We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Massai to your Saves list
Riad Dar Massai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at Riad Dar Massai with by boyfriend for 4 nights, and we received nothing but perfect service the whole time we were there. The riad is beautifully and tastefully decorated, comfortable and peaceful. But the best thing about it is the staff and the amazing service they provide. Breakfast is any time from 8.30am. We are late risers and were delighted to find that we could have breakfast even at midday! There is always someone there to help if you need something, but the staff also remain discreet so you can enjoy the riad and it retains a sense of privacy.

I would definitely stay here again the next time I visit Marrakech!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Junior Suite, the only room on the top floor. This is the best if you want a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darmassai, Manager at Riad Dar Massai, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Google Translation
Vacances à Marrakech. Il est vrai que ces quatre jours vous ont permis de vivre au rythme du pays et se sentir comme chez vous à Marrakech .
Peut-être vous vous laissez à nouveau transporter par la magie de la ville rouge pour la prochaine escapade ... pour savoir, chère Madame Emigems, chaque visite à Marrakech est une expérience unique.
Bien à vous;
YOUSSEF AIT OUMADA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    20
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
95
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatteo a Mare, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

After a two week tour of Morrocco and staying in various riads, Dar Massai was for me the most beautiful and stylish, a really peaceful haven.
It's position in the Kasbah is a bonus as I found it a less frenetic area, in fact as soon as you enter, walking from the Jemaa El Fna, there is a real sense of calm. It is also an interesting residential area, the locals gather to gossip in the newly done up square by the mosque.
There are good restaurants nearby and the Kosybar is not far if you want a cocktail on the stunning terrace.
Best of all though were the staff, Annaick the talented designer and owner and Youssef the manager were so warm and welcoming, they and the two ladies really looked after us.
I would love to return there and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darmassai, Responsable commercial at Riad Dar Massai, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Daniella Rigby ,

Thank you for taking the time to describe with such precision and enthusiasm your stay at Riad DAR MASSAI .
We encourage our guests to share their views on Trip Advisor because as you know, this site is today the undisputed benchmark Voyageur.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your .

Kind regards ,
YOUSSEF Ait OUMADA .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My cousin and I have just spent a week at the Riad Dar Massai and cant praise Annaick and the staff enough, especially the chef who made us some excellent meals. The Riad is an oasis of calm away from the madness which is Marrakech. I would definitely recommend the Riad to visitors wanting a more authentic experience of Marrakech. Many thanks to Annaick for making us feel so welcome.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darmassai, Manager at Riad Dar Massai, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Alson ,
All team and I would like to thank you for your lovely message to Annaick ,
It is true that these seven days allowed you to live to the rhythm of the country and feel, the pulse of the city.
Maybe you leave you again transported by the magic of the red city for next getaway .... for know, every visit to Marrakesh is a unique experience.
Kin d regards from the red city ,
YOUSSEF AIT OUMADA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trearddur Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Riad Dar Massai and cannot praise Annaick and all the staff enough. After the hustle and bustle of Marrakech the riad is a calm, quiet, peaceful oasis (had to remind myself to speak quietly). Everyone is so helpful and friendly that I felt I was leaving true friends when I left. The breakfasts are excellent, in fact the food is so good we ate in almost every night. I highly recommend this Riad.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darmassai, Manager at Riad Dar Massai, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Debbie ,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to leave a comment regarding your stay in our establishment RIAD DAR MASSAI .We were delighted to welcome you and we do our best to ensure that all our customers spend the most pleasant stay.
Kind regards from the red city ,
YOUSSEF AIT OUMADA .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

It felt like we were staying with friends, we had an amazing time in Marrakesh..
Only three nights but pack as much in as you can, and make sure to visit a Ham man, Kosybar and if you are up for a laugh eat in Hells Kitchen, we did and no after affects. Even a petite taxi ride is a total blast, take a horse and carriage to see the sights, the drivers are real characters!
Our trip to the Atlas Mountains on our only wet day, not bad for February, was like a voyage of discovery as our guide led us higher and higher. Will be back.. with a little bit more French..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darmassai, Manager at Riad Dar Massai, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Customers,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your stay at our RIAD DARR MASSAI .
We are delighted to learn that your stay has given you satisfaction, and hope to welcome you during your next visit in the red city ,
Kind regards ,
YOUSSEF AIT OUMADA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Beautiful and clean Riad, lovely roof top terrace, pool and the food is fantastic. The owner and staff are so friendly and helpful, and make you feel really at home. There are 5 rooms so you can go in a large group and use the whole riad if you want. Its a 10 minute walk from the main square, near the saadian tombs, makes it feel a bit more authentic not being in a big hotel. There is a mosque next door and every morning the call to prayer is very loud, we didn't mind it but perhaps ask for the room on the opposite side of the riad. there are lots of taxis nearby. I would recommend it to people who love the hustle and bustle of everyday life in the medina, not for those who just want to be in a swanky hotel and not have to mingle with the locals!
Wonderful riad, i will return soon.

Room Tip: I found the mattresses a bit hard, but that was really the only downside. ask for the room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

From the moment we booked online, Dar Massai was a good experience.
Youseff was in contact quickly by email, and we had organised our airport transfer and a meal in the Riad for our first night.
Everything went smoothly on arrival and we were picked up at the airport as promised and driven into the hustle and bustle of the streets of the Kasbah where Youseff met us at the car and took our bags and led us the short distance to the Riad.
The Riad was an oasis of calm and we were treated to tea and snacks on arrival, and a helpful run through a map by Youseff, showing us all the things we were likely to want to visit and the best places / routes etc.
Our room was on the ground floor and I believe it is the smallest one, but still bigger than some I've stayed in. There is a lovely roof terrace for breakfast and great views, or to just chill and escape the hectic street life.
Our meal at the Riad was great, and the service by the rest of the staff really superb. Youseff recommended a great venue; the 'Dar Es Salam' for our new year dinner etc, and it's definitely worth a visit even just to marvel at the decorative rooms.
Whilst this Riad might look like it's tucked into a far corner of the Medina, I can assure you it is probably the best area to be based, and a short distance from most of the main sights.
We would definitely recommend to friends and family, and a huge thank you to Youseff and the team for a relaxing and memorable visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Massai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.