We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting with room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bab Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bab Hotel to your Saves list
Bab Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle bd Mansour Eddahbi | Angle BD Mansour Eddahbi, Rue Mohammed El Baqal, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #326 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting with room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Now, first of all - let me say that we stayed in suites. I only saw those and can't really speak for the standard rooms. But in terms of room quality for a boutique hotel in the type of location BAB is, it's actually really good. Nicely decorated. Quirky in a way that appeals to me and with a staff that was friendly, helpful and seemed to enjoy their jobs. Not something that is all that common.

Now, is this on par with a five star in say Hong Kong, Tokyo or any other major metropolitan area? No, it's not. There are details and finishing touches that are missing. The breakfast for example was, well, average at best. But for where it is it's certainly a more than valid choice for someone who enjoys clean and bright interior decoration, some very interesting choices in the bath areas (I happened to visit room 204 briefly and found the couples shower to be very interesting. 502 and 501 were great. Spacious, nice social areas, great bathrooms. Wish they could have spent a bit more money on the closets that looked a bit cheapish but this is just nitpicking really.

And BAB Hotel management should consider having a discussion with whoever is in charge of food and beverage to get something done about the breakfast. It could be a much better experience.

I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to people with a bit more of an eclectic taste.

Room Tip: Go for a suite. I can certainly recommend 502 and 501. Balconies everywhere. Just sending the kids t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneWorldAtTheTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia M, Responsable relations clients at Bab Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
We thank you for such a detailed review and the time you took to write it.
It was a great pleasure to welcome you. Don't wait too long to come back please.
Kind regards from all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were not disappointed with this relatively average hotel. The room was nice and bar staff friendly. The pool is very small and not really a place you could chill out during the day but this seems fairly normal for smaller places in Marrakech. The hotel is quirky with lots of art everywhere. The restaurant was closed for most of our trip as the hotel was very quiet so can't really comment on the food. The bar plays loud music until around midnight which we could clearly hear from our room. This didn't bother us as we were out most nights past this point and the one night we weren't we were so tired we slept anyway. If you like to be in bed early though this is likely to be an issue for you! Location wise is is a 20min taxi from the airport and a 30min walk to the main square so pretty good. The light in our toilet broke on the first night and was not fixed before we left, more of an annoyance than anything and maybe it would have been fixed if we had complained more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickobristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia M, Responsable relations clients at Bab Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
We thank you so much for such a detailed review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you.
However, we are sorry that you didn't felt the same as our other 500 guests who wrote "Excellent" for the incredible time they had with us. Please come back and we'll do our best to show you why they all enjoyed their stay.
Kind regards from all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Try not to organise anything through this hotel, although its a lovely hotel the running of it is slightly slack... Due to a lack of communication because of language barriers they really struggle to fulfil any promises.
We booked a car to pick us up from hotel which didn't show up, I had asked them to arrange something for my partners birthday nothing was arranged... Then we were offered a free lunch because of this, which another member of staff said we could have at any time as the restaurant is open all day.... When we arrived at 4pm we were greeted by the manager with 'so you are late' not a great welcome... Obviously we stated what we was informed the day before about it being open all day and her answer was my restaurant staff are waiting just for you....
Like I said its a lovely hotel, cleaning staff are fantastic, doormen and bell boys are fantastic but customer service from staff on reception is poor. Training is required so they can give correct information to guests.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seema_babes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia M, Responsable relations clients at Bab Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
We thank you for your review and the time you took to write it.
Sorry that you didn't felt the same as our other guests who wrote "Excellent".
Please come back and we'll do our best to show you why they all enjoyed their stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Three years ago I stayed w a friend at BAB Hotel and enjoyed it very much, so decided to go back w my family for 6 nights, BIG mistake!
The hotel was under renovation and they were banging at 2 AM in the morning, also they were painting the reception and left it covered for three days and no one working at it. Don't mind that there were hardly any guests at all, let me explain why.
Breakfast, was very poor, Nescafe and when the GM came he got a cappuccino from the coffee machine feasible for us to see. The breakfast room looked very dirty and on top of it the painters were having also breakfast ext to us w their dirty pants and coughing at the coffee cups, so we definitely lost our appetite and went to have breakfast everyday after that at Kechmara. When I mentioned this to the absolutely incompetent Sales Manager who was on duty she told me that they were paying guests!!!!! so she could not say anything…I asked her then if it is ok for me to have breakfast in my PJ's the next morning since I was a paying guest as well. She got excited and starting to shout at me…reverse world it seems.

Terrible terribly hotel w incompetent staf

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debby t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia M, Responsable relations clients at Bab Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2015
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to read that your experience with us was not as pleasant. We would like to inform you that the hotel staff has changed and now we are a professional and motivated team to give satisfaction to our customers.
Please come back and we'll do our best to show you why all our guests enjoyed their stay since we came.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My experience at the BAB hotel was mediocre. We had paid for a Standard room, but were given a Deluxe room which made me gloat when I checked in . However , when I paid closer look at the details, I was upset with the place. My room , 107 had a window in the bath that wouldn't close, a mini-bar that served more as a heater than a fridge, a "smart" TV that seemed to be task really to operate, peeling baseboards - not a pretty sight indeed. The hotel is in Gueliz, a modern neighborhood in Marrakech. There are still 2 floors under renovation , so watch out for the noise that surely is not advertised. I was at the hotel in winter and so didn't venture into the pool nor the spa. The deal with the place is , looks lovely and luxurious from the outside, with a very good service staff but if you are someone one who looks for each detail , may be not the best place to be at !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadhana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia M, Responsable relations clients at Bab Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2015
Dear Sadhana,

We are very sorry to read that your experience with us was not as pleasant as you expected.
We thank you for sharing with us your impressions that we will use to focus our efforts on improving our service.
About the comments on the TV, we would like to inform you that it was a temporary problem and now it is set.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro-brazil
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Bab is a beautiful boutique hotel, very modern, chique, the rooms are great, the bar, restaurant and breakfast excellent. It is located outside the Medina, at Gueliz, but very near from everything, shops, Restaurants, and 15 minutes from the medina. It is not expensive, on the contrary, the price is very good. It worths a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catarina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I don't think it should be 5 star,The breakfast option was limited,The sky BAB didnt have such a nice view.Very Helpful receptionist though,Can't remember her name,(she wore glasses and could speak good english).Nice decor too

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Renaissance
Hotel La Renaissance
#383 of 491 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Blue Sea Le Printemps
Blue Sea Le Printemps
#367 of 491 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#264 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nassim Hotel
Nassim Hotel
#303 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#251 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab Hotel

Address: Angle bd Mansour Eddahbi | Angle BD Mansour Eddahbi, Rue Mohammed El Baqal, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bab Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of one of the most endearing Marrakesh neighborhood, the BAB HOTEL decidedly urban and design offers a black and white world and an innovative concept, where the richness of Moroccan culture blends contemporary design. First urban boutique hotel in the Red City, ideally placed to ensure a pleasant stay, you'll love the stylish and relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a good night's sleep in a design hotel with 45 unique rooms. All rooms have a terrace. On the ground floor, the lounge bar and the restaurant open to non-residents (excellent creative cuisine) offers large spaces - patio / pool, library, fireplace space - while Sky Bar allows you to enjoy the starry nights of Marrakech. BO SPA is a space dedicated to the well being and beauty of the body and mind. BAB Hotel provides for its business customers an equipped meeting room (up to 40 people). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bab Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing