We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay and some wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing stay and some wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel between 30th May- 7th June. I have to say that we enjoyed every single moment of our stay. The hotel had a wonderful ambience that was relaxing and chilled out. Every part of the hotel had been designed with a lot of thought and effort, there were so many different places around the hotel where you could relax and just enjoy the peace. The pools were amazing as were the settees, beds and hammocks around the pool area to relax on. For me, the best part of the hotel had to be the staff. Everyone seemed to take pride in their job and genuinely went out of their way to make you comfortable and ask you how you were. A special mention to Fatima in the kitchen making pancakes at breakfast time, she really went out of her way to make conversation and ask u how you were, Abdurrazzek who made the bread and toast, he would have a smile and a hello ready everyday. Fatima Zahra who was our waitress was also very friendly, as was Zakkariyah, one of the managers, who was always smart and suited and booted for breakfast and was amazingly polite and courteous. The manager in the L'Orangerie restaurant, Abdul Karim was an outstanding professional and definetely went out of his way too. All in all, I would definetely recommend this hotel, as it's somewhere where you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    198
    103
    49
    26
See reviews for
187
330
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We ended our Moroccan vacation at this hotel. It was a little difficult after staying at the Four Seasons, but didn't book our extension ahead enough. However, the Sofitel was perfectly nice, if not a bit overcrowded. The location couldn't be beat. We could walk out the front door to all the sights and all over the city. The room was clean and nice, but it's still an older hotel. Dinner on the roof top was satisfactory, but not great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the end of May. The hotel and facilities are superb , pools and surrounding area are fabulous.

The staff were extremely helpful and polite at all times and made us feel very welcome

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stay regularly at this hotel when I got to Marrakech and have for years. It has a great pool, great restaurant, and the front desk is really helpful, on the most part (there are one or two duds). The children's activities are very good and multi-lingual. Its also a great location for Marrakech. The Lounge and Spa and the Palais Imperial are the same property. Some of the rooms are better than others and some of the rooms noisier than others, but overall, a great vacation and good business hotel. Spa is good too.

Room Tip: Left side of front desk rooms (palais imperial?) are somewhat better than right side rooms, which ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great hotel with fantastic staff & facilities
Stay was only flawed as we had a junior suite directly above the palais lobby area. Speakers are mounted on the ceiling in the lobby which means your silence is interrupted at 8AM and can be tough to get to sleep once you have noticed the sound again.
Minor flaw in an otherwise awesome hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I might be biased because I stayed at La Mamounia the previous three nights but overall my experience wasn´t great, we order drinks and food at the pool which took ages to arrive and were not very good and very expensive, in general the employees were kind of rude and not very helpful. The beds are great tho (like all sofitels in the world)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Unfortunately, we have spent only 1 night on our way back and we hadn't the occasion to use all the facilities of the hotel like the beautiful landscaped swimming pool area...
Our room had "garden view" which might lead to wrong interpretation, we had indead a view on the garden which is a piece of lawn between the building and the surrounding wall and behind is a quite busy street, fortunately rooms are sound proofed but you can't keep the window open in summer.
A part from that a perfect stay which ended with an amazing breakfast buffet with food of all kind in top quality, have never seen such a choice for such a high quality standard..

Staff especially at the reception could be a bit more efficient, takes quite some time to check in and out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.