We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect until the night comes...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abracadabra

Save Saved
You added Riad Abracadabra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Abracadabra
Derb Jamaa, 125 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Schweiz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect until the night comes...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Riad Abaracadabra is a truly nice place. The interior is tasteful; the rooms are bigger compared to other riads I’ve seen. The staff is helpful and friendly, and its location is perfect for going out to the Jamna el fna. Jumping in to the roof top pool is pretty cool too!
My first impression: This is a perfect place for our stay in Marrakesh. But I’ve got one thing to criticize:
After the hectic and busy atmosphere in the souks in Marrakesh, coming back to the riad is always a relief as you can cool down and relax…If been to several Riads in Marrakesh. All of them have been an oasis of quietness and the rooms stayed cool, even on hot, hot days.

That’s where Riad Abaracadabra lost a bit of its magic. It was not even a super-hot day but our room was heating up during the day and the walls kept the heat the whole night. Sleeping without aircon was difficult.
Furthermore the acoustic of the patio is quite impressive. You can hear the flush and the showers of all the guests in the house, you know when the last guest is back in the riad as the patio is just not reducing any noise…If you’re unlucky and stay in the room facing the street, you’ve got the noise from outside and inside. As said before, I’ve been to other riads and never experienced such a loud patio.
As the Riad has been reconstructed from scratch, I suspect that the morrocan knowledge of how to build a place that stays cool and absorbs the noise has been sacrificed for style and bigger rooms…

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
55
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I discovered this jewel on my third trip to Marrakech and thanks to the word of mouth. It was recently refurbished with an extremely tasteful and cosy décor, and it meets all the musts for a perfect trip: great location, the best service and striking comfortable rooms (beds are Four Seasons Hotels' standards!!). It has a beautiful patio and a terrace with a small swimming pool, therefore creating many different spots to enjoy the hotel without jumping into the other guests. It is an oasis of calm.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Just came back from 4 days in exciting Marrakech and I am willing to repeat my stay at Riad Abracadabra. This is like nothing I have ever seen before in many ways. Service, food and decor are outstanding and made of this excellent located hotel, our house in Marrakech. I can't think of a better place to stay, despite I have been in many other riads and hotels in this city.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

I stayed here with one of my friends during the summer and we both absolutely loved this place. The rooms were gorgeous, the staff very helpful and friendly and you couldnt beat having a pool to cool down in and having air con in the room. The owners are lovely and were obviously very passionate about the Riad and have put so much thought into every detail. It has certainly paid off for them as I would recommend this Riad for anyone looking to go to Marrakesh!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inesbulto, owner at Riad Abracadabra, responded to this review, September 6, 2009
Dear Client,

Thanks a lot for your travel advise, it was a pleasure to meet you and your friend in Marocco. Certainly, we have made a big effort in setting the Riad and it is very much worth it, if finally you reach your goal of having satisfied clients. We are always trying to think what is best for our guests and we innovate in any change which could make Riad Abracadabra improve in anyway. We hope you visit us back soon and we thank you for the trust you have put on Riad Abracadabra. Kindest regards.

Inés & Bruno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Abracadabra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abracadabra

Address: Derb Jamaa, 125 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Abracadabra is the most recent opening in Marrakech. Perfect location: only a two minute walk from the burning Jemaa el Fna square. Traditional housing transformed into an exclusive, singular and pleasant hotel. Its 8 rooms make this flirtatious hotel into a familiar place. The devestations of modernity are not felt yet and local life is perceived in its entire simple charm. Hotel looking style: the whole wise combination of Moroccan tradition and colonial comfort combines with immaculate white surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Riad Abracadabra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abracadabra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.