We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but some minor works being undertaken” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but some minor works being undertaken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and booked through Thomson. Unfortunately our room booking did not reach the hotel but reception staff quickly found two rooms for us which were close together - well done. Unfortunately we were woken up at 6am by continual hammering on stone and ate breakfast at 9 ish amid the same continual noise. To be fair nobody else seemed to mind but it ruined the ambiance for us. Hotel staff moved us to a different part of the hotel and we had upgraded rooms with good views. Location was very good being just a short walk to the Medina and sights. Staff all very helpful. I would visit again but check credit card bills carefully before agreeing as the bill is automatically converted to £ and a 3% surcharge added. It's only when I checked carefully and noticed I had somehow 'agreed' to this charge and by then it was too late.

Room Tip: If booking through a tour operator find out which rooms they contract for you may wish to upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    267
    133
    69
    33
See reviews for
244
446
43
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed first 2 nights and was completely dissapointing. The hotel is just beautiful, but it is a luxury hotel in which the details are very important. Some areas are being restored and there is no care to covering these areas from guests. We reserved a king bed room, and we received double beds, the tv was not working as well as the safety lock. Room was beautiful as well as the area. Walking 10 min from the old city, Medina.
I made a complaint at check out, and since we already had a second reservation 3 nights after, in our second stay we received an upgrade in our room, which was a very good thing from the hotel, but still I believe they have much to improve.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest ,

Frist of all I would like to thank for your coment regarding your stay at Sofitel Marrakech.

I am so sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations especially concerning the noise of constructions ; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I wish to receive agin you in other to make you live an exeptionnel stay .

Ahmed Benkirane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My brother, my daughter and I had waited so long to be checked into our rooms on arrival which resulted in my daughter and I being given an upgrade to a room next door to my brother's room as a gesture of apology and in celebration of my birthday!

I had a lovely birthday dinner with my daughter on our last night stay at the hotel and to my delight several of the hotel's restaurant staff came to our table in procession with lit sparkling candles, singing 'Happy Birthday' in french, english and arabic, carrying to our table a lovely dessert courtesy of the hotel. Others in the restaurant joined in the singing. After dinner, back in our room was a lovely surprise birthday cake, beautiful red roses and a lovely birthday card greeting from room service and the rest of the staff! A truly memorable birthday experience especially having had a delightful pool side lunch and swim in the afternoon in the beautiful surroundings.

I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sofitel for 4 nights in July 2014. The experience was pure luxury from the start. You never open a door yourself, there's always someone to do it for you! We were sat down with the concierge who explained everything and we were given cool towels to cool us down and mint tea. We had the biggest balcony in the world! Overlooking the medina walls with a view of the Kotoubia mosque. The pool was fantastic and the sunbeds were so comfy. The staff were so attentive and friendly. Food and drinks were expensive but you'd expect it at a hotel like this. We were there during Ramadam so the SoLounge was quiet in the evenings. Looking forward to going back!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guests,

Iam very pleased to receive your positif coments concerning your stay with us.

Our priority is to offer you the best service in terme of accomodation, restaurants etc

As you are forward to coming back, we also are looking forward to receive you again in other to make you feel a different experience.

Ahmed Benkirane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Good location, beautiful property
Small room, average quality in term of room facility
Good breakfast
Restaurant doesn't offer local many specialities, mainly western foods
Pricing is expensive

I stayed there for 3 nights as a business traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This Hotel is an impressine place. the rooms are okay, the vue is ok. but the service is just wonderful. the staff is so friendly. We stayed for 2 days and we were so glad to meet such a nice person : thank you SAMIRA for your kindness. We will come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank your coments it was a real pleasure for us to know that our team has been above your expectation .

I remain at your disposal

Ahmed Benkirane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed 10 days and it was all just perfect. The personnel were all very helpfull. The always friendly Amina at the receptiondesk was very helpfull and always smiling, nezha from palais darkum serves with a smile. We had 2 dinners at l'orangerie, all i can say is that the food was very good and personnel are very friendly. Especially mokhtar and youssef.
The doormen are always friendly and very helpfull in helping you with the luggage or if you need a taxi. The lady ( i think it was kenza) at the shop gave us good information about the products.
One time i needed a pack of sigarettes, all i had to do is ask and a few minutes later it was deliverd on a plate with matches.
I definitly would come again ( this was my second time)

Room Tip: I recommend booking a junior suite. They are spacious and very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
Monsieur ,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe qui vous a séduit par la qualité de leur accueil, Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Continuez à suivre toutes les actualités du Sofitel Marrakech en cliquant sur « j’aime » de nos pages Facebook :

Hôtel Palais Impérial:
SofitelMarrakechPalaisImperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#166 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#237 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#187 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.