We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #255 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We ended our Moroccan vacation at this hotel. It was a little difficult after staying at the Four Seasons, but didn't book our extension ahead enough. However, the Sofitel was perfectly nice, if not a bit overcrowded. The location couldn't be beat. We could walk out the front door to all the sights and all over the city. The room was clean and nice, but it's still an older hotel. Dinner on the roof top was satisfactory, but not great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    260
    130
    66
    33
See reviews for
240
435
43
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the end of May. The hotel and facilities are superb , pools and surrounding area are fabulous.

The staff were extremely helpful and polite at all times and made us feel very welcome

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stay regularly at this hotel when I got to Marrakech and have for years. It has a great pool, great restaurant, and the front desk is really helpful, on the most part (there are one or two duds). The children's activities are very good and multi-lingual. Its also a great location for Marrakech. The Lounge and Spa and the Palais Imperial are the same property. Some of the rooms are better than others and some of the rooms noisier than others, but overall, a great vacation and good business hotel. Spa is good too.

Room Tip: Left side of front desk rooms (palais imperial?) are somewhat better than right side rooms, which ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great hotel with fantastic staff & facilities
Stay was only flawed as we had a junior suite directly above the palais lobby area. Speakers are mounted on the ceiling in the lobby which means your silence is interrupted at 8AM and can be tough to get to sleep once you have noticed the sound again.
Minor flaw in an otherwise awesome hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I might be biased because I stayed at La Mamounia the previous three nights but overall my experience wasn´t great, we order drinks and food at the pool which took ages to arrive and were not very good and very expensive, in general the employees were kind of rude and not very helpful. The beds are great tho (like all sofitels in the world)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Unfortunately, we have spent only 1 night on our way back and we hadn't the occasion to use all the facilities of the hotel like the beautiful landscaped swimming pool area...
Our room had "garden view" which might lead to wrong interpretation, we had indead a view on the garden which is a piece of lawn between the building and the surrounding wall and behind is a quite busy street, fortunately rooms are sound proofed but you can't keep the window open in summer.
A part from that a perfect stay which ended with an amazing breakfast buffet with food of all kind in top quality, have never seen such a choice for such a high quality standard..

Staff especially at the reception could be a bit more efficient, takes quite some time to check in and out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel picture of the pool are exactly what you get however the service is very poor.
The Pro's- Pool and day beds were great, comfortable bed in room, the service and greeting on arrival was good- massage was good
The con's- Just given a key, then its try to find your room, the service around the pool was poor, drinks were incorrect, wine was warm, lemon tart cost approx £12.00. The room we were allocated was 275- this overlooked the night club and on a Saturday night at approx 3am its a song of people's car horns that keep you awake- however when I mentioned to the front desk they are aware of this yet in a hotel 50% full they still put guests in them. On leaving the hotel I was chased and interigated over a bill of £7.00!!!! However I had already checked out and was served by a gentlemen called (Hellum) who was incrediably rude and paid my bill which was a large sum of money. This gentlemen was the face of the Sofitel and he was an insult to a really good chain of hotels- this is just a bad one!!!! I really would visit Marrakech however I wouldnt rebook at this hotel sadly.

Top tip - we were lucky to meet a trustworthy taxi driver who picked us up on time, Guijjane Abdessadek- +212667868977

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#145 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#191 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, Splendia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.