooms of the big chains
Come here and totally relax and be looked after by people that clearly love what they do :)

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

I stayed at the Riad Medea for 4 nights in March 2015 as a solo traveller. I found and booked the riad via Booking.com and everything went very well:

- The booking and price were as expected, no problems;
- The riad and rooms were as described, everything was in working order - internet, hot water, air conditioning, etc.
- I was able to pay by card (some riads only seem to accept cash);
- The staff were very friendly, although their English was limited and my French is very poor, we managed to get by. Although I didn't have any problems which required much communication.
- The staff did not try and sell me anything I didn't want, I had arranged my transfers and tours via a tour operator and this wasn't a problem for the hotel. They were not pushy.
- The hotel is not on a 'main' street and is not shown on the local maps. It is worth making yourself a small map that reminds you how to get from the nearest main road to the riad.
- The door to your room can't be locked whilst you're out (this is the same for most riads), but I left cash/electronics/passport in my room every day and there were no problems. I felt very secure being on my own in this riad.
- The riad is very quiet in the middle of the busy city.
- The breakfasts and dinners were very good, you do need to give the chef advanced warning if you want an evening meal though - with so few guests the chef does not keep the kitchen on standby in case someone is hungry. And, make sure you give yourself plenty of time if you need an early breakfast before an excursion (breakfast usually arrived about 15 minutes after the time I'd asked for - not a big problem but I was usually in a rush in the morning).

I would thoroughly recommend this riad to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I stayed at the riad for two nights and was definitely my best experience in Marrakech so far. The staff is really friendly and always make you feel at home, always willing to help you, special thanks or Marwan! Great breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Would just like to say one thing- the staff in this place are USELESS.

We arrived at Djemma el Fna to find the the hotel was in fact nowhere near.
We phoned and asked them to send us a taxi and the driver didn't know the name of the hotel
They could not find our booking number, when we gave them our reference they had us down for the wrong number of people.

Needless to say we never made it to the hotel, definately not a good place to stay if you want to experience Morocco.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff were brilliant, couldn't do more to help. Better if you speak French but we got by without. We had a the Tudor Room which is on the terrace on the roof. We pretty much had the terrace to ourselves the whole time.

Room Tip: The Tudor Room was about half the price of the others, I think due to it's size but it was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This riad is very hard to find, but when you find it, its a little paradise. Very beautiful, with a Nice pool and jasmin trees. The staff is very Nice and helpfull. Breakfast is very sweet, only things with sugar, wich was difficult for My diabetic friend. But all In all This is a Nice place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

A great discovery. A real peaceful Riad in the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

Said the manager is a great help. He'll figure out your dinner options and let you know how to discover the Medina. He'll help with the luggage from and to the car should you decide to park it by the Mosque's parking nearby.

We had the suite that turned out to be a real deluxe treat! Spacious, high ceilings and an eye for details.

Thumbs up all the way. And again Said a big asset for your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Medea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Medea

Address: No18 Derb Sidi Ahmed Soussi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #665 of 1,115 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Medea 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Medea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Medea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.