We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad with wonderful staff and brilliant service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Massai to your Saves list
Riad Dar Massai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
dublin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad with wonderful staff and brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This riad is an oasis of calm and is a really beautiful building. The staff were so welcoming and kind, especially Youssef who gave us a map and pointed us in the right direction re places to visit. This riad is very central, being only a 10 minute walk from Jemaa el Fna and the souks. On arrival we were welcomed with mint tea and homemade biscuits. Our room was very nice and clean with a large bathroom. The roof terrace was a great space where we had breakfast every morning. The breakfast served here was delicious with fresh orange juice, pancakes, pastries and bread rolls. One of the best breakfasts we've had. We would recommend this riad to everyone. The only criticism we have is that there was a lack of labelled toiletries in the shower. Overall, this riad is exceptional.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Asian room which is a junior suite but is a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
88
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Just returned on 23 june after 5 days in marrakech on a Hen (bridal) party where we stayed at Dar Massai. Overall the riad was very nice with friendly and efficient staff including Yousseff who was exceptional. On our first night our flight was delayed and despite our late arrival, everyone was very friendly (including the patient taxi driver that the riad had organised). The riad is close to the main square Jamaa al fna (make sure you ask Yousseff to show you the easiest way to the market in the square) and the tombs but it meant having to walk through an alley (3-5 minute walk), not a problem during the day but it would be best to be accompanied at night (which we were thanks to Yousseff). The breakfasts include freshly cooked pancakes with fresh fruit and juice. And very tasty cakes!! There is a beautiful area on the roof terrace where you can sunbathe and request special candlelit/ celebratory dinners. The small plunge pool was great to help cool off after an afternoon sunbathing on the roof terrace or shopping in the market.
The lovely team, the proximity to the main square and the calm vibe are the highlights and I would recommend this riad as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Would not recommend this hotel for families with children as the atmosphere is one of silence and serenity. Yes, the property is beautiful and well designed and very calm ( apart from the Mosque beside them) but stay there with children...at your peril.

The Moroccan staff are very friendly but the French lady who owns the property asked us to pay in cash due to the credit card machines being blown up during a storm. We didn't want to withdraw cash and suggested paypal or calling the credit card company. She got very angry with us and suggested we had overspent? or were overdrawn? ( very personal stuff!). I had a very embarrassing full blown argument in French and English - asking her why she was so aggressive with us! Eventually, it was all sorted by paying at anther Riad down the street but a Moroccan Manager - but the lady owner was absolutely fuming with me!!

There was also a mix-up with the booking on Bookin.com - so when we arrived they did not expect our children. In the end, one slept in an extra bed and one slept with us but they definitely charged us for the mistake ( they charged us for the extra bed and FULL adult price for the children's breakfast for two girls aged 9 & 10!!), I did not bother to question as we were already in trouble over her credit card machine problems AND the booking mistake and was exhausted from the fight!

Our experience was bad, but if things run smoothly, I'm sure it would be good for a quiet couple.
Finally, don't sleep at the top of the house - its just beside the loudspeaker for Mosque.

Room Tip: Finally, don't sleep at the top of the house - its just beside the loudspeaker for Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Everything was great! Charming Riad! Youssef was really helpful and pleasing. We will repeat again when we go to Marrakech next time.

Riad location was really near the main Square and you can go by feet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I cannot thank Youssef and the rest of the Dar Massaï team enough for the amazingly wonderful stay my friends and I had there. Everyone was so friendly, communicative, helpful and accomodating. The riad itself is absolutely beautiful and quietly nestled in the middle of the kasbah (where there is also much to see and do) and within walking distance of the bustling Jemaa El Fna and the souks. We enjoyed the gorgeous interior design, lovely breakfasts, refreshing dips in the plunge pool, the hammam treatment Youssef booked for us and an incredible dinner on the rooftop terrace to the fullest. I wish we could have stayed in Marrakech longer to properly take advantage of all the riad had to offer and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

A very peaceful, non intrusive, haven. We stayed for 3 nights in the Blue room, which was kept spotless during our stay. We could have done with Tea making facilities and a mini fridge, that would be my only improvement. Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely with different pastries, pancakes, jams etc. If this is not to your liking, you can pay a bit extra for an omelette. The pool is lovely and cool, brilliant for dipping your tired feet into. All the staff are wonderful and very helpful. It's in a great location, about 10 - 15 minutes walk into the main square, or taxi's just around the corner if you want to venture out further. Yes you do hear the call to prayer in the morning but for me that was all part of the cultural experience. Book it and enjoy x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Excellent all round.

We don't usually eat our evening meals in hotels but arriving late we pre-booked a meal for the first evening. It was extremely good, as good as the expensive restaurants in Marrakech so we ate there a few times during our stay.
Yousef and all the other staff were very friendly and helpful but not intrusive.
This is a small Riad with only a few rooms and is a peaceful oasis in a the bustling kasbah

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Massai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.