We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with top service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Pinecrest, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location with top service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Perfect location! Our room (429) had a perfect view of the pool and the Atlas mountain.
The bed was very comfortable.
The heated pool was great considering the cool temperature we experienced during our stay in Marrakech.
Kudos to the staff - from the Reception to the Concierge recommending some good restaurants, the folks at the Restaurant (Jardin des Senteurs - Rachida, Sihom) and even the housekeeping lady. Everybody was so nice to us. They made us feel at home.

A few minor glitches:
The lighting of the room was really poor.
Internet access was terrible and sometimes it didn't work at all
A water leak at the wall of the WC - although we never reported it - was annoying
Expensive food & beverages e.g. A bottle of water at the restaurant at $12 was a total rip-off - same thing for a beer at $12. Breakfast at $30 is expensive if you only have an omelet, some juice and a cup of coffee. Sunday brunch at 500 DH (>$60)was ok for me for expensive for many.
I wish the hotel would have an Excursion desk. They concierge quoted 200 Euros for a day excursion to Essaouira for 2 while we did the same excursion for 50 Euros via Sahara Tours with a guide. A city tour at 700 DH (almost $90) was a scam since the objective of the guide was to take you to expensive places to buy carpets and other stuffs. He didn't even take us to the places we were supposed to visit.
Our Junior Suite was just a mere Superior room not a junior suite per se. That was a disappointment.

Room Tip: A suite with a pool/ Atlas view above the 1st floor is an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.

Sincerely,

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    170
    97
    46
    23
See reviews for
167
295
27
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel at the beginning and the end of a bicycle trip around Morocco and had two very different experiences. While the Palais Imperials and Lounge & Spa share a facility and management by all appearances, our overall experience was far, far superior at the Imperial.

We found the reception cold and somewhat surly throughout our stay at the L&S. Check-in took an eternity (particularly painful for those arriving from overseas) and lacked warmth, which was pretty much true of every encounter we had or witnessed at the front desk. In fact, we had to make four calls -- finally seeking assistance from the Accord folks who had to patch us through -- just to get someone pick up the phone there to book transportation from the airport prior to our arrival. We had reserved a room with two beds for the kids and got a double, and they made no apparent effort to accomodate a request to change. We were sent off to find our rooms on are own upon arriving, and the service failed to improve after that.

We had just the opposite experience, however, at the Imperial, where the staff without exception welcoming, friendly and eager to make sure guests felt appreciated. We were escorted to our room by a guest service specialist, greeted by name every time we walked through the lobby and saw the same specialist who checked in with us a few times during our stay. Everything in the hotel smells fresh and floral - there are beautiful bouquets throughout and lovely furnishings.

The Spa is pretty and calm. Indoor dip pool there is for adults only and the small gym is just that - small and quite aromatic, not in a good way. Another area of the S&L has a foos-ball table and pool table, which is fun, but the noise from folks playing can be heard in the rooms above.

The pool area (shared by both hotels) is simply fabulous - vast and gorgeous with ample comfortable seating and pool beds (including the world's most comfortable hammocks), two bars, chair service (slow but friendly) and cute touches like a cotton candy/gelato stand and small swinging cribs for infants. The food was decent at the poolside restaurant and people watching marvelous. The entire area is covered with flowering vines and gorgeous landscaping, and feels very special.

Breakfast is great at the restaurant buffet, but the lunch less so. Service is very spotty. At no meal was the service particularly efficient or friendly, and pretty much the same can be said for the terrace off the main lobby where we were twice ignored entirely and once waited more than 20 minutes for a simple drink. We had one meal at the Orangerie which was good but for the sticker shock when it turned out that our two Kir Royales were charged at US$ each!

The rooms are lovely with comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, Hermes bath products and nice robes/towels. Our suite in the L&S was so poorly lit you couldn't see a book to read after the sun set, but the suites on the Imperial side are wonderful on every count. The views are fab of the Atlas mountains and pool area.

Westerners should not worry about what to pack for a stay here as it is anything goes at the pool, restaurants and lobby area. Most guests dressed quite fashionably and few felt to compelled toward the modesty in dress that would be more appropriate in a Riad within the medina or in areas frequented by locals.

There are several restaurants and clubs an easy stroll from the Sofitel if you aren't up for the chaos of the walled city and the souks, although that is a must-see at some point during your trip. It is more fun and less intimidating with a guide as it is truly chaotic and VERY easy to get lost. Taxi to the airport was a fixed rate of 150 dirhams.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We are pleased to read that the misunderstanding was resolved and hope that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to Sofitel Marrakech. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Marrakech quite a few times in the last few years and have always stayed in riads. Now don't get me wrong, riads can offer some of the best servcie available but can take on a bit of a 'house party' atmosphere where you can feel obliged to socialise.

