We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't even get a room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bab Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bab Hotel to your Saves list
Bab Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle bd Mansour Eddahbi, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Didn't even get a room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Well, my dad and me were all excited about coming to Marrakech after 3 nights in Casablanca. We were even more happy when we found a really nice boutique hotel that doesn't rip you off. When we arrived at the Bab everything seemed ok until the moment when they told us that the our reservation hadn't gone into the system. We showed them our online booking reference and therefore they knew what kind of room we booked and what size it is. We then sat there for about 1.5 hours until they had a replacement. They then told us that the room would be even bigger than the one that booked at their hotel in the Mooi hotel. We were a bit disappointed but as long as we would we have a nice hotel for the 2 nights we were fine. Checking in at the Mooi was fine but when we arrived at our room we suddenly went mad. The room wasn't even the size of our former room at the Bab. They promised us a larger room and gave us an even smaller one. If you have any other options then go for them. We are now going to stay here for the 2 nights and then move into the Delano (nice hotel).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    20
    10
    18
See reviews for
10
70
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very nice Hotel located in the new district of Marrakech, beware, this Hotel is very modern and has nothing to do with the moroccan style of decoration, as i like the modern architecture (decoration ) and facinated by culture, i picked this hotel to make a good combination.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull, they arrange us a 4*4 trip to Warzazate wich was superb,
The hotel has a chill Morea beach style rooftop bar, where you can enjoy a good selection of drinks, we tried the restaurant and was also very chic.
during the week-end the bar turns into a meeting spot for the local modern population, wich was great as i stayed there during the low season and the hotel was quit empty though!
If i go back to marrakech i will def. stay here again.
The Nespresso machine touch was surprising. :)
Stayed January 2011

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I liked the room a lot. Good style for the price. The main problems were the amount of noise from the downstairs bar. (Our room was located on the 3rd floor and we could hear the thumping clear as day.) Every common space reeks of smoke. And for some reason, our breakfast consisted of only bread and butter and lukewarm coffee. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv,, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for two days, then left out luggage in the luggage room (free of charge) and went to Merzuga. Afterwards we returned and stayed one more night. Hotel was quite good and modern, room was in very good condition with nice design: spacious shower, comfortable double bed, air conditioner already switched on before our arrival, bathrobes... Minuses: no hairdryer in the room (asked on reception and received it in 10 minutes); one of two basins was clogged; we paid upon arrival and were asked to pay more upon check out but this was misunderstanding - settled down in 1 minute.
Location is great - 5 min of slow walk from the railway/supratours station and 10 minutes walk from Jemaa-el-Fna square, plenty of good restaurants nearby, nice neighbourhood.
Nice breakfast was served in the restaurant and was quite substantial for us: pancakes with honey or jam, yogurt, pastry, fruits, a little bit of cheese and sausage + fresh orange juice/coffee/tea. Only once we were to have breakfast early (before leaving for bus) and choice was poor.
Booking was made beforehand via internet and caused no problems (standard room).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

They do not know what Internet reservation means even when you show up with one you are told the hotel is full. Looks nice on the website but really is tired and dirty in reality. Don't go here. Go to a proper 5-star hotel in Marrakech. I certainly won't be back.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I've been staying at Bab, in a standard room, for three weeks as I am in Marrakesh on business. I have found the staff happy and efficient, the management smiling and professional, and the atmosphere of the hotel fun and hip.
The bed is very comfortable, the room and hotel uber-clean, air-con strong, the water pressure excellent and the in-room safe and flatscreen high-def TV working perfectly.
The rooftop bar is a good place for an end of work drink, and the majority of people staying here would look equally at home in London, Paris or NYC.
Unlike some other reviewers, I have not heard loud music in my room (4th floor), although I do keep my patio door closed and the curtains drawn at night.
I can recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you are two people, the Standard catagory may be a little small for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My self and a couple of business partners just returned from a trip to Morocco, and while in Marrakech stayed at Hotel Bab (I usually stay at the Murano outside of town, but we went without a reservation and the Murano was full (good for them), they recommended Bab). I now have another favourite place to stay!! The hotel has a fantastic location; walking distance to everything you need, pharmacy, small stores, cafes and bakeries. The staff were very helpful, the place is uber hip and well appointed. The bar is always busy with very good music. I met some of the managers Karim and Pierre and they immediately made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab Hotel

Address: Angle bd Mansour Eddahbi, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bab Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Marrakech,The BAB, is the first « Boutique Hotel » of the city, it invites you to discover…At the ground floor, the BAB restaurant welcomes 120 seats over viewing on a patio with a pool and wooden pontoon, it offers a refined international food with a jazzy and hype atmosphere.The bar and the beverage menu is a selection of the finest international’s wines.The 45 Art deco rooms, signed by Clémence Pirajean interior designer for studio “Hopscotch” in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bab Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bab Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.