We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and tranquil Riad in the heart of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Massai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar Massai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and tranquil Riad in the heart of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay for our first trip to Marrakech. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed whole heartedly . Youssef and his staff were on hand to help with all our questions, nothing was too much trouble. If you are looking for an oasis to return to after a day out in the hustle and bustle of the souks this is the place. Highly recommend a trip to Atlas Mountains and a traditional hammam bath - both organised by Youssef for us. Food is great, please eat dinner here at least once.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
81
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Dar Massai Riad for 5 nights in early October.
From the welcome mint tea on the first day to Yousseff waving us goodbye as we got into the airport transfer taxi our stay was perfect, easy and very welcoming.
The riad itself is peaceful, clean and restocked frequently with fresh flowers. The breakfasts are a daily surprise of fresh fruits and Moroccan pancakes and pastries.
The rooms are comfortable, private and individually decorated.
There is also the option of having dinner at the riad, cooked with fresh produce and v generous on servings!

The location (although in rather close earshot to the 6am call to prayer) is perfect for wandering into the heart of the old city as well as being in the less busy pedestrian allies, and a pebble's throw from a lovely hammam spa.

We could not fault our stay and recommend the Dar Massai Riad highly.

Many thanks to Youseff and Annaick

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Youssef, Annick and all the staff at Riad Dar Massai were brilliant from start to finish. Nothing was too much to ask, they were so welcoming and we felt completely at home. The Riad itself is tucked away just off one of the bustling areas of the Medina, and once inside it was so peaceful that it was hard to believe we were so close to the hustle and bustle.
The food at the Riad was delicious and we'd highly reccommend staying in for a home cooked meal at least one of the evenings. For us this was the perfect 5 day getaway and we came back feeling wonderfully relaxed. We would highly reccommend this Riad for Friends, adult families or couples.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Riad dar massai for four nights at the beginning of October. There where five of us all girls on a he. Weekend! We arranged transport via the hotel to collect us from the airport and from the moment we arrived the service was 5*!! I cannot recommend this hotel enough! Youssef aka dad was absolutely amazing! He arranged all our transport during our stay via our trusted driver Bob Marley!! To say Youssef looked after us is an understatement. He even collected us with bob at the early hours from pascha and 555 nightclub to ensure we where safe. He was an absolute star as where all the staff! Nothing was too much! Words cannot express our gratitude and how highly we recommend this hotel! 1000 out of a 100 terrific!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Riad Dar Massai is a haven of tranquility. The riad is exactly as in the photographs. First impression on stepping in was wow! The breakfasts were huge and nothing was too much trouble for Youssef, Kadisha & Nesbit. We arrived at almost 2am and we were greeted by mint tea & pastries.

The riad was less than 10,minutes walk to the Djemaa El-Fina square. We are definitely looking forward to our next stay here.

Thank you Youssef, Kadisha & Nesbit.

Loraine & Hakeem

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Very relaxing and paceful. It's like an oasis in the middle of the crowded Medina. Quality service is really good. The staff is kindly and makes you feel at home. It's located about 10 minutes walk from the Djemaa El-Fna square. I really reccomend it. I'll be back without doubts. Thanks a lot Youssef and all the staff for your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Recently spent a short break here with friends and found it very relaxing. The owner and staff were welcoming and took time to explain walking routes, attractions and local restaurants to us. Breakfast was fantastic, huge, and varied daily.
This riad has a great location within walking distance of the main square and other attractions in the medina. It is a couple of minutes walk from the Saadian tombs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Massai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.