This is not what we wanted on this particular occasion. After a stressful few months we wanted to chill in a relaxing environment not too far from the action and not feel obliged to 'join in'.

Having had drinks in the Sofitel on a few occasions before and having stayed in sister hotels before we were confident our needs would be met, and they most certainly were.

Upon arrival, we were advised our room was not ready, no real surprise at it was only 11.30am, so we had a long leisurely lunch and checked in at about 2.30pm. We had been upgraded to a suite with pool and Atlas views.....very pleasant. The room was very comfortable with all of the amenities you would expect.

We always stay on a room only basis so i cannot comment on the food save for the pool bar which, whilst a little on the expensive site, it was not over the top and was very pleasant.

The hotel is within 15 minutes stroll of the square, where all of the action is and 10 minutes from the new town.

In all, i would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Happy to answer any questions.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience at we are delighted to read that you appreciated the service, and the accommodations!

We hope to see you again soon at the Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

Sincerely

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in a Riad in the Medina a couple of months earlier, I decided that as I was returning with my partner, son and daughter it would be better to stay in a large hotel so that the girls could chill around tbe pool whilst my son and I went mountain biking! We had a two bedroom suite and it was very nice!
The check in was a bit of a faff as they spend a bit too long trying to make it special, whereas I would rather they just gave me the key and let me get on with it!!
The breakfast whilst fairly costly was excellent!! They did not charge for the kids even though my 15 yr old son is a monster who ate twice as much as us!!
The guys around the pool worked really hard and kept everyone happy (even the French...)
Only grumble was the staff on the ground floor terrace at night , who despite outnumbering the guests still managed to take around 30 mins to conjure up a basic cocktail!!
Would happily recommend this hotel though, close to all the action, yet very relaxed!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Directeur d'hôtel at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial. It was nice to hear that my staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every gust feels special. Thank you so much for staying with us.
We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I don't want to run this hotel down; it has a nice pool and gardens and is fine if you are only looking for the bottom end of the 5* market. However, if you can possibly spare just a little extra money you really should stay at the Four Seasons. The Sofitel is fundamentally fine if you are using it as a B&B (although beware of the overzealous concierge). However, if you are travelling with a family or looking for any service above bare acknowledgement you must go to the Four Seasons.

I do not work for the FS and have stayed in lots of hotels in Marrakech. The service in the Sofitel is just weak and at times rude. The selection of food is low if you are here for more than a couple of days and the hotel is quite simply totally inflexible and boring. For example if you would like a snack in the outside lounge you have to order from the room service menu and the room service chap turns up with his trolley and bill; there is no joined-up thinking and if you ask you are just ignored.

We had a "butler" during our stay; in short my 4 month old baby was more use and told less lies.

The Sofitel is “okish” but lacks leadership (the management are invisible and when asking for a manager you are fobbed-off) and you will get considerably better value for money at the Four Seasons.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here stay rather than the Four Seasons, stay in a opera or prestige suite. Anyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.
We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial. We do take all comments seriously and really appreciate in details all the feedback we can get. We really apologise for the misunderstanding with problems you had encountered.
Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.
Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely.

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Travelling with two young kids. This hotel is on a busy road. Rooms are old, noisy and dirty. We were given a room that smelled of sewage and could not get a replacement until late night. When threatening to leave we were offered a replacement room that was old, dirty, with not working taps. Staff at front desk is unprofessional, does not pick up the phone and takes ages to perform the basic tasks. We booked a 5 day holiday and left after a nightmare of a night and a never ending discussion with front desk. I would advise not to book this hotel: there are lots of equally priced and better managed properties in Marrakech. Delano is across the street and miles better.

Room Tip: Do not get rooms not overlooking the pool. If you must go there just stick to the central body of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial. We do take all comments seriously and really appreciate in details all the feedback we can get. We really apologise for the misunderstanding with problems you had encountered.
Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.

Sincerely.

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived after 8 days of full on touring of Marocco and needed to unwind. The bed was the most comfortable of the trip and we spent ages relaxing by the pool in the Oasis restaurant. The food was delicious and we were well looked after by the attentive and friendly Abdelilah.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience at theSofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial. We are delighted to read that you appreciated the service, the food and the accomodations!
Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that we answered your expectation on that manner.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Benkirane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#102 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#103 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#173 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.