We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Massai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar Massai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Olching, Germany
1 review
“Excellent Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was a great stay at the Riad Dar Massai, we were warmly welcomed at the beginning. The breakfast in the morning was always very rich and tasty, the meals they prepared for us in the evening were excellent and low priiced. The rooms, the interior and especially the roof terrace were great. The personell was always very helpful, very friendly and very obliging. All in all we had an perfect stay in this Riad! Thank you very much!

Room Tip: The rooms are all very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
81
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed in this lovely Riad for only two nights (now I wish they were two months).
This place is wonderful, quiet in the middle of the Marrakech crazy life Medina, clean in the middle of the market dirt and a perfect place for visiting every Marrakech attraction within walking distance.
The place is a litlle difficult to find by yourself because there are no routes indicated in Tom Tom or Navigon, but you can always call Yousef and he'll pick you up from the mosque nearby.
The staff was wonderful and friendly and the owner, Annaïck, was attentive, careful and welcoming.
The food, oh my god what a breakfast!
I WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK TO DAR MASSAI (and this is not just a promise to myself).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Absolutely loved Riad Dar Massai. Having had a long coach journey from Essaouira and a rather mad entry into the Kasbah with everyone wanting to help us find our way, Riad Dar Massai was a welcome oasis from the madness of Marrakech.

From the moment I booked, the manager of the Riad sent welcoming emails to offer us dinner and a ride back to the airport. Dinner was a delicious 3 courses with chicken tagine one night and cous cous the next. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room (may depend on where you purchase) and is a very welcome mix of fruit salad, cake and pancakes with the traditional mint tea should you wish.

Our room (Bleue) was beautifully decorated with traditional Moroccan wooden features and felt extremely peaceful and relaxing. Riad Dar Massai is a very secure place to stay and it certainly feels that way when you can be tucked up in front of the open fire or relaxing on the roof terrace :)

The Kasbah is a very exciting place to be full of stalls selling everything from fruit and veg, meat to tagines and paintings. It's an ideal location to reach some of the nearer sights by foot and with a windy walk through the souks, Riad Dar Massai is walking distance from the main square with all the orange juice stalls, snake charmers, street performers and food.

A lovely stay for two friends and would happily return for some peace!

Room Tip: The Bleue room has twin beds for those of you who need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaze Jahangir
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at Dar Massai with my wife and two children and found it to be a charming little Riad with extremely helpful staff that make your trip as comfortable as possible. The food servedt the Riad was wonderful - we used to look forward to having breakfast on the sunny roof every day. The staff were so friendly and helpful - helping us even with our shopping and tour planning. My chidlren enjoyed the homely feel of the Riad, often making their own way to the TV room. The staff were very nice and caring towards the children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Beautifully restored old Arab house in the middle of the medina at the end of an one way alley, to get there you even pass a vaulted pathway. It’s very cozy especially pleasant when you have spent some time in the teeming souqs and you are just so loaded with all the impressions, flavors and the noise of the street then you enter the small door and you leave everything behind you and enter this calm and peaceful place and just relax. The souqs are just a 15 min walk. We were especially satisfied with the staff, Youssef the manager was very kind and helpful planning with us small daytrips from Marrakesh. For two of our trips he told us where to catch the bus and we saved quite some money by not taking the cap. As we were running out of time and my wife still wanted to get some stuff but we wouldn’t have made it, I asked Mehdi, the manager’s younger brother to get it for us and he did so. He got us a good deal though, certainly a better one than we would have fetched. Definitely don’t miss to have dinner there, which is homecooked just for you in this small kitchen! The Moroccan breakfast is also great we love it. As we love to come to Morocco. It’s just such a marvelous place, the teeming souqs, the spices, the food, the Hamams and the people are great. And even in winter time, even though it is raining sometimes, we could almost every day have our breakfast on the terrace enjoying the bright sun and the storks passing by. We highly recommend this riad, we had a very bright week there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We would highly recommend a stay at Riad Dar Massai; it’s a great place to stay.
This was our first visit to Marrakesh and we had an amazing time.
Dar Massai is perfectly located and is only a short drive from the airport.
We stayed 4 nights at the Riad Dar Massai, before staying at another Riad the Maison Mk for the last 3 nights.
They arranged a tax from airport for 50dirham and the driver called the Riad for Youssef's brother came to meet us and take us to Dar Massai. There is 2 minute walk through some busy back streets which can be a bit daunting, but this adds to the excitement. Took about 10 minutes from the airport
This is a tastefully restored Riad. The location is good Dar Massai is about 1 minutes’ walk to the local market and 20 minutes to the souks. Dar Massai is in a very busy area. Ask for a map from the Riad to make sure you don't get lost trying to find the Riad in the maze that is the medina.
This Riad certainly ensures you chill out and enjoy your stay from the moment you arrive. They gave us a tour of the hotel as soon as we had drunk out welcoming mint tea. You’re made to feel very welcome from the moment you walk in the door.
It was really peaceful, (apart from prayers of course) quiet and nicely decorated with influences from Asia and Africa throughout
We stayed in the ground floor room which was very beautiful. This room has a window overlooking the courtyard
The beds and bed linen are great and a walk in shower room
Our room was cleaned every morning
Service at the Riad is great. The staff were exceptional, helpful and attentive. They always had a smile on their face and were always willing to help and chat to us and they speak great English
The food is very good available by the pool. The meals are home cooked Moroccan
The breakfasts were very good, we had ours served by the pool each morning. With pastries and pancakes.
Youssef and his brother were great in organising our stay and helped us arrange a trip to the Atlas Mountains and a local Belly Dancing Restaurant. They both gave us all the tips and places to go

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

From the start the staff were friendly and helpful in email communications. When we arrived the welcome was warm. This is a nice size riad, it's not too big and retains a more personal feel and service because of that.

The decor is not what I expected (thought it would be Moroccan style), it's tastefully done but with influences from Asia and Africa throughout. The room we had (oriental) was a decent size and had plenty of natural light.

Breakfast was good and fresh. The location was good, close enough to the main square but in a peaceful location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#63 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Massai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.