We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oase of calm in heart of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alegria

Save Saved
You added Riad Alegria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Alegria
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   61 Derb Touareg, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Oase of calm in heart of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Long 3 day weekend trip with family (2 kids) within the city walls of Marrakech. Worked out very well due to the great stay at the Alegria Riad. 2 spacious rooms avalailable which allow you to stay with all 4 in same room without having any feeling of it being too small. The location allows you to do almost everything by foot (avoiding headache of taxis) as it is very well located. Some trendy restaurants closeby as well altho the great food produced by the 2 nice ladies in the Riad and served by Brahim in the communal living room is an easy, quiet and convenient alternative if you want to stay inside after being out in busy Marrakech for the day. Brahim is very nice host and able to help on anything you wish for (does the guy every sleep ? :-) ). Furthermore worth pointing out the 1 hour massages that can be booked for any time during the day ! Pretty cheap and professional on top ! We would go back for sure as the balance between being in busy lively marrakech (instead of the standard hotels outside town) and the oase of calm of this Riad is just perfect combination. Pick up and return from Airport sorted by them as well. PS. the roof terrace is awesome as well !

Room Tip: From the 2 big (family) rooms they have the one on the roofterrace has advantage it is the only one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
70
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay ! The experience that we have had in Riad Alegria has surpassed all our expectations in Marrakesh.The terrace is gorgeous !the breakfast is delicious,the room are spacious,
The staff has been great, very friendly, hospitable and obliging. special thanks to Ibrahim for being always there for us...Raid Alegria has made our stay in Marrakesh so wonderful, we will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Set in the heart of Marrakech, this Riad is probably one of the best. Close to everything and a great terrace. We stayed 3 nights and were met with a warm welcome mint-tea by Ibrahim who was on hand to offer advice and could not have been more helpful.
There is nothing that can be faulted from the smiles we saw every morning at breakfast, to our room being made up whilst we were out (including folding our clothes) and being made to feel at home. The room was extremely comfortable, the location a nice walk from the main square, and the breakfast is delicious... absolutely no complaints... a great experience, we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We have lived in several Riads in Marrakech throughout the years, but decided to come back to Riad Alegria. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are great, the food is excellent. Riad Alegria is easy to find when you arrive from the airport, it is situated close to Jema el Fnaa and the souks and close to a guarded car park. It is very quiet at night, and the terrace on the roof is an oasis.
If you get tired of all the excotic places, you can visit the " Cosy Bar" or the very good restaurant " Tangine" just round the corner.
The manager, M. Olivier Deschamps, arranges excursions to the south of Morocco through his company Sahara Experience.

Hilde Skjeflo and Per Arne Holman, Oslo, Norway

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

A wonderful stay in Marrakech, in a great spacious suite, 3 of us sharing, wonderful roomy bathroom and bath, shower dreamy. Was a bit further from Jma al Fna, but easy to navigate. Close to Palias Bahia and the sadinian tombs. The food was wonderful, and the dinner we had was one of the best in Morocco. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would go back. Lovely balcony too and great view of the stalks

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

very quiet, beautyfully decorated, clean, very friendly staff, very good food, marvellous terrace on the roof, good value for money

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I had purposefully wanted to stay south of the Medina near the Melah and was aware that Alegria would be a 5-10 minute walk to the place Jemaa el Fna but this shouldnt put anybody off, its a very easy uncomplicated walk.
Alegria has been beautifully and tastefully restored by Marie Christina. I stayed 2 nights at the beginning of my trip and 1 night at the end, so I enjoyed two different rooms and must say that both were a very good size, extremely comfortable and offered large bathrooms with a good water supply.

Mohamad was extremely helpful and escorted me through the labarynth of the Kasbah to Kasbah La Rotonda an Italian/Moroccan restaurant, so well hidden that a guide is essential

They arranged my pickup and drop off to the airport for euro 20 which was very efficiently done.

Definately would return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alegria

Address: 61 Derb Touareg, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alegria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alegria with pure offers modern comfort at the heart of a neighborhood is buzzing with activity. 5 junior suites with elegant private bathroom, Each air-conditioned, flat screen television, king size bed, Decoration. Steam bath and massage for relaxation Swimming pool / sun terrace facing the Badii Palace storks and legendary for idleness A friendly welcome, A smiling staff and your listening Very easy access, next to the Palais Badii and place of tinsmiths 5 minutes from Jemaa el Fna. Parking nearby. Ideal location to visit the Medina on foot, Eating, and plunge into the atmosphere of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Riad Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alegria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.