We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aliya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Aliya to your Saves list
Riad Aliya
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10, derb Akerkour | Quartier Kasbah - palais royal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #335 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Loudun, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

What a fabulous place to stay. In the heart of the medina, peace and tranquility reign.

Exceptionally clean and tidy, with a roof top terrace for sunbathing, reading, relaxing and eating.

The food was very good, and it's great not to have to go back out when you have been sight seeing.

The staff were supberb, we shall be visiting again, that's for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Riad for 4 days. This is a very convenient location in Kasbah part of the medina, a 12-15 mins walk to the famous Djema el fnaa square. Tucked inside the bylanes of the medina you might find it scary and difficult to find if you are a first time visitor. But dont get put off by it and you get used to it once you are there. Great breakfast in the Riad (loved the crepes) and owner and staff at the Riad are very kind and helpful. The area is very safe even late in the night. Check the price of the riad in local dirhams instead of other currencies like euro, dollars or pounds just to be sure. There are shops close to this Riad on the main street where prices are much lower than those in the main sqaure. As with Morocco, you will notice that anyone showing you or taking you to a restaurant, massage parlour, shop or travel agency have their commision cut out so try going direct to such places and always ask for discounts. Bargaining heavily is the key to getting the right price. If you dont know french, leaning the basics will prove handy. Avoid the food in djemaa el fnaa food stalls as its not hygenic there but you would want to try once for all the hype about the square. Buy leather products and ceramics in Fes rather than Marrakesh for better quality and price. Visit to the ourika valley is a must. Best Tajine (cooked on coal) in ourika valley. Exchange your currency in morocco rather than in your home country..you will always get a better rate and there are plenty of money exchanges.

Room Tip: always phone the riad before you arrive and they will be keen to entertain any request. better to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Me and my 12 year old daughter stayed here for 4 days end March 2012. This Riad is located in the Kasbah area, 8 min walk from the hectic 'big square' center of the Medina. We were happy not to be in the midst of all the craziness, yet having access. The Riad was a calm, safe and luxurious get-away in a historic area. Relaxing. Great and helpful staff. Hanan runs this place like a home - and she was extremely kind and helpful. She made our stay in the Medina very enjoyable.
Airconditioning was broken the first night, when mentioned, we were immediately upgraded to a suite at no additional cost, and with a working air conditioner. My daughter loved the breakfast, which was primarily an assortment of breads, fresh juice and mint tea. The rooms (we stayed in 2 of them) are very nice, clean, comfortable. A modern take on traditional Moroccan culture. It was easy to find our way around the Medina to the Riad. We highly recommend this Riad for anyone looking for a relaxing place to wind down from a hectic and sensory-filled Medina experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We used Riad Aliya as a base while in and around Marrakesh, staying two nights in two different rooms in 1 week. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The place was clean and tidy. Even in the middle of winter the roof terrace was great.We are hoping to stay again before we fly out.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 rooms which were both very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I thought the look and cleanliness of the hotel was fantastic. The rooms are adequatley sized and tidied everyday. The dining area around the little pool is lovely with much effort made -when we ate there on the first night the table looked beautiful with flowers and rose petals.

It was also a quiet, peaceful haven as it is hidden in the backstreets. The location is not bad, it is not where you find it on google maps it is off Rue de Kasbah. It takes about 10-15mins to walk to the square el-Fna. I would strongly advise anyone to take the transfer offered because it is very hard to find otherwise - we were walking around for about 45minutes until someone by chance rescued us and lead us to the door. There is no sign even outside so you will not know you are there even if you do miraculously make it!

The hotel staff were so friendly and smiley and very laid back (but not with security) - I know those infamous pink pyjamas have come up a few times in reviews! The lady who speaks English was keen to point out sights to us and had a book of excursions although we did not go on any. Breakfast is very sugary mint tea, OJ, jam and a selection of breads so not very varied but filling and we were certainly satisfied. We were offered dinner the first night which was as nice as anything else I ate in Marrakech although I felt maybe a bit expensive? Possibly just me being stingy.

If you are looking to stay in a comfortable, clean, quiet riya and happy to pass your own time this riya is perfect. It was excellent value and I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This Riad is beautiful, calm and has very luxurius rooms, and represents excellent value for money. It's situated in the oldest part of Marrakech (the Kasbah quarter). We MUCH preferred the situationg of this Riad and its surroundings to those others dotted right next to Jemaa El Fna. The owners of Aliya are very welcoming and friendly; Hanan runs the show and offered us excellent advice on things to see and do. She was a total character and we loved her attitude and down-to-earth nature! The place is just an oasis of calm; totally fresh and clean. We were upgraded at no extra cost, simply because a bigger room was available (we didn't ask), now THAT is what I call wonderful hospitality. The lady who prepared the breakfasts and cleaned up was just adorable, she was so friendly and reserved; the riad left us with a positive and lasting impression and we will definately come back to stay again.
Do yourself a favour and STAY HERE for a luxurious experience!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed in this lovely Riad 11 days in May 2011. Very nice rooms, clean and tastefully furnished - just as indicated on the pictures. Located in the heart of the Medina, 5 min by foot to the Saadian tombs and the Kasbah Mosque, 15 min to Djemaa El Fna (location on Google maps is incorrect). Would come back here anytime.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aliya

Address: 10, derb Akerkour | Quartier Kasbah - palais royal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aliya 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad ALIYA, est une ancienne demeure entièrement restaurée, situé dans le quartier KESBAH, au coeur de la médina (vieille ville) de MARRAKECH, à proximité de l’aéroport (5minutes), proche du palais royal et de la célèbre et mythique place JEMA EL FNAA et de ses traditionnels souks .Construit autour d’une cour intérieure (patio) équipé d’une piscine ou vous pourrez vous rafraîchir, il est composé de 6 chambres avec salle de bain et d’un salon, vous y découvrirez un espace de beauté, de raffinement et de calme dans un quartier pittoresque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Aliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aliya Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aliya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.