We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Massai to your Saves list
Riad Dar Massai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I would 100% recommend this riad to anyone looking for a relaxing, friendly, calming, quiet place to stay amongst the madness of the Medina. We stayed for 5 nights and were blown away by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
The dinner on the first night was one of the best meals we had during our time in Morocco.
The breakfast was delicious and varied every day.
Our room was cleaned daily to a very high standard.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
87
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, very confortable, nice people working in, very good breakfast, the treat excellent.
The situation is perfect, 5 min walk yo the main place.
But i repeat. The personal treat has been excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Our time at Dar Massai was absolutely perfect. The staff went above and beyond to be accommodating - from serving us breakfast whenever we requested, to arranging a driver for a day trip - they really did a fantastic job and were so kind. We also had a delicious dinner there on the first night. The Riad is charming and very quiet (and clean), yet a perfect central location just 5 minutes walking from the tombs. Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This riad is an oasis of calm and is a really beautiful building. The staff were so welcoming and kind, especially Youssef who gave us a map and pointed us in the right direction re places to visit. This riad is very central, being only a 10 minute walk from Jemaa el Fna and the souks. On arrival we were welcomed with mint tea and homemade biscuits. Our room was very nice and clean with a large bathroom. The roof terrace was a great space where we had breakfast every morning. The breakfast served here was delicious with fresh orange juice, pancakes, pastries and bread rolls. One of the best breakfasts we've had. We would recommend this riad to everyone. The only criticism we have is that there was a lack of labelled toiletries in the shower. Overall, this riad is exceptional.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Asian room which is a junior suite but is a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Just returned on 23 june after 5 days in marrakech on a Hen (bridal) party where we stayed at Dar Massai. Overall the riad was very nice with friendly and efficient staff including Yousseff who was exceptional. On our first night our flight was delayed and despite our late arrival, everyone was very friendly (including the patient taxi driver that the riad had organised). The riad is close to the main square Jamaa al fna (make sure you ask Yousseff to show you the easiest way to the market in the square) and the tombs but it meant having to walk through an alley (3-5 minute walk), not a problem during the day but it would be best to be accompanied at night (which we were thanks to Yousseff). The breakfasts include freshly cooked pancakes with fresh fruit and juice. And very tasty cakes!! There is a beautiful area on the roof terrace where you can sunbathe and request special candlelit/ celebratory dinners. The small plunge pool was great to help cool off after an afternoon sunbathing on the roof terrace or shopping in the market.
The lovely team, the proximity to the main square and the calm vibe are the highlights and I would recommend this riad as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Would not recommend this hotel for families with children as the atmosphere is one of silence and serenity. Yes, the property is beautiful and well designed and very calm ( apart from the Mosque beside them) but stay there with children...at your peril.

The Moroccan staff are very friendly but the French lady who owns the property asked us to pay in cash due to the credit card machines being blown up during a storm. We didn't want to withdraw cash and suggested paypal or calling the credit card company. She got very angry with us and suggested we had overspent? or were overdrawn? ( very personal stuff!). I had a very embarrassing full blown argument in French and English - asking her why she was so aggressive with us! Eventually, it was all sorted by paying at anther Riad down the street but a Moroccan Manager - but the lady owner was absolutely fuming with me!!

There was also a mix-up with the booking on Bookin.com - so when we arrived they did not expect our children. In the end, one slept in an extra bed and one slept with us but they definitely charged us for the mistake ( they charged us for the extra bed and FULL adult price for the children's breakfast for two girls aged 9 & 10!!), I did not bother to question as we were already in trouble over her credit card machine problems AND the booking mistake and was exhausted from the fight!

Our experience was bad, but if things run smoothly, I'm sure it would be good for a quiet couple.
Finally, don't sleep at the top of the house - its just beside the loudspeaker for Mosque.

Room Tip: Finally, don't sleep at the top of the house - its just beside the loudspeaker for Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Everything was great! Charming Riad! Youssef was really helpful and pleasing. We will repeat again when we go to Marrakech next time.

Riad location was really near the main Square and you can go by feet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Massai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.