We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some false reviews above - avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Arocha

Save Saved
You added Riad Arocha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Arocha
28 derb R'hamna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #715 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“some false reviews above - avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

- add 200dh to price for essential taxi transfer and 20dh/day for taxis; expect to get screwed on the exchange rate by management and expect breakfast to be a joke, even compared to other Riads in Morocco -

seriously, the previous reviews saying djemma el fna (main square) is 10 mins away are lies. it's easy enough to go to google maps, type in the address and get walking directions to djemma. 22 minutes. and that is optimistic. The location is such that you will get lost, so double that time and that is more realistic. It is charming once or twice, and only in broad daylight, to get lost in the medina - although this is not the souk, so there is nothing picturesque about the area you will get lost in; just the authentic stink of petrol and the menace of young men with not much to do but offer to help you carry your bags while trying to grab them off of your back. And at night, it is almost empty, intimidating, nerve-wracking, frustrating, and downright dangerous. When I told a friend's mother - old Fassi lady raised in the Marrakshi Medina - where I was staying and that we'd tried to walk there at night, she told me that God had watched me and my husband because the area was not safe. Another local woman, who had heard our troubles the previous night but didn't dare venture out, warned us that only people who were up to no good were out at night in this neighbourhood. The hotel offers a 200dh pick up charge, which in fact should not be charged for because it is not optional, especially if you arrive after economic activities in this part of the riad have ended (after around 6-7pm). So add this to the deceptively cheap room price of EUR23/night. Also, if you want to come back in the evening from trips to the livelier, safer southern part of the medina, add about 20dh for the taxi each night, because getting lost after a long day of haggling in the souk or wandering around marrakech, is not an experience I wish on anyone (except the horrible absentee owners Sylvain and Alexia Penin). Also add EUR2 per person each night for the tourist tax. And ALSO don't forget that the price you see in Dirhams on whatever booking website you use, is not the price you will pay, regardless of the real exchange rate. The owners take the Euro price, set their own exchange rate (favourable to them) and convert it into dirhams.

Add to this, that the bathroom had an infestation of insects from a poorly sealed ceiling of untreated wooden logs and the cleaning was so poor that many dead bugs remained (see pictures); the door had a gap that allowed everyone to see/hear you and your partner on your bed (see pictures); the breakfast of day old bread, and day old crepes was warmed in the microwave while staff seemed annoyed that you wanted actual mint tea instead of Lipton (lipton!?! I'm in Morocco!!!!!); the rudeness of the owners who know they have no business charging 18euros for a transfer to such a godforsaken location; and after this, compare the price to other Riads in better locations, with better renovations and kinder staff (key exception is the man on the door who tried his hardest).

My guess: the owners thought a riad in Marrakech, full of desperate tourists, would be a good retirement income and were suckered into buying in such a horrible location. They were probably also suckered into an expensive, but not very masterfully done renovation. And they are now trying to recoup these expenses by luring you in with a low upfront cost and then piling on the fees. Prices of meals, hammams, etc are what you would pay in the nice hotels near Koutobia. Seriously!

It's very much like the fake antiques you can get in the souk. beautiful to look at it, but if you actually try to use it or look deeper - scratch the surface and you see poor quality and half-efforts.

The rating is a two, because the bed was comfortable (although a couple of insects wandered in from the bathroom) and I do not want the riad to go out of business - there are at least three Moroccans who depend on this place for an income. I want the owners only to adjust their pricing to be more realistic and honest. The courtyard is lovely and so if you want to spend your time in a Riad rather than explore Marrakech (which can be exhausting, so this is fair enough), feel free to come here. The courtyard, with its trees is lovely. There is no plunge pool. There is a fountain without water that they call a plunge pool, though, and it completes the look of Riad (again, scratch the surface and you see the truth).

Room Tip: choose a room where the bathroom does not have the poorly sealed ceiling, otherwise you will get a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I think this dar (and not riad, btw) has a very good potential, unfortunately it is not followed up as it should.
Like other guests I felt very uncomfortable with the attitude towards the "guides/stalkers", the receptionist actually insisted for me to give more to the guy that kind of followed me, very reassuring for an alone traveling girl.
Internet was (of course!) "momentarily" not working.
Room was not ready (despite I specified in my email I would arrive pretty early and probably tired).
The GPS system that they offer was not working, and their position is really not the most convenient.
At night, the poor guardian would barely speak french or english, but was helpless to advice us for places to go to eat, told us to better stay in house and made us micro-wawe dinner.
Otherwise the place is nice, rather clean, pretty decorated.

