We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place - kind staff - refreshing sunshine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Riad Dar Massai to your Saves list
Riad Dar Massai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Beautiful place - kind staff - refreshing sunshine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Beautifully restored old Arab house in the middle of the medina at the end of an one way alley, to get there you even pass a vaulted pathway. It’s very cozy especially pleasant when you have spent some time in the teeming souqs and you are just so loaded with all the impressions, flavors and the noise of the street then you enter the small door and you leave everything behind you and enter this calm and peaceful place and just relax. The souqs are just a 15 min walk. We were especially satisfied with the staff, Youssef the manager was very kind and helpful planning with us small daytrips from Marrakesh. For two of our trips he told us where to catch the bus and we saved quite some money by not taking the cap. As we were running out of time and my wife still wanted to get some stuff but we wouldn’t have made it, I asked Mehdi, the manager’s younger brother to get it for us and he did so. He got us a good deal though, certainly a better one than we would have fetched. Definitely don’t miss to have dinner there, which is homecooked just for you in this small kitchen! The Moroccan breakfast is also great we love it. As we love to come to Morocco. It’s just such a marvelous place, the teeming souqs, the spices, the food, the Hamams and the people are great. And even in winter time, even though it is raining sometimes, we could almost every day have our breakfast on the terrace enjoying the bright sun and the storks passing by. We highly recommend this riad, we had a very bright week there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
87
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We would highly recommend a stay at Riad Dar Massai; it’s a great place to stay.
This was our first visit to Marrakesh and we had an amazing time.
Dar Massai is perfectly located and is only a short drive from the airport.
We stayed 4 nights at the Riad Dar Massai, before staying at another Riad the Maison Mk for the last 3 nights.
They arranged a tax from airport for 50dirham and the driver called the Riad for Youssef's brother came to meet us and take us to Dar Massai. There is 2 minute walk through some busy back streets which can be a bit daunting, but this adds to the excitement. Took about 10 minutes from the airport
This is a tastefully restored Riad. The location is good Dar Massai is about 1 minutes’ walk to the local market and 20 minutes to the souks. Dar Massai is in a very busy area. Ask for a map from the Riad to make sure you don't get lost trying to find the Riad in the maze that is the medina.
This Riad certainly ensures you chill out and enjoy your stay from the moment you arrive. They gave us a tour of the hotel as soon as we had drunk out welcoming mint tea. You’re made to feel very welcome from the moment you walk in the door.
It was really peaceful, (apart from prayers of course) quiet and nicely decorated with influences from Asia and Africa throughout
We stayed in the ground floor room which was very beautiful. This room has a window overlooking the courtyard
The beds and bed linen are great and a walk in shower room
Our room was cleaned every morning
Service at the Riad is great. The staff were exceptional, helpful and attentive. They always had a smile on their face and were always willing to help and chat to us and they speak great English
The food is very good available by the pool. The meals are home cooked Moroccan
The breakfasts were very good, we had ours served by the pool each morning. With pastries and pancakes.
Youssef and his brother were great in organising our stay and helped us arrange a trip to the Atlas Mountains and a local Belly Dancing Restaurant. They both gave us all the tips and places to go

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

From the start the staff were friendly and helpful in email communications. When we arrived the welcome was warm. This is a nice size riad, it's not too big and retains a more personal feel and service because of that.

The decor is not what I expected (thought it would be Moroccan style), it's tastefully done but with influences from Asia and Africa throughout. The room we had (oriental) was a decent size and had plenty of natural light.

Breakfast was good and fresh. The location was good, close enough to the main square but in a peaceful location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lovely Riad offering a 'real Morrocan experience'! nicely devcorated and the staff are wonderful, they couldn't do enough to help from restuarant bookings to taking us shopping. The walk from the main street to the riad was an 'experience'! initially quite daunting takening the walk down the back alleys but we got used to it.
We ate in the riad on our first night which was also good. Our only critisim was the shower in the Asian room, it was quite hard to get wet in, personally I had the Blue room which was lovely but our friends had the Asian room (Iffy shower).
We would all recommend if you are looking for a riad Thank you to Youseff and his team!

