We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and lack of service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced and lack of service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived half an hour early prior to our check in time.. We were greeted nicely were given cold damp cloths and Moroccan tea. We was then showed to our butler who gave her her card and a quick tour around.

When it came to our actual check in times we was told our room wasn't ready and luckily my brother his wife and baby had a paid for a huge suite where we relaxed and waited for mine and my sisters room.


After 45minutes our so called butler rang on my brothers door and said our room was finally ready but it was just a hassle dragging our suit cases, our room was on the other side of the hotel on the second floor.

We was happy we got a balcony room and the beds are real comfy. You can even charge ur iPhone on the little dock besides ur bed.

The reality that we found was that although the hotel was so very busy, we still thought to deserve a better service for a five star luxury premium hotel. Our room cards didn't work a few times when we came from outside activities and this also happened to my brother mr Rahman, its a pain when u are carrying a baby around from all days outdoor activities then to find ur room won't open so you have to make your way back down a floor and walk right back.

Also be-careful when you check out check ur bills as we got charged things from the fridge that we didn't use and u get charged hell of a lot for drinks that are not included in any of the buffets.

The hotel is huge and beautiful amazing scenery! Lovely pool and great facilities we paid for the spa and enjoyed it very well. Just a little shame that u have to pay for sauna for a bit extra.

During our stay we had The breakfast buffet and lunch sometimes dinner buffet depending on our plans on that day. The breakfast buffet wasn't so impressed by the tastes but the atmosphere was beautiful. Different counters had different things but it was always the same things everyday. Try going to the almaza mall it's 5mins drive away and is cheaper u have tgi Fridays a bit supermarket cheap water bottles etc... U have Pizza Hut ur have cages and shopping etc.. We realised that dinner was a rip off at our hotel with what was on offer. Cous Cous and oily meat, camel meats etc all Moroccan style... But would've been nice for the extortionate price to have some international foods as well.

We didn't know how packed the hotel would be and waiting for a cab by the hotel wasn't so bad but I would've thought that there is someone who is always waiting to take tourists around..

Overall it was a nice place to stay, you gota go and try the red house restruant 5mins walk from hotel. Was amazing a bit pricey but worth it live entertainment live relaxing music and not so packed we had one to one device and the food had variety of international and morroccan style foods.

Checking out of the hotel was a headache with all the bills they made up for us some I could understand like baby's milk or Extra drinks when we had buffets. But using fridge foods and saying that we don't get a transfer from hotel to airport in which we paid for in our package and arrived exactly the same way. Lack of communication and would be good if someone spoke English and also understood our English.


I did enjoy myself, we all did and the hotel wasn't so bad if u have money to splash its all fine I guess. The service is over hyped thou I would say it was average for the price u pay. And as for our butler wel we never heard from her again after the first visit. So we more or less booked everything ourself. The desk on the very right with a large gentleman who wears glasses is the only guy who speaks lovely English and guided us on what to do he have grey advice always ask for him. He knows a lot! Very helpful he was wish I remembered his name.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    198
    103
    49
    26
See reviews for
188
330
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Visiting Morocco was an experience we looked forward to. The experience was enhanced by staying at a hotel like the Sofitel. The decor and ambience was authentic Moroccan. The staff are attentive and make guests feel very welcome. We would recommend starting the day with the breakfasts. The selection is amazing and caters to all tastes. The staff especially Rachida and Fatima Zohra go out of their way to make sure guests have all their needs met. We had a wonderful stay and will happily return.

Room Tip: Our room was in the Sofitel Palais with more traditional Moroccan decor. If you prefer modern decor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed from 11/8-16/8 with two kids aged 8 and 11. We booked two standard interconnecting rooms but arrived to find that they had not allocated interconnecting rooms. After 45 minutes of fuss, they upgraded us to a 2-bed suite. Not a great start but at least the kids were staying close with us.

The hotel was packed, mostly with French people. The pool was overcrowded, if you asked for a towel the response was always 'there are none left'. Once towels are laid out in the morning there is no chance to get any later. My kids had to come through the lobby dripping to get to the room.

The food and drinks are extremely expensive. A bottle of mineral water (750ml) will set you back around £4. There is NO concession for kids at all. Sadly it took us 3 days to realise that if we stepped outside, there are many cafes that offer great food and drink at a quarter of the price.

There are no non-smoking areas in the hotel. The lobby is full of smokers as are all the restaurants; it's not what we are used to but that's to be found in all places around the city.

Breakfast was fine provided you arrived before 9am, otherwise it was chaotic, you'd be waiting for cutlery or water (which was in short supply) or beverages. Again, probably due to the amount of guests. The choice of food was good.

The concierge was a HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. They planned a tour to Ourika Valley for us and we ended up starting our trek at almost midday because we left the hotel at 10am. The trip was very expensive and the driver was mute there and back, there was no desire to tell us about anything despite us trying to ask him questions. (See my Ourika Valley review under Marrakech Tours, coming soon).

When we asked the service men standing outside how much a taxi would cost, they shrugged their shoulders and replied we should ask the driver. We asked for ESTIMATES and they refused to give us an idea. At one point I got cross and asked him how long had he been living in Marrakech and how come he didn't know the price to a local site. He walked off speaking in French. Naturally, we paid over the odds for rides and the taxis were all parked outside the hotel and staff communicated through walkie talkies.

The hotel is located very well near all the major sites that you'd want to see. It's a little dated and the rooms a little shabby. The junior suite was large but there was only one bathroom which proved to be a minor irritation. Room service was OK. There is also a kids club which the kids enjoyed.

There are many hotels in this area of town and probably much cheaper. We like our luxury but did not feel pampered here at all. Some of the problems were due to the number of guests but others I feel were a direct result of poor management and lack of care.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week from 8/8/13. Very good room, service and pools and a very good location for easy access to town. Breakfast was a real treat with just about anything you could wish for. The only slight let down was checkout which was awful. One man manning the desk with a long queue to deal with, totally unacceptable for this class of hotel. However, overall a lovely relaxing stay and would certainly return.

Room Tip: A good Carrefour supermarket is a ten minute walk past the Novotel hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

-the staff from the doork men, to housekeeping, restaurant staff servers chefs were all wonderfull. They are polite, courteous, always helpful. Some can speak English, mostly French. You can manage.

The hotel itself is located well close to the Medina. It looks a bit outdated. The suites are smaller then other Sofitel hotels.

There were issues with ants in our room, to AC not properly cooling. Maintenance was quick to resolve the issues.

Overall as much as I appreciated the service, it is not one of those properties that has an Wow affect. There is issue with a foul smell so they use a scent all over the place.. If you have allergies good luck.

I think most hotels in the area are similar, if your use to US standards you may be dissappointed, For Europians this might be acceptable or even exceed expectations.

The food is of good quality, but is generally bland in Morocco and this was no exception. They need more international options and not just French or Moroccon. The food choices are very limited in Morocco, after a while you get tired of the same old.

Overall, it is well located, safe place, and most of all a great staff who are always ready to help.

If you decide to stay here, chances are you will walk to the square in the evening, caution must be exercised. It's only about 2 km, but there are people who will stalk you, then start talking nice to you, will claim to be a staff at the Sofitel and are off duty. Will advise you for a place to eat etc.., they are just crooks, not Sofitel employees, avoid them at all cost.

The Square is another beast. I sure you could read about it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Cannot say I was head over heels at the idea of staying in the Sofitel. After all Marrakech is supposedly filled with smaller places with much more, well, let's say "soul". However, after experiencing the nightmare of staying at the Es Saadi, a wreck of a hotel and a rip-off a couple yards away, I stayed at the Sofitel for a couple nights.
It is grand, with an excellence service, beautiful pool, staff that care, ideal settings.
Again, not over excited by chain hotels, but coming every now and then in Marrakesh, I would probably try another Ryiad or stay again at the Sofitel: it is an excellent standard, and you get what you came here for without any hassle. Would also recommend the one in Essaouira

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Many thanks to the staff of Sofitel Marrakech. We have had an amazing time in one of the most enchanting cities of the world. Although all staff is friendly and helpfuI, I would like to mention a few of the hotel staff in particular, Farah, Fatimzahra, Said and Quarfi. This hotel can be proud about these wonderful people. They make a stay in this hotel a very pleasant and relaxing experience.
This hotel is in a relaxing area of the city of Marrakesh while it's very easy and simple to get to the hectic and old centre of the city. A 10 minute walk takes you centuries back in history.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.