We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the reviews indicated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Better than the reviews indicated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel was v comfortable and had all the benefits of a first class organization. The staff was particulary friendly and courteous, everyone had a smile on their faces which made you feel welcome. Special mention of Rachida in the breakfast restaurant who came all the way to our room to bring special tea to my wife who was feeling unwell and was so gracious and friendly, Kareema in the restaurant who would bring a special glass of juice for me despite my protestations, Mohammad who would come every afternoon to enquire if we needed any thing in the room and Mehdi chi chi who would serve the omelettes with a smile and Ameena on the front desk who made us feel welcome from the first day. it was a great experience,except for one small incident on leaving when the counter person on the desk, Mehdi did not have change owed to me and i had to go ask for it a couple of times and when i advised that though it was a small amount i needed it for tips etc and he suggested that i use larger amount of coins that i already had, after keeping me waiting and feeling guilty he handed over the amount owed. I let him have a piece of my mind regarding the principle of the matter never mind the smallness of the change owed. This was not expected of a five star hotel. Apart from this I would highly recommend the hotel and the staff which was one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the far side which gives a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    153
    84
    37
    23
See reviews for
145
262
25
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Do not understand English. Sat in restaurant for almost 30 minutes and no one even recognized our presence. Ordered room service and they totally screwed up order. Finally got it 1/2 way straight after 3 try's. Would not return here again. Does not act like luxury hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondorf-les-Bains, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Almost perfect and a real 5 star +++. A minor point but today important is the wifi which was very slow in the Suite and can be much better. Excellent and very kind staff at entrance and reception. Also for children the staffs are very kind and especially at the pool.
The food at the restaurant “Orangerie” was very good and the restaurant Staff (Mrs Wiam mgr, Kabir and Atika) were very helpful and gave us an excellent service during the 2 times we had dinner.

The service at the restaurant “Lounge” can be much better.
Regarding our room, it was also very nice styled and well cleaned. Also the Staff is very attending and made it very comfortable during our stay.

Last but not least, also compliments to the hotel managers Mr Benkirane and Mr Winckler who follows everything from distance for details to make it for everyone very comfortable during the stay.

The location of the Sofitel Imperial is also fantastic and close to the Medina. For me it is a real 5+ hotel.

Stayed end September/October 2013 with friends for a short business trip. For sure I will go back in 1 month.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel building and architecture are impressive. The staff are very helpful and courteous. The lounges and restaurant are very nice and comfortable but the food is average.The rooms are not fancy. Good mattress and sheets. Poor finishing, loud outside noises of some generators. The room smelled smoking. I don't think there is a distinct non-smoking rooms. The bathroom is comfortable but sometimes smelly. The amenities are acceptable. Poor mini bar. TV channels are limited. Closet have enough space. No iron. Free wifi but sometimes unavailable. The balcony furniture was not clean. House keeping does not always clean bathroom. I expected more!!!

Room Tip: See your room before. Beware the generators on the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

had a great day via booking a private tour guide with the hotel. he took us to several part of the montain. the best part was to experiance the way the barbers ways of living
had a great day via booking a private tour guide with the hotel. he took us to several part of the montain. the best part was to experiance the way the barbers ways of living
had a great day via booking a private tour guide with the hotel. he took us to several part of the montain. the best part was to experiance the way the barbers ways of living

Room Tip: had a great day via booking a private tour guide with the hotel. he took us to several part of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Not perfection - but close to it. Shortcomings (including mediocre phone/service response and limited Wi-Fi coverage) superseded by youthful and enthusiastic staff - especially, the restaurant staff, which took a proactive approach to pleasing our group (including personal introductions to Roch Said, Morad, Rachido Mourad, Fatima Zohra, Berd Redwame, and their manager, Quarfe).

Other comments on ideal location and unique pool setting hit the mark. A great place to rest and restore after taking on the souk and Jemaa el-Fnaa (main square).

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Marrakech for a long weekend in late September 2013, with a group of friends. The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes walk from the Jemma el Fna (main square) and the Souks. The Sofitel is very impressive from the outside set at the end of a wide boulevard, fronted by fountains, and with an impressive entrance façade.

We arrived after a short flight from London and had arranged to be met by a car from the hotel – for which they charged a not inconsiderable 600 dirhams. The car was late, and it took several phone calls to the hotel before the car arrived. It is our belief that it hadn’t even left the hotel when we first called. This meant an extended wait of almost an hour in the arrivals hall. On arrival the check in procedure seemed to take forever too, with numerous forms to be filled in on top of the usual passport formalities.

The communal areas of the hotel appear to have had a recent facelift, and both the main lobby and some of the secondary areas – including the Art Hall - are very successful. What was slightly disappointing is the general lack of colour used in the décor throughout the hotel. Marrakech is a city of vibrant sights, sounds, smells, and colour but the palate of colours used in the Sofitel is much more muted. We felt this a bit of a shame. Outside there are two large pool areas with huge day beds, and a plentiful supply of towels on hand. Some felt the water in the pools a little chilly – probably unheated – but generally the communal areas are pretty successful.

The breakfast buffet was reasonably extensive and food generally well cooked. There was a little bit of a lack of choice of cooked items though, and for some reason the orange juice tasted slightly insipid. We did not eat in any of the restaurants so can’t comment on them.

One of the major problems in the hotel is the quality of service - aside from Reception and The Concierge who were generally helpful and personable. Put simply the standard of service both at breakfast, and around the pool was woeful; just not up to standard for a 5* hotel. Everyone in our party had a similar experience. Waiters were inattentive. Food and drinks took ages to appear, and often had to be asked for twice. The vibe they gave off was one of “couldn’t care less”.

The bedrooms are nicely decorated – albeit a little dull for Marrakech. Particular mention should go to the bed linen which was high quality cotton, with enormous duck or goose down pillows, and a wonderfully comfortable bed. The room was also fitted with black-out curtains so there was no sun pouring through the window at dawn! However, there were some issues in both of the bedrooms that we stayed in that smacked of a lack of management oversight, and/or staff training. These included: blown lightbulbs, loose bathroom fixtures, broken plug, cracked sink, leaking shower screen, (free) internet that was on then off then on, non-working telephone… I could go on. I have all these sorts of small issues at home, but then I’m not paying 5* hotel prices to stay at home.

In summary then, Sofitel Marrakech is a bit all talk, no walk. It has a great location and wonderful presence, but it is badly let down by a lack of attention to detail in the bedroom and bathroom, and a quality of service which is really not good enough. In a city like Marrakech which has such a wide variety of choice of hotels, riads and villas, it felt a real shame to have chosen Le Sofitel for our accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#103 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.