We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, relaxation and very friendly, helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Massai to your Saves list
Riad Dar Massai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Peace, relaxation and very friendly, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Excellent all round.

We don't usually eat our evening meals in hotels but arriving late we pre-booked a meal for the first evening. It was extremely good, as good as the expensive restaurants in Marrakech so we ate there a few times during our stay.
Yousef and all the other staff were very friendly and helpful but not intrusive.
This is a small Riad with only a few rooms and is a peaceful oasis in a the bustling kasbah

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
88
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at this riad in February. The food, service, and room were wonderful.
Like most riads, our room faced inward but we had plenty of light. The room was cozy and had an en suite. There was ambient noise from other guests, but it was not a concern as everyone was considerate. Further there is a small pool in the common area which was refreshing after long days getting lost in the medine.
Daily breakfast was filling and tasty. We enjoyed dinner at the riad on the night of arrival and it was surberb. After other dining missteps, I wish we had eaten at the riad on other nights.
Service was attentive. We arrived to Marakech by train and were able to arrange a driver pick-up through Youssef. Upon arrival in the Medina, we escorted us through the market to the riad. The riad itself is in a quiet dead-end alley, though you have to walk through a covered, open-air meat/veggie market. The call to prayer was loud in the mornings, but we were able to return to sleep.
We were very happy with our time at Dar Massai and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Such a beautiful Riad, relaxing plunge pool, nice terrace and fantastic staff. Youssef organised a day trip to the Atlas Mountains such a treat, the guide was wonderful. The food in the Riad was great the lemon tagine was a highlight! It was a great base for exploring Marrakech, excellent air conditioning in the rooms. After long days walking and in the souks it was like walking into a slice of heaven! I cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A.Jheeta

Walking through the main door away from the hustle & bustle of the outside, it was quiet, peaceful haven. Staff are welcoming and will go out of their way to help you. It is very clean and decorated tastefully. My daughter has severe allergies and I am vegetarian, everyone tried to accommodate our needs. Yousef (the manager) had given good advice at all times we had pestered him. I will go back to the Riad again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a lovely oasis of hidden charm just a stone’s throw from the Kasbah. Nothing is too small for them to help…bus tickets, restaurant bookings….Rooms are very spacious and clean....a home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Don't expect a tree lined gravel drive approach to the Riad. This is Marrakech, and it's located within the old City walls where buildings sit cheek by jowl and accessed by tiny and confusing passages and alleys and a myriad of tiny shops selling everything you could imagine and then some !!

The unassuming front door leads through to a completely unexpected Oasis of calm and tranquility with lovely comfortable rooms around a central courtyard to die for, and a small swimming pool in which to relax and unwind.

Nothing is too much trouble for Youssef and his wife. The cook made us the most fabulous cous-cous, which we ate (accompanied by a bottle or two of local chilled wine) on the rooftop terrace.

With exception of occasional calls to prayer from the local Mosque ( hard to avoid anywhere in the City) you wouldn't know that you were in the middle of the hustle and bustle around you.

Would I stay here again?
In an instant!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had a very wonderful experience at Riad Dar massai , here we met the most hospitable people, Youssef,Katija , Asma, & Annick who never fail to greet n surprise their guest. The feeling I Had at Riad Dar massai wasn't only hospitable, when you are there , you feel like you are living in tranquility , away from the hustle of the Marrakech.

Breakfast was fantastic, and we enjoyed the Berber Whiskey or mint Tea prepared by the ladies in the kitchen . Usually after a long walk in the old city of Marrakech we looked forward to going back to the Riad for the tea.

The only downside of the room is the lightings in the room, we would suggest having a small table light on the writing table.

Dinner was fantastic , each time the tarjine was served we already finished eating up the bread.

I like the walk from the main road near the Saadien tombs to the Riad. You could see the poultry, fish n vegetable market. It opens up my eyes as I come from the city.

I brought back very fond memories of Marrakech and I can't thank you enough the people who made Riad Dar massai a wonderful place for my dream holiday. Till we meet again. A bientot

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Massai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.