We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dagmara is an Angel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Suliman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Suliman to your Saves list
Riad Suliman
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 - 41, rue El Bahia | Quartier Mellah-Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dagmara is an Angel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a very strange review as I actually have yet to visit Riad Suliman! But this review is solely on the lady who I dealt with – Dagmara Ikiert. My girlfriends and I were due to stay here and I actually had many problems with my visa (not arriving in time and public holidays!) and this meant that unfortunately, I had to cancel my trip at the very last minute. I was very sad but could not believe the INCREDIBLE amount of help that Dagmara offered to try and help me get to Marrakech. From the get-go, she was on hand to help with documents, solutions, and even went to the local police department in Marrakech to try and help. There was absolutely NO reason why Dagmara needed to help as much as she did – she was constantly updating me with calls and emails and to this day I appreciate EVERYHTING she tried to do to help me! She is one of a kind and an absolute asset to the Riad. My frends said that she was just as lovely in person! I have a few lemon curds ready in my desk to bring her when I next visit to Marrakech (and sort my visa with plenty of time in advance next time!!). Thank you Dagmara for all the time and effort you went through! I will never forget it! Tania

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagusia_6, Owner at Riad Suliman, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Tania,
thank you sooo much for your kind words and for spending your precious time on writing a review for us! I was really sad because you couldn't make it, but it was my pleasure to try to help! And promised that next time if there is any problem, I will be happy to do the same thing! Hope to meet you one day!
Warm regards from sunny Marrakech
Dagmara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    49
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
128
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have just returned for 5 days at Riad Suliman and it was great. Located in the Mellah area of the city, it was very quiet and everything was in walking distance. You couldn't even hear the call to prayer in the morning. We were lucky to stay in the beautiful quartz room on the 1st floor. Dagamara was very helpful and organised a wonderful day hiking in the mountains for us (rather than a simple drive up to the mts and a walk to the waterfalls). It and the sunsets on the riad's roof terrace were the highlights of our trip.....and the haman..... Good place with lovely staff :-)

Room Tip: Quartz room is the best with a bathtub filled with roses and lit with candles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

From arrival to departure this was a perfect stay
We were met at the airport by a driver from the Riad whose name was Redoune
On arriving at the Riad late evening, Dagmara, owner and principal, had arranged a traditional Moroccan dinner for us which was excellent. As we came to discover the cooking at the Riad was better than some of the so called 5 star restaurants in town and well recommend
My wife eats anything but I am vegetarian and nothing was too much trouble for Dagmara and her team
The morning was great with an excellent breakfast which varied daily and set us up for the day ahead. No rules. Some folk would be down at 8am and others at 11am but breakfast was there for all guests whenever they chose to leave their rooms
The room we had was on the first floor and a little tight but there was a great firm double bed and walk in shower. It was great
The Riad itself is beautifully restored and as one reviewer put it not over done. It has the feel of an authentic Moroccan home and is easy on the eyes. Decoration and colours are always personal but we loved it and think Dagmar’s interior design skills are first class
Its location is excellent and is 5 mins walk from the start of the cultural attraction's and in the heart of the Jewish quarter.15 mins walk (if you don't stop to look at all the shops) from the main square
In the days we explored the Souks and cultural attractions such as the Kasbah mosque, Bahia Palace museums etc
At night we ventured into the main square and often ate at the street cafes and thoroughly recommend that you try this. They are all numbered but Number 1 for us was the best
Every evening we would return home, yes home as that is what Riad Suliman had become, and Dagmara was always on hand with mint tea and wanting to chat about the day.
The roof terrace is great and is an excellent sun trap.18 degrees felt like 28 degrees in the UK
Also there is a bar with beers wine and soft drinks which is literally an Oasis and the prices are more than reasonable
Redoune, mentioned earlier, also took us to restaurants and on a tour of the Atlas Mountains, which if you have time is a must do and he was great company with a lot of knowledge about the Berbers and history of Morocco. Dagmara has an excellent relationship with the private hire company and the costs are reasonable. Just ask her and all will be organised
A mention for Mohamed who was always on hand to help as well
Dagmara and her team especially Suliman made everything easy without being overbearing. It helps that she is multi lingual speaking English French Arabic and Polish. Why? To find out you should go yourself. As I am writing this my wife is looking over my shoulder and says she wants to go again
Missing you guys and girls. Maybe we’ll get "lucky" and get over to see you again this year

Anyone reading this should know this Riad was number one in the charts for us

Thank you Dagmara T&T

Room Tip: All the rooms were well decorated but it is quieter on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I could not decide whether I felt like an honoured guest or a member of the family. Nothing was too much trouble and our needs we're anticipated before we even thought of them, yet we both felt so comfortable here it was as if we were at home. Dagmara is an excellent host and has trained her extremely helpful staff to respond quickly and willingly to every request. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds comfortable. We were welcomed with mint tea and biscuits and given the low down on what to see in Marrakech and which trips were to be recommended. Meals at the Riad were superb and I loved my cooking class with Layla on the last day. This was a special trip for my 60th birthday and I couldn't think of a better place to spend it in. GO!!!

Room Tip: We loved Turqoise room but ask for a room upstairs as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagusia_6, Owner at Riad Suliman, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Lesley,
it was an honor and a real pleasure to have you here with us to celebrate such an important moment of your life! Hope to see you again!
Warm regards
Dagmara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Riad Suliman for a five day visit to Marrakech and it proved to be a fantastic base to explore this amazing city. The staff are exceptionally friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the sights of the city and how to get around. The Riad has a good restaurant itself (which also serves a good breakfast) and has a number of excellent restaurants nearby. The Riad comes highly recommended, just don't judge it from the street outside!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A nondescript door in a nondescript street takes you into this lovely little riad. At the centre is a small courtyard open to the elements with half a dozen bedrooms at first floor level facing on to the courtyard. The riad has been restored but not over restored so there's a touch of old Marrakech realism about it. We arrived about 19:00ish, it was pouring with rain and cold, mint tea was instantly produced and we were informed that they'd prepared dinner for us as we wouldn't want to go out on a night like this. How right they were and indicative of how attentive the owner and the staff are to their guests. Apparently the riad also has a fine roof terrace which due to the weather we didn't take advantage of either! They're well organised for pick-up/drop-off to/from the airport, just ask and a car/driver will be arranged for whatever, restaurants organised, etc.etc. Why on earth would you stay in a big hotel? All-in-all a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Lovely Riad in a convenient location, a short walk from the main square and souks. Both the owner and staff go out of the way to make your stay a pleasure. Suggest that any prospective visitors contact the Riad direct and they will happily make arrangements for any trips etc

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#47 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#89 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#46 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#85 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#92 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Suliman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Suliman

Address: 40 - 41, rue El Bahia | Quartier Mellah-Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Suliman 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming little Riad in the heart of Marrakech with hammam facilities and delicious al fresco diningRiad Suliman is a lovely little homely riad in the heart of Marrakech's old Medina. With just eight bedrooms ranged around an opulently decorated courtyard, the Riad Suliman puts a firm emphasis on hospitable and personalised service. Guests have the use of an attractive little swimming pool in the middle of the courtyard and a fantastic roof terrace where it's possible to recline on sunbeds and enjoy stunning views of the spires of the old town and the Atlas Mountains beyond. Guests at Riad Suliman have the option of getting massage and hammam treatments at the hotel, relaxing in the beautiful Berber style lounges and enjoying some fantastic Moroccan home cooking on the roof terrace. They also benefit from being just a five minute walk from some of the city's top attractions including the Saadian tombs, the Bahia Palace and the magnificent Jemaa el Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Suliman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Suliman Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Suliman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.