We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bottom line” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bottom line”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

-the staff from the doork men, to housekeeping, restaurant staff servers chefs were all wonderfull. They are polite, courteous, always helpful. Some can speak English, mostly French. You can manage.

The hotel itself is located well close to the Medina. It looks a bit outdated. The suites are smaller then other Sofitel hotels.

There were issues with ants in our room, to AC not properly cooling. Maintenance was quick to resolve the issues.

Overall as much as I appreciated the service, it is not one of those properties that has an Wow affect. There is issue with a foul smell so they use a scent all over the place.. If you have allergies good luck.

I think most hotels in the area are similar, if your use to US standards you may be dissappointed, For Europians this might be acceptable or even exceed expectations.

The food is of good quality, but is generally bland in Morocco and this was no exception. They need more international options and not just French or Moroccon. The food choices are very limited in Morocco, after a while you get tired of the same old.

Overall, it is well located, safe place, and most of all a great staff who are always ready to help.

If you decide to stay here, chances are you will walk to the square in the evening, caution must be exercised. It's only about 2 km, but there are people who will stalk you, then start talking nice to you, will claim to be a staff at the Sofitel and are off duty. Will advise you for a place to eat etc.., they are just crooks, not Sofitel employees, avoid them at all cost.

The Square is another beast. I sure you could read about it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Cannot say I was head over heels at the idea of staying in the Sofitel. After all Marrakech is supposedly filled with smaller places with much more, well, let's say "soul". However, after experiencing the nightmare of staying at the Es Saadi, a wreck of a hotel and a rip-off a couple yards away, I stayed at the Sofitel for a couple nights.
It is grand, with an excellence service, beautiful pool, staff that care, ideal settings.
Again, not over excited by chain hotels, but coming every now and then in Marrakesh, I would probably try another Ryiad or stay again at the Sofitel: it is an excellent standard, and you get what you came here for without any hassle. Would also recommend the one in Essaouira

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GwenFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Many thanks to the staff of Sofitel Marrakech. We have had an amazing time in one of the most enchanting cities of the world. Although all staff is friendly and helpfuI, I would like to mention a few of the hotel staff in particular, Farah, Fatimzahra, Said and Quarfi. This hotel can be proud about these wonderful people. They make a stay in this hotel a very pleasant and relaxing experience.
This hotel is in a relaxing area of the city of Marrakesh while it's very easy and simple to get to the hectic and old centre of the city. A 10 minute walk takes you centuries back in history.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Thank u to the Sofitel, we have had an amazing time. Because it was our honeymoon, the hotel even upgraded us to a beautiful suite and let us have late check out. The hotel staff are wonderful, particularly amina on reception, she has been a delight, if you come here use the spa, the staff and the facilities are wonderful. Thanking all the staff for making our honeymoon perfect. We shall return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

we enjoyed this hotel it is in a lovely part of the newer part of marrakech.
the pool area is great, and the service around the pool is also good.
we eat at the pool restaurant this was also good.
the staff are very good, and it is so easy to get around marrakech from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheeleraIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overall a good five star hotel but the service is incredibly slow with sometimes up to an hour before your drink was served, mind you at the price they charge that could be a good thing, seemed to be a little quicker if you were French.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool and away from the nightclub. Can be a long walk inside the hotel bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahhhjimlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

this hotel is absolutely fabulous in terms of location, food ( breakfast, pool lunch, etc). Our suite was amazing, just next to the pool. The staff was very friendly until the last day. After being promised to get the room at least until 3pm ( we are also ACCOR member), they finally told us that we had to check out at 1pm max, and that we would be given a courtoisie room. Eventually, we had no rooms, nor any shower in the spa available, without any excuse or whatever; and we had to was ourselves in the toilets! that's not acceptable at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naouelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#77 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura
0.1 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#231 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#118 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#191 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing