We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked after us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Calame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
You added Dar el Calame to your Saves list
Dar el Calame
Derb Hidada, 15 | Quartier Ben Saleh, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 1,144 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looked after us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

As two female students we decided not to go for a big hostel and went for this budget riad instead. A free airport pickup was included. We had to wait a while, but we had no hold baggage so maybe longer getting through the airport is normal. Hassan, the driver, took us to Ben Saleh square (closest the car could get) and we were met by Hasfah for the walk to the riad. Take this option! Though no problem when you've walked it once, it would be hard to find on a first visit.

Despite me speaking very little French, and my friend none at all, we got by. The owner is French and the staff French-speaking. The friendliness was wonderful. We were even walked back to the square and pointed in the direction of Jamaa el-Fna the first time we ventured out. The owner made sure we had her number and knew the best routes.

We were stuffed with breakfast - little pastries, bread, jam, pancakes, coffee, mint tea, orange juice. Simple but plenty of it! We took dinner here one night - absolutely delicious! More food than we could handle but absolutely fantastic. Wine is available, though not written on the menu.

Our room was a simple twin on the ground floor - no complaints! Shower tends to soak the bathroom unless the balance is just so but the water was always hot. Daily housekeeping was good, and there is attention to detail. Our first breakfast we didn't have any tea - the next day they didn't put any out, only coffee and milk.

All in all we had a great time! It is basic, but you are welcomed with smiles and tea, the shower is hot, the room heaters work, and the terrace is nice for sun. It is maybe 5 minutes more walking than other riads in the Medina, but honestly you don't notice it with the amount of walking around sight-seeing you do. We always felt safe leaving things in our room, and were not hassled in the immediate area, only the main derb dabachi to the main square.

Really enjoyed our stay - thanks Dar el Calame!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
1 Thank Clashken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Cartagena, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very nice riad, quiet and peaceful. Nice rooms with heating and hot showers. Comfortable bed. The staff and the owner are superfriendly, they help you where they can! They help you organize your trips from Marrakech, help to bargain good prices, offer you soup and wine from time to time, buy your bus tickets,... They offer a lot more than only a bed and breakfast! There is also someone to pick you up from the airport. The perfect place to stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Thank cees110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A small and peaceful little riad about 15 mins walk from Place Djema el Fna ( the east, in area Ben Saleh.) I would recommend it for its price category (budget.) It has rooms around a small courtyard planted with lots of greenery. Two rooms lead onto a private inner balcony. There is a roof terrace to lounge on. What we liked: the lady running the place is very friendly and helpful, and she cooks very well; breakfast often involves some very tasty local pancakes; tajines and salads are delicious for lunch/dinner; the rooms are a decent size for 2 occupants. What we liked less: the bathroom sink kept clogging up and the shower was a bit off; not much of a view from the terrace; a bit of a trek to the central square.

Room Tip: Ask for the room(s) that lead to a private inner balcony - first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank Fourwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I spent a delightful one week stay at Dar El Calame. A quiet and restful atmosphere, clean spacious rooms decorated with taste and a helpful, efficient and always discreet Hafsa who takes care of everything and makes you feel like at home. Once you step in from the animated, crowded Medina, right into the patio with its fountain and trees surrounding it you just find yourself propelled into the most peaceful spot on earth.

In a nutshell, an affordable and cosy haven within a magic city wherein every single place to be is never farther than a dozen minute walk. Definitely deserves to be spotted on one’s road book.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
1 Thank Juanito_trotamundos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#160 of 486 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#35 of 486 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Karama
Riad Al Karama
#160 of 1,144 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
#188 of 1,144 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#96 of 486 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 486 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Calame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Calame

Address: Derb Hidada, 15 | Quartier Ben Saleh, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 1,144 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar el Calame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing