We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and excellent !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Riad Berbere

Save Saved
You added Le Riad Berbere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Riad Berbere
23, derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Nasser | quartier Kaat Ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Izmir turkey
1 review
“Wonderful and excellent !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Wonderful architecture , tastefully renewed and designed , no cheap moroccan accessories , very calm almost monochrome ..just the opposite of what is there , outside the riad , in the medina , in contrast with the colorful souks . Plain but classy. ( owned and renewed by the famous Belgian architect Quentin Wilbaux) .
The manager is Ingrid , Riad Berber is Ingrid ... A miracle , a reliable guide of the city , perfect organizer, sympatic , intelligent and plus beautiful .
The staff is doing great job ,the riad is spotless CLEAN. They prepare delicious meals and breakfasts.
All the rooms are spacious , and comfortable , but the balcony room is a jewel, with the olive trees under .this is also the room which gets the sunshine the most.
Do not look for any other riad , i wish i could go there more often.

Room Tip: Balcony room ......Beautiful view and more sunshine ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
63
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

There is a lot of choice in Marrakech and it takes a fair bit of research to find what you are looking for, but we certainly found it here! The Riad is beautifully decorated and definitely has a whole lot of soul. Very convenient located too, but the biggest bonus is Ingrid, who looked after us so well and was such a gem. Stay here, you will love it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed with a friend in the twin room with its own terrace -the room was absolutely lovely, clean, bright and comfortable. The whole riad was the same -at the risk of repeating what other people have already written, it really is an oasis of calm away from the craziness that is Marrakech but is very conveniently located maybe 10 minutes walk through the souks to Djemaa el fna square.

Ingrid and her staff were fantastic and incredibly helpful from start to finish, sorting out transfers, train tickets, making sure we could find our way back etc. The food was delicious, both breakfast and dinner. The free mint tea and bottled water was a nice touch.

I have nothing negative to say at all but people with cat allergies should be aware that there are 3 (really quite cute) resident cats who will sleep on your bed if you leave the windows open!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When my friend and I decided to stay in a riad in the Medina I didn't know where to start as there were so many! I spent a few days searching for one with a twin room with 2 proper size single beds rather than a sofa bed or 'put you up' type thing in with the double which some seem to do. This made it slightly easier to narrow down and I finally got down to three! We settled on Riad Berbere as they offered the twin room and all the reviews I read on here were so positive and the pictures looked lovely. We arranged airport transfer with them and eventually, after walking along a narrow, dark ally we arrived at a door! You have no idea what is behind it as you approach, so to walk in to a rose oil scented courtyard, filled with olive, lime and banana trees - and 2 tortoises - was just amazing.. It was quiet and the staff were lovely and we ate there on the first night and it was a lovely meal. We stayed in the balcony room which was really nice. Ingrid, the English speaking manager took us into the Souks the next morning and pointed out landmarks so that we could get back. We also couldn't find the hamman that we wanted to go to so we went to the local (very basic) one virtually next door to the riad. Ingrid came with us to help translate as we had trouble getting in to begin with and she even lent us some money as we didn't have enough on us. We found the breakfast delicious, varying over the 3 mornings we were there and it filled us up for most of the day. If at anytime we just stayed around the riad, we were offered mint tea and biscuits - for free. . The riad was full the whole time we were there and we found it very quiet. I would definitely go back - with the children next time and I would highly recommend to anyone. Just to say we were 2 women travellers and never once felt vulnerable or threatened coming and going.

Room Tip: Balcony room has the stairs leading to the roof terraces going past door. When we were there the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights here on first arriving in Morocco, for the first time. Although slightly overwhelmed by the initial journey from airport to hotel, via taxi (organised by the brilliant manager Ingrid) and the walk with the man with the cart through the narrow streets, the riad did not disappoint. It is beautifully decorated, very welcoming and a lovely haven of tranquility in a very vibrant city. Would strongly recommend it. Ingrid and her staff were extremely helpful. They showed us the way to the souks, he square and took us to good restaurants. In addition when moving onto the next part of our holiday, Ingrid organised our bus tickets etc making it all so much easier. A definite for any newcomers to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our favorite hotel in Marocco (we visited about 7 hotels). It's equipped with cozy bright rooms (of which you don't want go out), spacious terraces, very good organized place for rest and meal in the centre of hotel. Excellent staff and wonderful hostess named Ingrid. She gave us a lot of valuable advices and even bought us some bottles of maroccan wine in a local hypermarket when we asked her.
What else? Hotel has very good location near the Djemaa el Fna Square and markets (goods, food, spices). Also you can find a lot of european level restaurants, spa, massage etc.
We miss this place and send to Ingrid and her funny cats our greetings!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have just returned from Le Riad Berbere and what was a brief but wonderful stay. As soon as I walked in the scent from burning rose oil made me feel relaxed! The garden was beautiful and it was lovely to dip my feet into the pool and sip on mint tea. Our room was beautiful (terrace room) and perfect as we could put our baby to sleep and either sit out on the terrace or go downstairs to sit in the garden.
Ingrid was super helpful and made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable in the riad. She showed us the way into the souk and pointed out landmarks so we could get back! Our daughter (2years) loved her and is still talking about her! In fact, all staff were very friendly.
I really regret not eating at the riad as it looked pretty delicious and breakfast was fantastic... and maybe a massage would have been nice in the treatment room! We will be back and I promise to send everyone I know!
Thank you, Ingrid!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Riad Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Berbere

Address: 23, derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Nasser | quartier Kaat Ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful riad in the old medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Le Riad Berbere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Riad Berbere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.