We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Years Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Massai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar Massai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great New Years Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

From the moment we booked online, Dar Massai was a good experience.
Youseff was in contact quickly by email, and we had organised our airport transfer and a meal in the Riad for our first night.
Everything went smoothly on arrival and we were picked up at the airport as promised and driven into the hustle and bustle of the streets of the Kasbah where Youseff met us at the car and took our bags and led us the short distance to the Riad.
The Riad was an oasis of calm and we were treated to tea and snacks on arrival, and a helpful run through a map by Youseff, showing us all the things we were likely to want to visit and the best places / routes etc.
Our room was on the ground floor and I believe it is the smallest one, but still bigger than some I've stayed in. There is a lovely roof terrace for breakfast and great views, or to just chill and escape the hectic street life.
Our meal at the Riad was great, and the service by the rest of the staff really superb. Youseff recommended a great venue; the 'Dar Es Salam' for our new year dinner etc, and it's definitely worth a visit even just to marvel at the decorative rooms.
Whilst this Riad might look like it's tucked into a far corner of the Medina, I can assure you it is probably the best area to be based, and a short distance from most of the main sights.
We would definitely recommend to friends and family, and a huge thank you to Youseff and the team for a relaxing and memorable visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
83
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at this place for 3 nights. This Riad is an absolute gem in the middle of buzzy Marrakech. Everything about this place is great. The staff are very attentive, kind and friendly. There is no set time for breakfast, you can get it whenever you want - which was a plus for us as we just wanted to relax and sleep as long as we wanted. Breakfast is VERY tasty and having it on the roof terrace is a bliss!!!! Dont be put of by the comments of 5.30 call for prayer - yes it is very loud, but it only last for about 30 seconds. We heard it the first night, then we heard the start of it the second night and slept through it completely on the third night.
I would highly recommend having dinner at this place at least once - it is absolutely outstanding. Riad has in-house cook, who did an absolutely amazing job - the food was very very tasty!!!
I cant express highly enough how good this place is, you have to go and experience it for yourself!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Blue' room, which was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Beatifully clean and relaxed with very helpful staff and yummy breakfasts shared with family of cute sparrows on the roof terrace. You have to go through a busy souk to get there: you will be pushed against chicken carcasses and piles of vegetables while motorbikes zoom through the alleys - not for the faint-hearted - but then that's Marrakech for you. Also the Call to Prayer from the next-door mosque at 5.30am is something that no one could sleep through. Again, that's Marrakech. Go to Essaouira if you want a more tranquil intro to Morocco!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Myself and four of my girlfriends stayed at the Riad dar massai for four nights at the beginning of October for a hen weekend age 23-30! We arranged transport via the hotel to collect us from the airport for a small fee and from the moment we arrived the service was 5*!! We arrived late Wednesday night so therefore arranged to have dinner at the Riad, this was ready when we arrived and was delicious and very reasonable. I cannot recommend this hotel enough! Youssef aka dad was absolutely amazing! He arranged all our transport during our stay via our trusted driver Bob Marley!! To say Youssef looked after us is an understatement. He even collected us with bob at the early hours from pascha and 555 nightclub to ensure we where safe. He made all our restaurant bookings and arranged our tour guide to show us round the Souks.

He was an absolute star as where all the staff! Nothing was too much! Words cannot express our gratitude and how highly we recommend this hotel! looking forward to our next stay!

We all had a brilliant stay in Marrakesh and would recommend to anyone wanting to experience something different. I would recommend you have an idea of what restaurants you wish to eat in and have plans for your stay. Spa recommended by Youssef was a memorable experience for us 5 ladies, lots of fun and very cheap. We spent a day at Nikki Beach which was very nice but very expensive!

Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay for our first trip to Marrakech. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed whole heartedly . Youssef and his staff were on hand to help with all our questions, nothing was too much trouble. If you are looking for an oasis to return to after a day out in the hustle and bustle of the souks this is the place. Highly recommend a trip to Atlas Mountains and a traditional hammam bath - both organised by Youssef for us. Food is great, please eat dinner here at least once.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Dar Massai Riad for 5 nights in early October.
From the welcome mint tea on the first day to Yousseff waving us goodbye as we got into the airport transfer taxi our stay was perfect, easy and very welcoming.
The riad itself is peaceful, clean and restocked frequently with fresh flowers. The breakfasts are a daily surprise of fresh fruits and Moroccan pancakes and pastries.
The rooms are comfortable, private and individually decorated.
There is also the option of having dinner at the riad, cooked with fresh produce and v generous on servings!

The location (although in rather close earshot to the 6am call to prayer) is perfect for wandering into the heart of the old city as well as being in the less busy pedestrian allies, and a pebble's throw from a lovely hammam spa.

We could not fault our stay and recommend the Dar Massai Riad highly.

Many thanks to Youseff and Annaick

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Youssef, Annick and all the staff at Riad Dar Massai were brilliant from start to finish. Nothing was too much to ask, they were so welcoming and we felt completely at home. The Riad itself is tucked away just off one of the bustling areas of the Medina, and once inside it was so peaceful that it was hard to believe we were so close to the hustle and bustle.
The food at the Riad was delicious and we'd highly reccommend staying in for a home cooked meal at least one of the evenings. For us this was the perfect 5 day getaway and we came back feeling wonderfully relaxed. We would highly reccommend this Riad for Friends, adult families or couples.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Massai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.