We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Cherifa

Dar Cherifa
8 derb Cherfa Lakbir, Moussine | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 44 42 64 63
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 589 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dar Cherifa Marrakech Dating from the 15th century, this riad will dazzle you by its pureness and elegance with its spacious patio and antique doors and stucco.It's a place that hasn't moved with time, a real haven of peace and serenity where one can just forget daily pressures – a quiet space just a moment away from the surrounding lively and animated medina.
Deepajv
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were brought here from our riad. Try the juices; you can't go wrong!
The Dar is beautiful and is the ideal place to get orientedout of the hectic medina. The food was reasonably priced and all of the meals were pretty amazing. From the Kofte with eggs to the Chicken with orange and the simple couscous salad, you can't pick a loser on the menu.
No alcohol is served - if you're looking for THAT kind of drink.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    69
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
429 helpful votes 429 helpful votes
“great location and views but stuck up ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After wandering around trying to find Dar Charifa, we were very happy to finally reach our destination.
The building is absolutely beautiful and the views from the rooftop are charming.
The atmosphere downstairs was quite stuck up and when we looked at the food menu and prices, we opted out and didn't have anything to eat. Instead, we enjoyed a break from a city hustle/romantic sit down at the rooftop sipping the saffron tea. For that only - this was a great place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A treasure in the northern medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a specific destination for us as we like looking at beautiful buildings/ interiors and of course we like cafes and as there were books around, this place was as perfect as it gets. The owner, we were informed, restores riads as this is his passion. By coincidence we had dinner the previous night at Dar Zellij, which he had also restored.

As we we were pressed for time we did not manage to stay for long, but the menu has enough choices for lunch and tea, and the roof terrace has enough seating for you to not be crowded in.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous for a quick drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Oh my what a little treasure. Stumbled across this as it was recommended to view for the age of the building and found out it was a cafe as well. Go, go, go! Quiet, gorgeous, artwork hanging on the walls for viewing and a library with the most comfortable chairs. Can't comment on the food as did not eat but looked good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for coffee on the recommendation of our Riad and were not disappointed. The terrace is quiet and comfortable... coffee is delish. The building is lovely, beautifully decorated and oozes Marrakechi style. Well worth a visit if you have time. But make sure to look for the door bell on the right. There are no signs to tell you how to enter and it can be confusing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Cherifa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Cherifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Cherifa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.