We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting with wonderfully knowledgeable and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Suliman

Save Saved
You added Riad Suliman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Suliman
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 - 41, rue El Bahia | Quartier Mellah-Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with wonderfully knowledgeable and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The riad is a truly wonderful place to stay; within walking distance of most of the usual touristy stuff like the souks, the night market, palaces etc. We were made to feel really welcome and Mateus shared his knowledge and enthusiasm for the city with us. He helped us decide what to see, recommended particular stalls in the night market to eat from and was invariably spot on! One of the stalls he recommended was even popular with locals waiting for take away. The food we ate at the road was beautifully prepared, and when we wanted to eat out they organised a taxi transfer and bookings for a very very nice restaurant.

In addition to the fantastic welcome we received, the riad itself is beautiful, with gorgeous Moroccan lanterns, set around a courtyard with a small pool with floating rose petals.

Basically, it's a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    38
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
82
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our adventure in Marrakech started the moment we arrived at Riad Suliman and were met by Mateusz and Laila. Their enthusiasm for Marrakech is infectious and their advice answering our many questions, whilst sipping delightful mint tea and munching local biscuits under impressive Moroccan lanterns and blue sky is something that makes this riad very special.
We were a party of 5 including 3 girls (19,16 & 11) whose colourful room was made up beautifully for them on arrival; rose petals, stunning lighting, walls we'll recreate one day at home, free bottled water in silver coolers we have now bartered for in the souks, bottles of smellies we have now brought home from the souks too and soft towels and all so very clean.
Our room, Turquoise, was all we'd hoped for - in the morning we opened our door and looked skyward through the huge lanterns and wrought iron pagoda to the sky …. blue sky!
We didn't need to use the free wifi as Mateusz was all we needed! He gave us a map of the medina and recommended various points to hit first; one being the main square which he told us he could get to in 7 minutes – we took over 2 hours wandering in and out of the small shops en route, sampling delights from a bakery and bantering with the gentle Maroccan salesmen who all assured us they had the best prices. When we finally arrived at our roof top destination on the square we watched the sun set and the lights of the market come on. From here we could hear the call to prayers, the sounds of the stories of old being told, watch hundreds of lanterns being lit and experience the smells and the steam from the food market – bliss! Our journey back to the riad was faster knowing a Maroccan feast awaited us – the lamb tagine did not disappoint and gave us renewed energy to hit the main souks again!
Breakfast in the riad changed each day with pancakes, eggs, mssamen, fruit, yoghurt and fresh orange juice on the menu – a good start to our day. Mateusz arranged an Atlas Mountains trip which we would recommend, we were picked up from the riad on time and whisked out of the bustle of the medina to witness the expansive flat desert around the city before starting the climb into the mountains. Our guide took us to a Berber house and then dropped us off to make the slightly challenging (due to our footwear choice) walk up to the waterfall before helping us to purchase a rug from a large carpet warehouse on the route.The following day Mateusz suggested visiting the palaces and the Jewish quarter which is right by Riad Suliman. This is where you find the spice souk and local fruit & veg market (opposite the entrance to the Jewish cemetery) and it’s more authentic than the souks off the main square.
The roof terrace affords views over the rooftops and here you can relax in the recliners and enjoy a drink from the honesty bar or do as we did and sample the hammam – a gentle way to be introduced to the hamman experience! It was a first for us all and we all felt clean and slept well after having a massage in the adjacent spa room.
Marrakech is a great destination but to have Riad Suliman to retreat to made the trip perfect for us. The only noise in the courtyard was our laughter, the bustle of the bikes and donkeys outside disappears as you enter.
We will be back and will recommend Riad Suliman to our friends too. Thank you Dagmara for your help in advance, Mateusz for always being behind the door when we came back with a smile, advice and a story, Laila for your gentleness and delicious food and Mahumed for teaching us some Arabic and how to say your name!
It’s the people that make places special and this is a very special place.

Room Tip: Turquoise was our favourite, if you like to bathe Quartz has a stunning bath with shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Riad Suliman is a remarkable guesthouse run by a dedicated, knowledgeable staff who have given it the feel of a large family abode. Guests are immediately made to feel not just welcome, but a part of that family.
On arrival we were given a traditional Moroccan feast accompanied by a reasonably priced recommended local wine. The accommodation sprinkled with rose petals on the comfortable bed, basins and even the toilet bowl were all of a very clean and superior standard.
The roof terrace with honesty system for drinks, was delightful and there were sufficient corners and covered areas for that romantic interlude.
The proprietor and management gave guests all the time needed to brief and advise on day trips, sites not to be missed and restaurants to be (or not to be) frequented.
The Four days and nights we stayed at the Riad, were not really sufficient to do Marrakech justice, but as a taster enough to encourage us to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in December. The location is brilliant, being within the medina and within easy access to many sites, yet provides a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, making us feel welcome and providing us with lots of info, including a good map. We ate dinner in the riad on the first night, which was superb and breakfast was always generous and tasty.
We made use of the rooftop and the Haman and our room was clean and comfortable. Overall very good!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Thank you to Dagmara, Mateusz and all the staff for the perfect stay. I cannot fault anything, the welcome, the information provided, the beautiful rooms, the excellent meals when we ate in the Riad. After the daily hustle and bustle of the Median we could return to the wonderful oasis of calm to relax either sharing a coffee and a chat in the court yard or in the sun on the roof terrace with a sundowner. Nothing was too much to ensure your stay was enjoyable, this felt like a home away from home.
Staff - Wonderful
Cleanliness - Wonderful
Food- Wonderful
Suliman the Cat.........so friendly and playful!
If you wish to be treated well....go and stay.
Cathy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagusia_6, Owner at Riad Suliman, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Cathy! Thank you so much for your kind words, it was a real pleasure to have you here and chat with you :) Suliman says hello :) Hope to see you very soon!
Dagmara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We really loved this Riad! We wanted to stay in a quiet, traditional hotel and that is exactly what we got! It's a glorious retreat from the hustle and bustle of the main Medina - you don't even realise you are in a city until you step outside the hotel. All of the staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. We got advise on which food stall swere the best to eat at and which attractions to go and visit. The restaurants and food stalls we were recommended to go to were superb. We arranged to have dinner one night and we were provided with a romantic little setting within the hotel and a wonderful feast of traditional Moroccan food! The highlight for us was the roof terrace - after exploring the city in the morning, it was great to relax on a sun lounger reading a book for a couple of hours with an ice cold drink from the honesty bar, watching groups of storks flying overhead in the clear blue sky before heading out for dinner in the evening.

We could not recommend a better hotel to stay at in Marrakech!! Thanks so much Dagmara!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Absolutly and undisputable the best place to stay in Marakkech! Also for incentive groups and bussiness travel. You cannot overprice it, stay is more than comfortable and service is always there for you (especially the owner Dagmara, who immidiately will cope with everything). Huge and deserved recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Suliman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Suliman

Address: 40 - 41, rue El Bahia | Quartier Mellah-Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Suliman 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming little Riad in the heart of Marrakech with hammam facilities and delicious al fresco diningRiad Suliman is a lovely little homely riad in the heart of Marrakech's old Medina. With just eight bedrooms ranged around an opulently decorated courtyard, the Riad Suliman puts a firm emphasis on hospitable and personalised service. Guests have the use of an attractive little swimming pool in the middle of the courtyard and a fantastic roof terrace where it's possible to recline on sunbeds and enjoy stunning views of the spires of the old town and the Atlas Mountains beyond. Guests at Riad Suliman have the option of getting massage and hammam treatments at the hotel, relaxing in the beautiful Berber style lounges and enjoying some fantastic Moroccan home cooking on the roof terrace. They also benefit from being just a five minute walk from some of the city's top attractions including the Saadian tombs, the Bahia Palace and the magnificent Jemaa el Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Riad Suliman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Suliman Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Suliman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.