We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Massai to your Saves list
Riad Dar Massai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
San Luis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our family, of 4 adults, stayed at Dar Massai in May and everything exceeded our expectations. Our rooms were spacious, attractive and comfortable. The staff was always friendly, warm and helpful. The pool area and other shared spaces ensured that we did not have to stay in our rooms but could meet other guests and enjoy the outdoors. The breakfasts and dinner that we had in the hotel were delicious. Dar Massai is in a very good location as it is very quiet yet within easy walking distance to the major sites. I have to add that Youssef, the manager, helped us all along the way. He was very prompt at responding to all our email inquiries, arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport in Casablanca and met us at the taxi personally to help us carry our luggage to the riad. He also helped us plan our stay in Marrakech and made extra phone calls to confirm other reservations. When it happened that my mom accidently left her watch in the safe, he did everything necessary to ship it to her back in the US. I would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
88
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We Loved staying in RIAD MASSAI !!
The apartment is so beautiful and comfortable, with every luxury you could ever want!
The place is very clean, the bed is very comfortable, and swimming pool is amazing ! The terrace is beautiful. And the location is fantastic !
It was an absolute treat to stay in this space.
RIAD MASSAI is also situated in a very convenient location: in 10 minutes walk you can reach The Jafna Square. Also the taxi can go very near to Riad Massai.
I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone and everyone goes to Marrakesh
Did I mention how great the people from Riad Mssai are? They were very easy to communicate with and helpful and friendly !

Room Tip: ask to dar massai to pick up you at the airport, it's easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hi everibody,
i stayed in Ryad Dar Massai in December and i had amazing days there. The ambience is very very nice, i loved the maroccan style, and alway is really clean. The staff is very nice too, so kind and so passionate to advice and help their customers. My experience was so good. I really advice you to try it!

Room Tip: I slept in the asiatic room, really nice, but also the others where stayd my friends were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olching, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was a great stay at the Riad Dar Massai, we were warmly welcomed at the beginning. The breakfast in the morning was always very rich and tasty, the meals they prepared for us in the evening were excellent and low priiced. The rooms, the interior and especially the roof terrace were great. The personell was always very helpful, very friendly and very obliging. All in all we had an perfect stay in this Riad! Thank you very much!

Room Tip: The rooms are all very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed in this lovely Riad for only two nights (now I wish they were two months).
This place is wonderful, quiet in the middle of the Marrakech crazy life Medina, clean in the middle of the market dirt and a perfect place for visiting every Marrakech attraction within walking distance.
The place is a litlle difficult to find by yourself because there are no routes indicated in Tom Tom or Navigon, but you can always call Yousef and he'll pick you up from the mosque nearby.
The staff was wonderful and friendly and the owner, Annaïck, was attentive, careful and welcoming.
The food, oh my god what a breakfast!
I WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK TO DAR MASSAI (and this is not just a promise to myself).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Absolutely loved Riad Dar Massai. Having had a long coach journey from Essaouira and a rather mad entry into the Kasbah with everyone wanting to help us find our way, Riad Dar Massai was a welcome oasis from the madness of Marrakech.

From the moment I booked, the manager of the Riad sent welcoming emails to offer us dinner and a ride back to the airport. Dinner was a delicious 3 courses with chicken tagine one night and cous cous the next. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room (may depend on where you purchase) and is a very welcome mix of fruit salad, cake and pancakes with the traditional mint tea should you wish.

Our room (Bleue) was beautifully decorated with traditional Moroccan wooden features and felt extremely peaceful and relaxing. Riad Dar Massai is a very secure place to stay and it certainly feels that way when you can be tucked up in front of the open fire or relaxing on the roof terrace :)

The Kasbah is a very exciting place to be full of stalls selling everything from fruit and veg, meat to tagines and paintings. It's an ideal location to reach some of the nearer sights by foot and with a windy walk through the souks, Riad Dar Massai is walking distance from the main square with all the orange juice stalls, snake charmers, street performers and food.

A lovely stay for two friends and would happily return for some peace!

Room Tip: The Bleue room has twin beds for those of you who need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaze Jahangir
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at Dar Massai with my wife and two children and found it to be a charming little Riad with extremely helpful staff that make your trip as comfortable as possible. The food servedt the Riad was wonderful - we used to look forward to having breakfast on the sunny roof every day. The staff were so friendly and helpful - helping us even with our shopping and tour planning. My chidlren enjoyed the homely feel of the Riad, often making their own way to the TV room. The staff were very nice and caring towards the children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Massai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.