We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil, relaxing escape from the busy streets of the old city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aliya

Save Saved
You added Riad Aliya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Aliya
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10, derb Akerkour | Quartier Kasbah - palais royal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A tranquil, relaxing escape from the busy streets of the old city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely Riad in the Kasbah area of the old city. It was well located, just a few minutes walk from the main square at Djemaa el-Fna, and a short walk/quick taxi away from all of the old city attractions. The Saadian tombs and Kasbah Mosque were at the top of the street. The Riad provided a relaxing, tranquil escape from the busy streets. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly, with lots of local knowledge to help us get the most from our trip. We were welcomed with a delicious pot of mint tea upon arrival. We opted to stay in the brune room on the first floor. It was clean, spacious, and we got a good night's sleep every night. The facilities are good, with a plunge pool in the courtyard, and a lovely rooftop terrace for breakfast/meals, with sun loungers. We were also able to arrange a transfer to/from the airport through the Riad. One of the best aspects of our stay was that the staff were flexible with the timing of breakfast, and check-out. They also recommended a well-priced spa for a hammam/massage that was a short walk up the street. All in all we had a great time, and thoroughly recommend Riad Aliya.

Room Tip: Pick a first/second floor room for more privacy from the courtyard/pool area... The brune room was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is our first time at a Riad by not our last. The 6 rooms are gorgeous and traditionally decorated all with a great view of the courtyard and plunge pool. Id recommend a suite on the 2nd floor. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Wifi is included but it was hard to pick up a signal in some areas. The Riad is located off Rue de Kasbash in a traditional Muslim neighborhood and difficult to find for the first time visitor. I would recommend booking transportation from the airport in advance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

What an amazing place, so beautiful, wouldn't be out of place in South Beach Miami, but still with some Moroccan charm. The staff are awesome too, especially Hannane, she went above and beyond. If you want a really comfortable place to relax and escape the madness outside, but close enough to experience it, this is the place. The food is amazing too, the chef cooked us some amazing meals, some of the best we had in Morocco. And the maid was so sweet and kept the place looking so fresh + tidy.

Room Tip: Any of the ensuite rooms, they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

A 5 star Riad with a fantastic service.

Everything was just perfect, staffs was amazing, always ready to serve you and give you what ever you need.

The food are just fantastic, on demand plate with fresh ingredients !

Room was A1, always clean

Great location, 5min walk from the Place and the souk's

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We booked this online after reading its good reviews and weren't disappointed, its located in a side street in the Kasbah area approx 15 minutes drive from the airport and a 10 minute walk to the Medina.Our taxi was arranged by the owners and on arrival at 10am we were offered drinks and breakfast.The owners and staff are extremely friendly and made us feel so welcome. We stayed in a suite which was on the ground floor and stunning! Decorated in Moroccan style,very clean and comfortable and smelt gorgeous! the air con was most welcome too ! Comfortable sunbeds surrounded the pool area and roof terrace, from entering the front door the riad looked and felt well loved and cared for.

We felt totally comfortable and relaxed and very well looked after here and will defiantly return, perfect ! I highly recommend Riad Aliya.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My sister and I stayed for four nights and were incredibly happy with the service we received at Riad Aliya. Staff are courteous, efficient and very obliging. They assisted us in bartering for good deals for excursions and provided us with lots of information to plan our stay upon arrival. Rooms are clean and comfortable and they make the best mint tea we had during our holiday.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are better than ground floor for noise, having slept on both levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudun, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

What a fabulous place to stay. In the heart of the medina, peace and tranquility reign.

Exceptionally clean and tidy, with a roof top terrace for sunbathing, reading, relaxing and eating.

The food was very good, and it's great not to have to go back out when you have been sight seeing.

The staff were supberb, we shall be visiting again, that's for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Aliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aliya

Also Known As:
Riad Aliya Hotel
Riad Aliya Hotel Marrakech
Address: 10, derb Akerkour | Quartier Kasbah - palais royal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aliya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad ALIYA, est une ancienne demeure entièrement restaurée, situé dans le quartier KESBAH, au coeur de la médina (vieille ville) de MARRAKECH, à proximité de l’aéroport (5minutes), proche du palais royal et de la célèbre et mythique place JEMA EL FNAA et de ses traditionnels souks .Construit autour d’une cour intérieure (patio) équipé d’une piscine ou vous pourrez vous rafraîchir, il est composé de 6 chambres avec salle de bain et d’un salon, vous y découvrirez un espace de beauté, de raffinement et de calme dans un quartier pittoresque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Aliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aliya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.