Room Tip: Blue Room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

couple late 30's, stayed there for 2 nights

Arrived from the airport (10 min)
they met us on the main road in the medina so we wouldn't get lost.
hotel is very nice with a beautiful little central area well decorated with a pool to put your feet in.
We stayed on the ground floor bedroom which has ample space, very good bed and bathroom.
they are no windows on the outside so very nice and quiet (well apart from prayers of course)
Breakfast was really nice and different everyday depending on what they cooked. you can have it downstairs of on their roof terrace which is very comfy.

Easy to naViguate around the medina, but ask a map from the riad to make sure you don't get lost trying to find the hotel in the maze that is the medina.

We went around the medina in one day really, you could get a guide if required, probably the best way to make the most of the medina.
just careful with the tours the hotel offers. they are good but make sure you understand where they take you. we were offered the cascades, though we were going to ouzoud but it was the other ones. It was a good day nevertheless !

Evening we eat at the riad (very good food) and in the main square
there is also a hammam nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautifully restored Riad, the rooms, pool, food and attention to detail made this a fantastic place to stay. (Make sure you look at the restoration photo diary)

As mentioned in a previous review one of the hotel managers made us feel quite uncomfortable. He also unfortunately gave us the hard sell (he has an Argon oil business with his friend) over what was supposed to be a deliberate attempt at a stress free dinner. Otherwise all staff were extremely friendly and very helpful.

Be aware that there is a 4% charge if using a credit card.

I would stay here again and recommend this beautiful Riad.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Absolutely beautiful Riad, the decoration is really lovely and all the different areas of the Riad are very comfortable and guests are very welcome to relax! The price is really great value and we were upgraded to slightly better room, although to be honest they are all so individual and beautifully decorated in their style we would have been happy in any of them!

The location is right in the centre of the old Medina, and is very easy walking distance to the main square where all the food markets are and also the souks and other places of interest.You also get a good sense of real culture and local life! Although it is located in the heart of the town the Riad itself is very quiet and peaceful, it really is a little hidden oasis!

We booked a taxi through the hotel on arrival and were dropped off at the end of the road where were were picked up by Youssef the manager and taken to the Riad. Although could find a taxi yourself for a tiny bit cheaper, it does save the hassle especially as unfamiliar with bartering and the area on arrival in Marrakech! Youssef was very helpful and gave us some good advice throughout our stay and helped us to find out ay to the main road initially (which I would recommend to save getting lost)! He did also recommend a hammam which was around the corner and actually this spa was very well priced in comparison to others and was absolutely superb, it was a little smaller than Bain de Marrakesh which we also tried, but we found the treatments were better and the staff really take care of you so would highly recommend! Le bain de Marrakesh is good though if you want to laze around a bit as there is an outside pool area where you are welcome to relax before and after.

Also we booked a trip to waterfalls and went with another couple from the hotel, it was a great day and the taxi was very modern and spacious. We did stop mid way to visit a beautiful place in the hills with a shop but we were not expected to buy anything and we were not pressurised at all. The tour itself actually was slightly over priced as we were provided a tour guide which was fantastic but we then found out the cost of this was in addition to the tour (effectively just transport costs). However, the tour guide was very helpful and did look after us very well, but just be aware that the price of the tour alone doesn't include this and you will probably look to another €20 extra.

The rooms are all very nicely decorated each with their individual style and have air con if needed. The brakfast was lovely and the other staff are so sweet. We were provided with a lovely welcome tea and biscuits upon arrival and Youssef also helped us buy some tea locally before we left. Annaick the owner is really nice too, and made us feel very welcome at all times.

Would definitely recommend staying here for a true Moroccan experience, although if you are looking for a more relaxing lazy holiday I would suggest staying in a bigger hotel out of town. All the staff were absolutely lovely, and for a Riad in the centre I can't imagine there to be better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Massai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.