We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great service - family feeling!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison de Lea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added La Maison de Lea to your Saves list
La Maison de Lea
Place Riad Laarouss Sidi Bouamar | Derb El Mezgour 41, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place with great service - family feeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Me and my partner stayed at this cozy small Riad after looking at Tripadvisor. We are very satisfied with our stay and can recommend this place for staying at in Marrakech.
We do not have any other Riad in Marrakech to compare with except a super luxury one in Agadir. If you want to stay at a small and cozy Riad with great service this is a great choice. Not luxury but very cozy!

Breakfest: 4+ (home made feeling, NICE!)
Location: 3 (a little bit off, but no prob to take taxi for 15 MAD or take a 10 min wake to Soke)
Price: 4 (worth the money!)
Service: 5+ (hard to find better service, like I said; “family feeling”)
Ismael: 6+ (nice dude working there)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
63
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed in Riad dar Lea the first week of january 2011 from New Years Eve to the next thursday and we certainly had a very good time over there!

We were picked up from the Airport by the hotel staff, and luckily they brought us to the hotel because we would never have found it on our own. You have to cross some shabby backstreets from Place Laarous to get to the hotel, which are not as dangerous as they might seem the first time you'll get there. The hotel is located in a dark alley and there are no signs at all, so make sure you have a guide or be very good in mapreading! from the hotel it is a 15-20min walk to the Jema el fna square, or you can easily take a cab from Place Laarous.

The hotel staff was very friendly and always ready to give us tips or help. They even cooked us a special New Years Eve dinner on our request, while the restaurant was actually closed that evening. Also Ismail was always ready to make us some tea in the middle of the night when we were a bit ill.
The breakfast every morning was excellent and provided a good start of the day. The rooms are very nice and romantic and such a big diffrence with the non-emotional big hotels in the Nouvelle Ville! The beds were very good and because the hotel is really quiet at night (exept for the mosques in the early morning of course) this Riad is a good place to get some rest after a long day of walking trough Marrakech. The rooms on the first floor are more quiet than the rooms on the ground level (Topaze & Agathe), which are next to the central hall, reception and the little restaurant. The only minus that I can mention is that the water in the bathroom wasn't always hot (it started hot, then went cold, then hot & cold again etc.) but that didn't spoil the fun for us!

I would recommend this Riad to all travellers who would like to stay in a more romantic place than the big hotels outside the Medina and who want to be not too far from 'the action' in the old city center. Tough it wasn't very cheap (we had to pay some extra 'tourist taxes' and stuff on top of the price we had when we booked it trough Expedia) it was certainly worth the money!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Sabine and her husband run the riad with absolute care to detail. They are so helpful when you arrive and tell you about Marrakesh and the best places to eat and shop. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The Riad has a fabulous feel to it, very authentic and the staff are lovely. The rooms are very well appointed with everything you would need for a stay. The meal we had there was very good. As was the Mint Tea. We will certainly be going back to see Sabine next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We had read the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor already and so were expecting somewhere pretty good and we were not disappointed in any quarter. The real highlight though that puts Riad Dar Lea way out in front is the care and enthusiasm extended to all the guests by its owners. They themselves are delightful and it seems they feed on the pleasure of their guests discovering the delights of Marrakech and Riad living. Given the opportunity to give advice they have endless tips and ideas for those that are overwhelmed by the Marrakech experience. Alternatively, if you want a quiet time they melt away and leave friendly attentive staff to take care of you. 6 stars!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Having read all the previous reviews we thought that everything would be fantastic but the room were were given "Topaz" was far from that although we did have a comfortable bed and slept well.
Service was very good and we enjoyed the evening meal we had the night we arrived having been picked up from the airport by Pierre.
It is just that for us the other reviews made us believe we were going somewhere very special indeed so we were dissapointed that it did not live up to our high expectations

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manche
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Have just spent our 10th wedding anniversary at the Riad Dar Lea. We will cherish the memories! Sabine and Pierre are fantastic hosts. The Riad far exceeded our expectations. So clean, such beautiful rooms, and amazing attention to detail. Huge comfy beds with crisp white linen and the fluffiest towels we have ever seen. Breakfast is homemade traditional pancakes and breads with freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade compotes and honey. Really lovely. Sabine and Pierre also offer evening meals and the one we had was fantastic. Great food in a romantic setting by the candlelit courtyard fountain. The location of the Riad is great - in the heart of the Medina within walking distance from most of the sights yet so quiet and tranquil too. There is a Jacuzzi on the sunny rood terrace and plenty of spa's nearby if a massage and sauna is your thing. I would recommend this amazing place to anyone. Superb value for money. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison de Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Lea

Address: Place Riad Laarouss Sidi Bouamar | Derb El Mezgour 41, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad renewed in the pure Moroccan tradition will transport you in the peace and the zénitude. After tempestuous passage by the Place Jemaa El Fna in only 15 mn on foot of Riad, you will enter then the wide patio raised and decorated with a fountain to rest you and feel the well-being of this house accommodated in the heart of Medina.You will take advantage, after day crossed in souks, of the magnificent terrace without face to face with sight on Koutoubia and the Atlas. You can then TO refresh you in the Jacuzzi or take advantage of the Berber tent for a siesta.Riad consists of 5 suites decorated with Tadelakt, with small lounge, air conditioning, strong safe, dry hair, shower-room or bathroom, Riad is equipped with free Wifi, with a lounge with satellite television (chaines 350), of a DVD reader ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Maison de Lea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison De Lea Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison de Lea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.