We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience & world class breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Best prices from these 11 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great ambience & world class breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent a number of days here for a conference and some time with family. Benefits from being a global chain but with a big taste of Morocco. High attention to detail in decor & ensuring that you feel that you are in Morocco. Live fires around the pool at night, candles, incense etc.
Service is fair but not excellent but I did not see any better service in Morocco.
However the food is absolutely excellent. The buffet breakfast is unbelievably good with so much choice from smoothies to your recipe, pastries to rival any French patisserie, omelettes, authentic Moroccan pancake etc and a cute kids corner with mini pastries.
On site night club, pools, spa business facilities are good - break out snacks were irresistible but not healthy but who cares for a few days! Service let downs are things like slow group, check-in, understaffed at peak time for meals and running out of drinks at breaks but overall very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area as at the other side you are overlooking a small motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    199
    104
    51
    28
See reviews for
191
333
31
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at sofitel before but this time was disappointed by the dirty swimming pool. It's a 5* hotel and the water was so dirty (heated pool in the back). There is no excuse as there are two outdoor pools and they can be cleaned at different times.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We are leaving tomorrow from a week's stay at this lovely hotel. The service is excellent, the facilities are gorgeous and the food is delicious. Our 4 year old daughter spent a few days at the Kids' Suite and was treated like a princess. They had a cooking lesson, made jewellery, went swimming and even had manicures in the spa. She absolutely loved it. Staff outside of the Kids' Suite also made a fuss of her and us and special mentions go to Karima and Amal in the kitchen, Abderahim, Rachida, Fatim Zehra and Anas the waiter in the Orangerie restaurant who's service was impeccable. There were some huge corporate groups here towards the end of the week which made the buffet breakfast and lunch a bit of an elbow battle but we were always accommodated by the right staff. We've had a fantastic break and I'm looking forward to coming back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great pool area, but poor service. The hotel is very beautiful, with several options of intertainment. The spa is fantastic! Good restaurants, good food.
Exrtremely comfortable suite, very spacious, Hermes amenities. The shower was not good at all.
Good location.
Overall is a great hotel, but the service could improve a lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel was v comfortable and had all the benefits of a first class organization. The staff was particulary friendly and courteous, everyone had a smile on their faces which made you feel welcome. Special mention of Rachida in the breakfast restaurant who came all the way to our room to bring special tea to my wife who was feeling unwell and was so gracious and friendly, Kareema in the restaurant who would bring a special glass of juice for me despite my protestations, Mohammad who would come every afternoon to enquire if we needed any thing in the room and Mehdi chi chi who would serve the omelettes with a smile and Ameena on the front desk who made us feel welcome from the first day. it was a great experience,except for one small incident on leaving when the counter person on the desk, Mehdi did not have change owed to me and i had to go ask for it a couple of times and when i advised that though it was a small amount i needed it for tips etc and he suggested that i use larger amount of coins that i already had, after keeping me waiting and feeling guilty he handed over the amount owed. I let him have a piece of my mind regarding the principle of the matter never mind the smallness of the change owed. This was not expected of a five star hotel. Apart from this I would highly recommend the hotel and the staff which was one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the far side which gives a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Do not understand English. Sat in restaurant for almost 30 minutes and no one even recognized our presence. Ordered room service and they totally screwed up order. Finally got it 1/2 way straight after 3 try's. Would not return here again. Does not act like luxury hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondorf-les-Bains, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Almost perfect and a real 5 star +++. A minor point but today important is the wifi which was very slow in the Suite and can be much better. Excellent and very kind staff at entrance and reception. Also for children the staffs are very kind and especially at the pool.
The food at the restaurant “Orangerie” was very good and the restaurant Staff (Mrs Wiam mgr, Kabir and Atika) were very helpful and gave us an excellent service during the 2 times we had dinner.

The service at the restaurant “Lounge” can be much better.
Regarding our room, it was also very nice styled and well cleaned. Also the Staff is very attending and made it very comfortable during our stay.

Last but not least, also compliments to the hotel managers Mr Benkirane and Mr Winckler who follows everything from distance for details to make it for everyone very comfortable during the stay.

The location of the Sofitel Imperial is also fantastic and close to the Medina. For me it is a real 5+ hotel.

Stayed end September/October 2013 with friends for a short business trip. For sure I will go back in 1 month.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#96 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.