We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Suliman is a wonderful place to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Suliman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Suliman to your Saves list
Riad Suliman
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 - 41, rue El Bahia | Quartier Mellah-Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Lodz, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Riad Suliman is a wonderful place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Together with my husband and 7 years old son we spent one night there. You can feel the real atmosphere of Morocco and the Arab Culture. The rooms, bathrooms are decorated in the traditional way. The roof terrace is a wonderful place to relax. I could spend hours there
Suliman staff are very dedicated to the job and very polite . You can really feel the Moroccan hospitality and a very good customer care . Dinner at the riad was the most tasty food we had in Morocco. Dagmara is very helpful and if you need help, have questions about the habits, country, you can ask her directly. She is also very knowledgeable about the country and history. She recommended us other interesting places in Morocco to visit.
If I will be the next time in Marrakesh, I'm sure I'll stay in Suliman.
Dagmara and the team
keep up the warm regards!, Zaneta, Marcin,Jakub

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    35
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
93
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, a great sunroof with excellent views all around, terrific breakfasts, cool and air conditioned rooms. Far enough from the main square to avoid too much hustle and bustle but close enough for an easy walk, post office and local market round the corner. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We decided to visit Morocco for our first year wedding anniversary, my Husband found this Raid which was very cosy in the run down Jewish area.

The Raid was very charming, nothing was too much for you to ask, everyone was really helpful and kind hearted. We got so much help around the area.

Our anniversary night was really special had a roof top meal and it was so lovely..

Only thing I will critic was the breakfast there wasn’t much of it, it seems like we were given the barest minimum but I guess that’s probably how people ate in Morocco.

The owner organised all out trips and taxis which was really helpful, we were charged for some beers and we brought it to their attention and it was removed off the bill.

I am not a fan of cats but the Raid was very accommodating with removing Suleiman every time I was around which was really helpful and kind.

Thank you so much to the team it was a very lovely time in your Raid.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

On my last visit to Marakesh I stayed all inclusive in a hotel which was like many I have stayed in before. However the same can not be said of Riad Suliman, I had read reviews of the Riad on tripadvisor before booking but it still surpassed my expectations! The bedrooms are gorgeous, and ours had the added luxury of a large stone sunken bath. The layout and décor is such that you feel as though you are staying in a very exotic location. The roof terrace not only provides a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of Jaamelfna square but also provides brilliant evening entertainment if you look over the wall and watch the antics of the pedestrians and various vehicles on the road below!! The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive at all times and Dagmara will arrange excursions with a driver which is well worth it as you get the personal touch and the drivers are very knowledgeable about local history and customs etc. Suliman the resident cat adds a very homely feel to the whole experience. An excellent place to stay to experience the real Morocco.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The rooms are cosy and the service is excellent! A very good breakfast is served at any time you want. This establishment is superior to other Marrakech-based Riads I stayed in.
The service and the female owner are very friendly and relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our first stay in a riad so we didn't know what to expect. Once you walk through the front door from the busy street it is like a different world. The courtyard with the pool is like a little cool oasis. The roof top sitting / sunbathing area is a perfect place to relax after the hustle and bustle of the souks and the streets outside. We loved the breakfasts and the staff were always so friendly and relaxed. If you are looking for somewhere near the centre of Marrakech with character you would be hard pressed to beat it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We have never stayed in a riad before. However, when we next go to Marrakech, we shall certainly stay in the Riad Suliman a second time because the whole experience was so enjoyable. Dagmara and her staff are attentive and at all times - even late at night and early in the morning - they are keen to oblige. Dagmara is particularly well informed about local attractions and always helpful in recommending and arranging excursions, places to eat and "things to do". The breakfasts (which were conveniently served at any time) and the late evening meal that we had were all served promptly as well as being well prepared, nicely presented and very tasty. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the air conditioning effective and the shower and washing facilities perfectly adequate if typically "Moroccan" - i.e. turn on the cold tap for the hot water! The Riad Suliman was a haven of relaxation after the busy streets, busier souks and hair-raising encounters with hundreds of mopeds outside and I would confidently recommend it to singles, couples and families alike. Well done to all at the Riad Suliman. We look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Suliman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Suliman

Address: 40 - 41, rue El Bahia | Quartier Mellah-Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Suliman 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming little Riad in the heart of Marrakech with hammam facilities and delicious al fresco diningRiad Suliman is a lovely little homely riad in the heart of Marrakech's old Medina. With just eight bedrooms ranged around an opulently decorated courtyard, the Riad Suliman puts a firm emphasis on hospitable and personalised service. Guests have the use of an attractive little swimming pool in the middle of the courtyard and a fantastic roof terrace where it's possible to recline on sunbeds and enjoy stunning views of the spires of the old town and the Atlas Mountains beyond. Guests at Riad Suliman have the option of getting massage and hammam treatments at the hotel, relaxing in the beautiful Berber style lounges and enjoying some fantastic Moroccan home cooking on the roof terrace. They also benefit from being just a five minute walk from some of the city's top attractions including the Saadian tombs, the Bahia Palace and the magnificent Jemaa el Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Suliman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Suliman Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Suliman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.