We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alegria

Save Saved
You added Riad Alegria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Alegria
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   61 Derb Touareg, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Set in the heart of Marrakech, this Riad is probably one of the best. Close to everything and a great terrace. We stayed 3 nights and were met with a warm welcome mint-tea by Ibrahim who was on hand to offer advice and could not have been more helpful.
There is nothing that can be faulted from the smiles we saw every morning at breakfast, to our room being made up whilst we were out (including folding our clothes) and being made to feel at home. The room was extremely comfortable, the location a nice walk from the main square, and the breakfast is delicious... absolutely no complaints... a great experience, we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
71
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We have lived in several Riads in Marrakech throughout the years, but decided to come back to Riad Alegria. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are great, the food is excellent. Riad Alegria is easy to find when you arrive from the airport, it is situated close to Jema el Fnaa and the souks and close to a guarded car park. It is very quiet at night, and the terrace on the roof is an oasis.
If you get tired of all the excotic places, you can visit the " Cosy Bar" or the very good restaurant " Tangine" just round the corner.
The manager, M. Olivier Deschamps, arranges excursions to the south of Morocco through his company Sahara Experience.

Hilde Skjeflo and Per Arne Holman, Oslo, Norway

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

A wonderful stay in Marrakech, in a great spacious suite, 3 of us sharing, wonderful roomy bathroom and bath, shower dreamy. Was a bit further from Jma al Fna, but easy to navigate. Close to Palias Bahia and the sadinian tombs. The food was wonderful, and the dinner we had was one of the best in Morocco. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would go back. Lovely balcony too and great view of the stalks

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

very quiet, beautyfully decorated, clean, very friendly staff, very good food, marvellous terrace on the roof, good value for money

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I had purposefully wanted to stay south of the Medina near the Melah and was aware that Alegria would be a 5-10 minute walk to the place Jemaa el Fna but this shouldnt put anybody off, its a very easy uncomplicated walk.
Alegria has been beautifully and tastefully restored by Marie Christina. I stayed 2 nights at the beginning of my trip and 1 night at the end, so I enjoyed two different rooms and must say that both were a very good size, extremely comfortable and offered large bathrooms with a good water supply.

Mohamad was extremely helpful and escorted me through the labarynth of the Kasbah to Kasbah La Rotonda an Italian/Moroccan restaurant, so well hidden that a guide is essential

They arranged my pickup and drop off to the airport for euro 20 which was very efficiently done.

Definately would return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

My friends and i shared a suite for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. Beautiful room, fab rooftop terrace where we enjoyed breakfast every morning, excellent service the staff couldn't do enough for us. Marie Christine gave us a tour of the area when we first arrived and helped us get the most out of each day we spent in Marrakech with great restaurant recommendations. She even helped us haggle at the souks! We also ate a delicious meal on the first night and enjoyed many an appertif! The location is also great as not in the hussle and bussle of the main square but easy walking distance. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this stylish riad.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I must confess I'm a traveller who usually prefers the anonymity of a large hotel to the sometimes stifling atmosphere of smaller establishments. However, Riad Alegria is an exception to the rule. Our hosts went out of their way to ensure that we were well looked after at every juncture. Marie Christine even provided me with a brief guided tour upon arrival so as to ensure I had my bearings, and she made a huge effort to make us feel welcome despite the language barrier. In fact the entire staff went above and beyond the hospitality and service that was required of them, which ensured that we had a very enjoyable stay.

The accommodation itself was finished to a very high standard with very comfortable beds, large flat screen TVs and very efficient (and quiet) air conditioning. My only reservation was that as a sunlight-starved Brit the rooms are very dark. That said I’m sure that’s a blessing in the hotter summer months.

The breakfasts and food in general at the accommodation were also fantastic. Not least because every member of the team went out of their way to ensure that my somewhat irritating diabetic dietary requirements were catered for without complaint, (something which a lot of vastly more expensive hotels in which I have stayed have been unable to accommodate without a lots of grumbling!)

I would not hesitate to recommend the Riad. Although perhaps not for young female single travellers, as the dimly lit alley way leading to the Riad can seem a little menacing at nights, but I think that's a feature of most inner city Riads in Marrakech. Thanks for the suberb hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alegria

Address: 61 Derb Touareg, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alegria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alegria with pure offers modern comfort at the heart of a neighborhood is buzzing with activity. 5 junior suites with elegant private bathroom, Each air-conditioned, flat screen television, king size bed, Decoration. Steam bath and massage for relaxation Swimming pool / sun terrace facing the Badii Palace storks and legendary for idleness A friendly welcome, A smiling staff and your listening Very easy access, next to the Palais Badii and place of tinsmiths 5 minutes from Jemaa el Fna. Parking nearby. Ideal location to visit the Medina on foot, Eating, and plunge into the atmosphere of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alegria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.