We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A favourite in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went there for a drinks and desserts. The hotel had several dining options and the lighting at night made the whole place look so luxurious and enchanting.

We opted for the terrace adjoining the bar. it was busy, obviously a favourite hangout of the ex-pats in Morocco.

The service attentive and flawless, the desserts beautifully presented. They had live music and the singer was outstanding. Surely a great party place. Most impressed with the Hotel. would love to stay there if I visit again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    225
    112
    55
    29
See reviews for
211
375
34
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were invited by a friend to celebrate his fortieth birthday,we were made to feel very welcome
and were exceptionally well looked after throughout our visit by the charming AZIZA and JAMAL
nothing is too much trouble for them.They are kindness personified and could not be more helpful.
Many thanks for both can not wait to back see you.
Go to Palais DARKOUM it's a must

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked this as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday. When we arrived we were told the room wasn't ready & they would phone us when it was. 3 hours later we returned to the desk to enquire where our room was. There was paper shuffling & the promised upgrade never materialised. Never mind. We queried about our half board & where we could eat & were told which restaurant we could eat in. On checking out, the extremely rude cashier told us they had no record of us having booked half board, despite me showing him proof from Thomas Cook. Completely humiliated in front of a queue of people! No tea or coffee making facility in the room. Mini bar never restocked although they managed to charge a fortune for stuff that was never in there in the first place. If you can speak French, you're fine, otherwise you will be completely ignored. Very disappointed. Should only be a 3 star hotel, if that.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel. But we went there for lunch and pools since our riad hotel did ot have a proper pool. A pool bed including lunch was 600 dirham, which is rather expensive. Especially if you are a family of four... :-). But it turned out it was worth the money. The lunch buffet was of international quality, with lots of starters, main courses and desserts in a nice setting. The pool area was also very good with two large pools, one heated and one not heated, and a big pool area with bars and palm trees. Helpful and kind staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent a number of days here for a conference and some time with family. Benefits from being a global chain but with a big taste of Morocco. High attention to detail in decor & ensuring that you feel that you are in Morocco. Live fires around the pool at night, candles, incense etc.
Service is fair but not excellent but I did not see any better service in Morocco.
However the food is absolutely excellent. The buffet breakfast is unbelievably good with so much choice from smoothies to your recipe, pastries to rival any French patisserie, omelettes, authentic Moroccan pancake etc and a cute kids corner with mini pastries.
On site night club, pools, spa business facilities are good - break out snacks were irresistible but not healthy but who cares for a few days! Service let downs are things like slow group, check-in, understaffed at peak time for meals and running out of drinks at breaks but overall very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area as at the other side you are overlooking a small motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at sofitel before but this time was disappointed by the dirty swimming pool. It's a 5* hotel and the water was so dirty (heated pool in the back). There is no excuse as there are two outdoor pools and they can be cleaned at different times.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#138 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.