We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good style, but loud and poor service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bab Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bab Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bab Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle bd Mansour Eddahbi, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good style, but loud and poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I liked the room a lot. Good style for the price. The main problems were the amount of noise from the downstairs bar. (Our room was located on the 3rd floor and we could hear the thumping clear as day.) Every common space reeks of smoke. And for some reason, our breakfast consisted of only bread and butter and lukewarm coffee. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    16
    8
    15
See reviews for
10
63
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv,, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for two days, then left out luggage in the luggage room (free of charge) and went to Merzuga. Afterwards we returned and stayed one more night. Hotel was quite good and modern, room was in very good condition with nice design: spacious shower, comfortable double bed, air conditioner already switched on before our arrival, bathrobes... Minuses: no hairdryer in the room (asked on reception and received it in 10 minutes); one of two basins was clogged; we paid upon arrival and were asked to pay more upon check out but this was misunderstanding - settled down in 1 minute.
Location is great - 5 min of slow walk from the railway/supratours station and 10 minutes walk from Jemaa-el-Fna square, plenty of good restaurants nearby, nice neighbourhood.
Nice breakfast was served in the restaurant and was quite substantial for us: pancakes with honey or jam, yogurt, pastry, fruits, a little bit of cheese and sausage + fresh orange juice/coffee/tea. Only once we were to have breakfast early (before leaving for bus) and choice was poor.
Booking was made beforehand via internet and caused no problems (standard room).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

They do not know what Internet reservation means even when you show up with one you are told the hotel is full. Looks nice on the website but really is tired and dirty in reality. Don't go here. Go to a proper 5-star hotel in Marrakech. I certainly won't be back.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I've been staying at Bab, in a standard room, for three weeks as I am in Marrakesh on business. I have found the staff happy and efficient, the management smiling and professional, and the atmosphere of the hotel fun and hip.
The bed is very comfortable, the room and hotel uber-clean, air-con strong, the water pressure excellent and the in-room safe and flatscreen high-def TV working perfectly.
The rooftop bar is a good place for an end of work drink, and the majority of people staying here would look equally at home in London, Paris or NYC.
Unlike some other reviewers, I have not heard loud music in my room (4th floor), although I do keep my patio door closed and the curtains drawn at night.
I can recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you are two people, the Standard catagory may be a little small for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My self and a couple of business partners just returned from a trip to Morocco, and while in Marrakech stayed at Hotel Bab (I usually stay at the Murano outside of town, but we went without a reservation and the Murano was full (good for them), they recommended Bab). I now have another favourite place to stay!! The hotel has a fantastic location; walking distance to everything you need, pharmacy, small stores, cafes and bakeries. The staff were very helpful, the place is uber hip and well appointed. The bar is always busy with very good music. I met some of the managers Karim and Pierre and they immediately made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

The dispute between management and workers meant that the hotel was unable to provide breakfast or clean the rooms on two of our four day stay.Money was provided for breakfast to be taken at an alternative hotel which was of a high standard and the manager did offer to find us other accommodation.The workers were camping outside the hotel and constant meetings were seemingly being held to try and resolve the issue.Whilst these circumstances did not unduly worry us as no one was in any hostile but never the less was less than conducive to a stress free stay as we were uncertain that the hotel would actually stay open.Suggest you investigate current situation before booking this hotel.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Arrived to be told by a sour-faced receptionist that we didn't have a reservation, despite me showing her the confirmation email. I was then told that they had new management and a different internet system. My problem? I don't think so. Resisted my instinct to leave and go to another hotel nearby, but unfortunately we stayed. But only for 2 nights of the 7 nights booked: within 1 hour of arriving we had to be moved to another room as the cupboard space in the supposedly deluxe room was tiny, and the impressively huge TV wouldn't switch off. Actually we didn't want it on, but a member of staff came in uninvited, fiddled with controls and then left with the volume blasting out. Eventually we got upgraded to a better room. The evening was OK, trendy bar with suitably cool looking clients but unimpressive bar staff. On day 2 we returned late from dinner to find our breakfast tray still out and the bed unmade, etc. At 10am the next day the tray was still outside our door where I had left it at 1am. Finally, the shower broke and we had first cold water and then no water. At this point we left, with assurances that "next time it will be better". Not for us, as there definitely we won't be going there again. My husband is Moroccan and we're frequent travellers to Marrakesh - this is bottom of my list. It looks good and the website is impressive, but the service, staffing, maintenance and attention to detail just isn't there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab Hotel

Address: Angle bd Mansour Eddahbi, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bab Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Marrakech,The BAB, is the first « Boutique Hotel » of the city, it invites you to discover…At the ground floor, the BAB restaurant welcomes 120 seats over viewing on a patio with a pool and wooden pontoon, it offers a refined international food with a jazzy and hype atmosphere.The bar and the beverage menu is a selection of the finest international’s wines.The 45 Art deco rooms, signed by Clémence Pirajean interior designer for studio “Hopscotch” in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Bab Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bab Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.