We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bab Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bab Hotel to your Saves list
Bab Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle bd Mansour Eddahbi | Angle BD Mansour Eddahbi, Rue Mohammed El Baqal, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #305 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Boutique!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Bab Hotel looked amazing from the pictures and reviews! My partner and I always try and stay in boutique hotels or similar whenever we travel.
We weren't disappointed with this hotel. It is very modern and the staff team who work there could not be more helpful. Our room which was deluxe was huge by current standards and suited us both very well. We loved the photography around the hotel, very chic!!
Our delightful was that no one in the hotel other than us chose to use the pool, which we both can testify was needed, due to the heat during our stay (not that we're complaining).
We thought it was a fantastic idea having a book that highlights all the decent restaurants in Marrakech, this was a great touch!!

The only downside to this hotel is that the fixture & fittings really need looking at. For instance the sockets above the bed totally came off the wall. The sink (there were 2 in the bathroom) one leaked. Although this was mended when we highlighted this, it leaked again but worse. Also the mirror for shaving also completely came off the wall.
I know these are minor to some people but if you go under the 'boutique hotel' umbrella, I at least would expect the fixtures and fittings to be of a good standard.
The bar and restaurant was empty most nights but I felt this was due to no promotion of the hotel space or perhaps it was due to it being Ramadan.

Overall this was a great hotel and if & when we return we would definitely consider staying here again.
Dasrren & Jermine

Room Tip: I would go for a deluxe room as we did We took loads of photos of the hotel but they're all on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    61
    21
    12
    20
See reviews for
16
72
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Situated in the Gueliz area. Very beautiful modern rooms.
The staff are very kind and always ready to help us out. They organised for us the camel-walk and it was superb.
No noise!!
Unfortunately the skybar was closed but bar-restaurant on the ground floor were very good as well.
Definitely recomend it!!!
Next time we go to marrakech we'll stay there for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was a bit surprised with this hotel as expected more after reviewing online. It is a small, quite hotel. I loved the room which was surprisingly very spacious. I also loved the staff which were absolutely great and happy to help with our many requests, maps, taxis etc during our two day stay. The hotel is very close to the center of town and a large shopping area in Marrakech, which was great, as I love to walk a lot. The breakfast was okay but the waitress was fantastic and again happy to help with our many requests etc. I would stay there again for a short visit.

Room Tip: I would go high up to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I travelled here with a friend for a short break away from the british winter to get some sun.
This hotel is situated in the French Quarter so safer for women travelling on their own.
The Hotel is very boutique very white and ideal for a city break.
The roof terrace had no pool and only space for a couple of loungers in the sun but otherwise a great space to chill out.
There is a spa although we didn't try this out.
I would go back to this hotel for a short break but not for any longer, great to explore the city and use as a base.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and I would defiantly go back.

Room Tip: Be sure to check which rooms have a bath as most have showers only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Well, my dad and me were all excited about coming to Marrakech after 3 nights in Casablanca. We were even more happy when we found a really nice boutique hotel that doesn't rip you off. When we arrived at the Bab everything seemed ok until the moment when they told us that the our reservation hadn't gone into the system. We showed them our online booking reference and therefore they knew what kind of room we booked and what size it is. We then sat there for about 1.5 hours until they had a replacement. They then told us that the room would be even bigger than the one that booked at their hotel in the Mooi hotel. We were a bit disappointed but as long as we would we have a nice hotel for the 2 nights we were fine. Checking in at the Mooi was fine but when we arrived at our room we suddenly went mad. The room wasn't even the size of our former room at the Bab. They promised us a larger room and gave us an even smaller one. If you have any other options then go for them. We are now going to stay here for the 2 nights and then move into the Delano (nice hotel).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very nice Hotel located in the new district of Marrakech, beware, this Hotel is very modern and has nothing to do with the moroccan style of decoration, as i like the modern architecture (decoration ) and facinated by culture, i picked this hotel to make a good combination.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull, they arrange us a 4*4 trip to Warzazate wich was superb,
The hotel has a chill Morea beach style rooftop bar, where you can enjoy a good selection of drinks, we tried the restaurant and was also very chic.
during the week-end the bar turns into a meeting spot for the local modern population, wich was great as i stayed there during the low season and the hotel was quit empty though!
If i go back to marrakech i will def. stay here again.
The Nespresso machine touch was surprising. :)
Stayed January 2011

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I liked the room a lot. Good style for the price. The main problems were the amount of noise from the downstairs bar. (Our room was located on the 3rd floor and we could hear the thumping clear as day.) Every common space reeks of smoke. And for some reason, our breakfast consisted of only bread and butter and lukewarm coffee. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Renaissance
Hotel La Renaissance
#381 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#244 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Sea Le Printemps
Blue Sea Le Printemps
#356 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nassim Hotel
Nassim Hotel
#291 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suite Novotel Marrakech
Suite Novotel Marrakech
#316 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#270 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab Hotel

Address: Angle bd Mansour Eddahbi | Angle BD Mansour Eddahbi, Rue Mohammed El Baqal, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bab Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of one of the most endearing Marrakesh neighborhood, the BAB HOTEL decidedly urban and design offers a black and white world and an innovative concept, where the richness of Moroccan culture blends contemporary design. First urban boutique hotel in the Red City, ideally placed to ensure a pleasant stay, you'll love the stylish and relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a good night's sleep in a design hotel with 45 unique rooms. All rooms have a terrace. On the ground floor, the lounge bar and the restaurant open to non-residents (excellent creative cuisine) offers large spaces - patio / pool, library, fireplace space - while Sky Bar allows you to enjoy the starry nights of Marrakech. BO SPA is a space dedicated to the well being and beauty of the body and mind. BAB Hotel provides for its business customers an equipped meeting room (up to 40 people). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bab Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bab Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.