We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Weybridge
1 review
“Unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Visiting Morocco was an experience we looked forward to. The experience was enhanced by staying at a hotel like the Sofitel. The decor and ambience was authentic Moroccan. The staff are attentive and make guests feel very welcome. We would recommend starting the day with the breakfasts. The selection is amazing and caters to all tastes. The staff especially Rachida and Fatima Zohra go out of their way to make sure guests have all their needs met. We had a wonderful stay and will happily return.

Room Tip: Our room was in the Sofitel Palais with more traditional Moroccan decor. If you prefer modern decor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    222
    112
    54
    29
See reviews for
208
368
33
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed from 11/8-16/8 with two kids aged 8 and 11. We booked two standard interconnecting rooms but arrived to find that they had not allocated interconnecting rooms. After 45 minutes of fuss, they upgraded us to a 2-bed suite. Not a great start but at least the kids were staying close with us.

The hotel was packed, mostly with French people. The pool was overcrowded, if you asked for a towel the response was always 'there are none left'. Once towels are laid out in the morning there is no chance to get any later. My kids had to come through the lobby dripping to get to the room.

The food and drinks are extremely expensive. A bottle of mineral water (750ml) will set you back around £4. There is NO concession for kids at all. Sadly it took us 3 days to realise that if we stepped outside, there are many cafes that offer great food and drink at a quarter of the price.

There are no non-smoking areas in the hotel. The lobby is full of smokers as are all the restaurants; it's not what we are used to but that's to be found in all places around the city.

Breakfast was fine provided you arrived before 9am, otherwise it was chaotic, you'd be waiting for cutlery or water (which was in short supply) or beverages. Again, probably due to the amount of guests. The choice of food was good.

The concierge was a HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. They planned a tour to Ourika Valley for us and we ended up starting our trek at almost midday because we left the hotel at 10am. The trip was very expensive and the driver was mute there and back, there was no desire to tell us about anything despite us trying to ask him questions. (See my Ourika Valley review under Marrakech Tours, coming soon).

When we asked the service men standing outside how much a taxi would cost, they shrugged their shoulders and replied we should ask the driver. We asked for ESTIMATES and they refused to give us an idea. At one point I got cross and asked him how long had he been living in Marrakech and how come he didn't know the price to a local site. He walked off speaking in French. Naturally, we paid over the odds for rides and the taxis were all parked outside the hotel and staff communicated through walkie talkies.

The hotel is located very well near all the major sites that you'd want to see. It's a little dated and the rooms a little shabby. The junior suite was large but there was only one bathroom which proved to be a minor irritation. Room service was OK. There is also a kids club which the kids enjoyed.

There are many hotels in this area of town and probably much cheaper. We like our luxury but did not feel pampered here at all. Some of the problems were due to the number of guests but others I feel were a direct result of poor management and lack of care.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week from 8/8/13. Very good room, service and pools and a very good location for easy access to town. Breakfast was a real treat with just about anything you could wish for. The only slight let down was checkout which was awful. One man manning the desk with a long queue to deal with, totally unacceptable for this class of hotel. However, overall a lovely relaxing stay and would certainly return.

Room Tip: A good Carrefour supermarket is a ten minute walk past the Novotel hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

-the staff from the doork men, to housekeeping, restaurant staff servers chefs were all wonderfull. They are polite, courteous, always helpful. Some can speak English, mostly French. You can manage.

The hotel itself is located well close to the Medina. It looks a bit outdated. The suites are smaller then other Sofitel hotels.

There were issues with ants in our room, to AC not properly cooling. Maintenance was quick to resolve the issues.

Overall as much as I appreciated the service, it is not one of those properties that has an Wow affect. There is issue with a foul smell so they use a scent all over the place.. If you have allergies good luck.

I think most hotels in the area are similar, if your use to US standards you may be dissappointed, For Europians this might be acceptable or even exceed expectations.

The food is of good quality, but is generally bland in Morocco and this was no exception. They need more international options and not just French or Moroccon. The food choices are very limited in Morocco, after a while you get tired of the same old.

Overall, it is well located, safe place, and most of all a great staff who are always ready to help.

If you decide to stay here, chances are you will walk to the square in the evening, caution must be exercised. It's only about 2 km, but there are people who will stalk you, then start talking nice to you, will claim to be a staff at the Sofitel and are off duty. Will advise you for a place to eat etc.., they are just crooks, not Sofitel employees, avoid them at all cost.

The Square is another beast. I sure you could read about it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Cannot say I was head over heels at the idea of staying in the Sofitel. After all Marrakech is supposedly filled with smaller places with much more, well, let's say "soul". However, after experiencing the nightmare of staying at the Es Saadi, a wreck of a hotel and a rip-off a couple yards away, I stayed at the Sofitel for a couple nights.
It is grand, with an excellence service, beautiful pool, staff that care, ideal settings.
Again, not over excited by chain hotels, but coming every now and then in Marrakesh, I would probably try another Ryiad or stay again at the Sofitel: it is an excellent standard, and you get what you came here for without any hassle. Would also recommend the one in Essaouira

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Many thanks to the staff of Sofitel Marrakech. We have had an amazing time in one of the most enchanting cities of the world. Although all staff is friendly and helpfuI, I would like to mention a few of the hotel staff in particular, Farah, Fatimzahra, Said and Quarfi. This hotel can be proud about these wonderful people. They make a stay in this hotel a very pleasant and relaxing experience.
This hotel is in a relaxing area of the city of Marrakesh while it's very easy and simple to get to the hectic and old centre of the city. A 10 minute walk takes you centuries back in history.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Thank u to the Sofitel, we have had an amazing time. Because it was our honeymoon, the hotel even upgraded us to a beautiful suite and let us have late check out. The hotel staff are wonderful, particularly amina on reception, she has been a delight, if you come here use the spa, the staff and the facilities are wonderful. Thanking all the staff for making our honeymoon perfect. We shall return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#93 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#139 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.