Room Tip: I oculd see all rooms and they seem all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Initial impression was fab. very atmospheric and traditional. Rooms tastefully decorated. However, we had problems from the outset with the staff. We were 4 people, 2 of us vegetarian. We indicated on booking Vegetarian Breakfast. This was translated that we wanted additional 'Vegetarian Soup'!!!!! FOR BREAKFAST!!! ARE YOU KIDDING!!! This would have been funny had they not tried to charge us the equivilant of £7.00 per bowl of soup!! We also had problems with messages not being passed to us from our ongoing accomodation. Our transport arrived only to be told that we had already left. We were the only people staying and at this time we were having breakfast!!! Also 30 mins walk into Square. This is an hour's round trip each time you leave the Riad. Overall, although it was a pretty place, it was not worth the hassle. They do not speak English, and although my French is quite good, they indicated that they did not understand me!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our room (the black room) was really lovely. It was very unique, characterful and very clean. It is about 10 minutes walk to the square, but it is not easy to navigate. If you are worried about getting lost might not be the place for you, but getting lost is all part of being in Marrakech! You can organise collection from the airport which is well worth while and not overpriced. The central courtyard is beautiful, breakfast is served there which is also really nice. Really nice place to stay if you want the riad experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We only stayed here for one night but it seemed nice. The breakfast wasn't really very good but it was only a small riad so we didn't really expect much. A little way from djemma el fna so if you aren't willing to walk during the heat of the day, I'd suggest staying somewhere a bit closer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Excellent stay in this riad situated well between peace and animation of the medina.
No problem to find thanks to the shuttle which waited for us at the airport.
Good welcome of the staff always ready for helping.
Good advices of the managers for safe and nice tours for discovering the city and other places.
As we book for a week, managers offered the dinner for the first night : it was so good… we decided to stay almost every night.
Room was clean and beautiful (room Diamant noir).
We ended our trip with the hammam/massage: GREAT!!
Others customers we met seemed satisfied by the place and services too.
We’ll return with pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Wouldn't recommend staying here. The location is too far from the central Medina, Maps & travel books won't help locate this alley & no obvious signs where you need them. Everywhere is a huge maze. Frustratingly ended up paying local Men/ Boys who where like snakes! As they don't all know the way, they then ask another person, he comes along too & before you know it you are paying 3 people for directions. Constantly try & rip you off by trying to demand 20+ Euros when they get to the door of the Riad. If they don't get what they want they then stand on the doorstep arguing & being abusive. We never paid them that much, only local currency £4 maximum.

Not one of the better Riads we have stayed in, lots of nice Furniture ect but the floors where always dirty, the fountain in central breakfast area was unmaintained and stagnent & the Sunbeds & Chairs on the Terrace where filthy!

I can only describe this Riad owner as being 'Penny Pinching'. In the morning with breakfast they served us 'half a glass of orange juice' with pancake & jam. When we went out we came back to find the Air Conditioning Off in the Bedroom! No lock on Room......you must take your own. The plunge Pool wasn't free, it was classed as being part of the steam room, although it was actually a jacuzzi! For the privelidge the charge was around £15. We ordered a Coffee in the evening, went upstairs & they came running after us for payment. By the way anyone thinking of just turning up to book this Riad, don't ....she won't price match the Internet.

This end of the Medina is more like the industrial side with nowhere to eat close by. Young boys hanging out in the narrow streets intimidating, annoying and being abusive, especially in the evening.
For a quieter Riad not too far from central Medina try Riad Bamileke...not too expensive, very clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Arocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Arocha

Address: 28 derb R'hamna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #715 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad Arocha se situe à 20 minutes à pied de la place Jemaa El Fna, à 5 minutes de la Palmeraie de Marrakech, du centre ville et des Golfs.Un authentique Riad, plein de charme et de tranquillité… Véritable havre de paix, le Riad Arocha offre 5 chambres climatisées avec salle de bains privative. Décoré dans un style tout en avance, équilibre subtil entre artisanat traditionnel et contemporain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Arocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Arocha Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Arocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.