We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Winchester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautifully appointed hotel in a well situated part of Marrakesh. The pool area is stunning. However, the service is variable, some of the staff were helpful and friendly, others were very off-hand. We booked on the basis of breakfast and evening meal but on check-out we were presented with a bill that included our dinners. We pointed out this was incorrect but the clerk was reluctant to believe us. Fortunately, we had our booking confirmation and showed this. A correct revised bill was produced which we paid with a credit card.
Some weeks later when our credit card statement arrived, both the correct and the disputed bill had been charged. I took this up with our operator Kuoni who implied this practice was not unknown! Kuoni said they would resolve the problem and asked for some time because often hotels don't respond quickly. To cut a long story short, Kuoni reimbursed us and behaved well. I can't say the same of Sofitel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank winchesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel between 30th May- 7th June. I have to say that we enjoyed every single moment of our stay. The hotel had a wonderful ambience that was relaxing and chilled out. Every part of the hotel had been designed with a lot of thought and effort, there were so many different places around the hotel where you could relax and just enjoy the peace. The pools were amazing as were the settees, beds and hammocks around the pool area to relax on. For me, the best part of the hotel had to be the staff. Everyone seemed to take pride in their job and genuinely went out of their way to make you comfortable and ask you how you were. A special mention to Fatima in the kitchen making pancakes at breakfast time, she really went out of her way to make conversation and ask u how you were, Abdurrazzek who made the bread and toast, he would have a smile and a hello ready everyday. Fatima Zahra who was our waitress was also very friendly, as was Zakkariyah, one of the managers, who was always smart and suited and booted for breakfast and was amazingly polite and courteous. The manager in the L'Orangerie restaurant, Abdul Karim was an outstanding professional and definetely went out of his way too. All in all, I would definetely recommend this hotel, as it's somewhere where you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fali82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We ended our Moroccan vacation at this hotel. It was a little difficult after staying at the Four Seasons, but didn't book our extension ahead enough. However, the Sofitel was perfectly nice, if not a bit overcrowded. The location couldn't be beat. We could walk out the front door to all the sights and all over the city. The room was clean and nice, but it's still an older hotel. Dinner on the roof top was satisfactory, but not great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jogrant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the end of May. The hotel and facilities are superb , pools and surrounding area are fabulous.

The staff were extremely helpful and polite at all times and made us feel very welcome

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TedTheDog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stay regularly at this hotel when I got to Marrakech and have for years. It has a great pool, great restaurant, and the front desk is really helpful, on the most part (there are one or two duds). The children's activities are very good and multi-lingual. Its also a great location for Marrakech. The Lounge and Spa and the Palais Imperial are the same property. Some of the rooms are better than others and some of the rooms noisier than others, but overall, a great vacation and good business hotel. Spa is good too.

Room Tip: Left side of front desk rooms (palais imperial?) are somewhat better than right side rooms, which ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great hotel with fantastic staff & facilities
Stay was only flawed as we had a junior suite directly above the palais lobby area. Speakers are mounted on the ceiling in the lobby which means your silence is interrupted at 8AM and can be tough to get to sleep once you have noticed the sound again.
Minor flaw in an otherwise awesome hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank grepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#76 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#162 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#161 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#191 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing